We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome service”
Review of Moochie's Tavern

Moochie's Tavern
Ranked #61 of 183 Restaurants in Matthews
Price range: $5 - $23
Description: Skinnyz offers Alabama's Gulf Coast cuisine in a colorful & beachy environment. A kid-friendly restaurant and a local favorite. We have live music every wednesday, friday and saturday. Skinnyz offers patio seating and sand area picnic tables. There's a big tiki hut bar inside and our menu items are prepared fresh. Skinnyz' customers voted the key lime pie as the very Best! Outdoor Beach Parties are held once a month during summer.
Restaurant details
Description: Skinnyz offers Alabama's Gulf Coast cuisine in a colorful & beachy environment. A kid-friendly restaurant and a local favorite. We have live music every wednesday, friday and saturday. Skinnyz offers patio seating and sand area picnic tables. There's a big tiki hut bar inside and our menu items are prepared fresh. Skinnyz' customers voted the key lime pie as the very Best! Outdoor Beach Parties are held once a month during summer.
Concord, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome service”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

The waitress was immediately at our table, ready to help us. Our drinks were never empty and she allowed us to take our time selecting from the menu instead of being pushy. She made some excellent recommendations and let us know about all of their specials. Once we had ordered and our food arrived she came around several times to make sure we were okay and that the good was to our satisfaction. The good was good. I had the Philly cheese steak burger with onion rings. The onion rings were perfectly seasoned. The sandwich was excellent as well. We also had the crab cake/fried green tomatoes special. It sounds like an odd combination but it was actually pretty good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    14
    6
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Matthews
1 review
“Very loud”
Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

So loud inside you can't carry on a conversation.Food not that great either.Not worth the visit.A lot of older drunk men there the time I went.

Helpful?
Thank inspec310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Poor Management”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I can't tell you how food is because I've never had any. Not sure if this is a hobby or a real business for owners...could not have had a worse experience and same thing happened on last visit 6 months ago. I should add we also tried to go on superbowl Sunday - they were closed. Not trying to tell anyone how to run their business but that's like Walmart being closed on black Friday. Our group arrived at 6:15 - a few people at bar, but no other patrons. We just ordered standard pub fare - wings, salad wedge, and chips, etc. No one received anything for an hour and a half then wings trickled out to people who ordered - cold; fried mushrooms came out 10 minutes later - cold; Then I was told they were out of salad wedges (Harris Teeter within 200 feet). There was no manager on site to talk to. One server called owner on phone, who admits on menu she is not a "restaurant person." All they could do was apologize. Not sure if the cook didn't show up that night or what but It really was a hot mess. Hope they get it together and hire an experienced restaurant person to get them on track. Good location and community type area for success, but not when a business is run like this.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mfitz001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthews, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“WOW GREAT FOOD!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

First time trying skinnyz, omg great seafood, the fried oysters were great so were the crab claws and grouper and great fries and excellent sauces A real class act! 5 stars we will be back to try more :)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank tracey d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthews, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fun little place”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Been there several times. It's small & personable. Food is great! Usually have entertainment. Has a nice outside area for the warm weather

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Lmorto02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moochie's Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Moochie's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing