We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Matthews
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Nice hotel for the $$. It was booked as part of a business trip, through my company. I have stayed at another hotel right next door a few months prior, and liked this hotel better. Seemed to be a lot of business people. Free breakfast (the usual fare), indoor pool, free parking, quiet location. Nothing particularly memorable, but that's not a bad thing. Fine hotel. Clean and new(er).

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
Thank Ryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerStaie, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thank you so much for your response! I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that in your future trips to the Charlotte area we see you again and we can make your stay more memorable. Hope you can check out our new Managers Reception on Monday & Tuesdays! Thanks again & see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 192 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

I had a very enjoyable stay at this hotel from check in until check out. The front desk staff was very friend and familiar with the surrounding area and great with directions. The room was neat and clean. The breakfast had a nice choice of food and again the staff was very helpful. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank star11738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerStaie, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thank you so much for your comment about our service. We are so glad you enjoyed our breakfast as well as the location! I appreciate you taking the time to respond about your stay. We hope to see you in the near future. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

From the moment I reserved my room to the time we checked out ,our experience was excellent.
The lady at the Front desk has excellent people skills ! The room was very clean and inviting.
The pool was awesome. Everyting was clean, neat and the staff was the best I have seen to date. I will definately be back ! The coffee was hot and available all the time. I love the fact that shopping, food and entertainmnet was so close, lots in walking distance. Kudos to Holiday Inn Express Matthews. You guys really know how to do it right !

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor and heard nothing once we closed the door. Very quiet and comfortable...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SAMWEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerStaie, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

We are so pleased to hear that we are doing things right! I want to personally thank you for your response. This means a lot to the staff and management of the hotel. We try our best to go above and beyond for our guests and I am very happy to hear your comments. We can't wait to meet you during your future stays. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Great hotel. Stayed at hotel during Spring Break (7 days) with Husband & Kids it was awesome. Check- in was simple, free breakfast kept the kids happy and the indoor pool was a plus. Hotel location is excellent. There is food, shopping ,gas everything you might need very close by. Boardwalk Billy was my husband and I favorite location to eat Hotels recommendation. Staff was very nice & friendly. Room were very clean not to much space but clean & comfy. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EbonyC55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerStaie, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

We can not express how much we appreciate your patronage! Our staff loves helping our guests with reccommendations and things to do and we are excited to know that we helped you pick a new favorite restaurant in North Carolina. It is also great to hear that the kids loved our indoor salt water pool as well as the breakfast. I personally thank you for your wonderful comments and hope to see you in the near future.

Warm Reguards,

Kristen Wanser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Holiday Inn Express in Matthews was a solid hotel. Check-in was a breeze, and the room was comfortable. And really - can you ask for anything more than that?

Matthews isn't exactly close. It's not far, and Independence Blvd. is a straight shot, but it's a bit outside Charlotte. If you are going to downtown, you may want to stay closer.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJE1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerStaie, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We really appreciate you staying with us even though we are not in the heart of Charlotte. We thank you for choosing our property and hope you visit us again soon.

Warm regards,
Kristen Wanser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My family and I stayed at this hotel for a quick trip in town for an unexpected death in the family. Between all my family we had 3 rooms and 1 suite room. The front desk was very kind and gave us a "bereavement" rate since we were in town for a funeral. When the one room was upgraded to the suite, they still gave us the same berevement rate for that room also. I didn't even know such a thing existed. We only stayed for 2 nights, but it was so nice. We were so busy with the funeral we didn't really get to enjoy the amenities of the workout room or the pool, but we used the dining area as our gathering area (outside of breakfast hours) most of the time. We also didn't take advantage of the breakfast as there is a Cracker Barrell within walking distance in the same parking lot. There was a large variety on the breakfast bar though including but not limited to such items as hot cinnamon rolls, eggs, sausage, pancake maker, juice variety, granola bars, milk, and yogurt. The room was large and had a nice bathroom. Our view from our room looked over the pool and toward an under construction site of some sort and trees. The beds were comfortable and they offered both soft and firm pillows on each bed. Overall we had a great stay and we would recommend it to our friends and would stay here again. It was nice to have a plug in the middle of the lamps on the table between the beds.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJHen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerStaie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you for your time in giving us your review. I am happy to hear we were able to accommodate you and your family during your time of need and provide you with a special rate as well. We always try to find ways or opportunity to demostrate in every way we care for you wether it is with the level of service and amenities we provide or with a simple token of apreciation by offering a discount to groups like yours. We are sorry that this was the situation it brough you here and experience our location, but most of all we want to thank you for still thinking on us in this moment of grief and give us your comments. We greatly apreciate you.

Sincerely,

Noemi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This was one of the best hotel experiences we've ever had. The staff was well-trained and friendly. The room was very big, clean, well-appointed, & QUIET! We slept exceptionally well in a beautiful, comfortable, king-sized bed on very nice sheets. There was plenty of space in the room and bathroom. The sunflower showerhead was a nice surprise & a real treat. The draperies closed completely with no gaps so not even sliver of sunlight peeped through until we opened them. My husband thoroughly enjoyed the offerings at the morning breakfast buffet. The little store next to the front desk was a nice idea so a person could pick up good snacks or extra toiletries they might want. There was not one thing this property lacked, and the price was very fair.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheresaInRaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerStaie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us your reviews and comments about your stay. We take every guest comments and feedback to keep improving in all areas of the hotel. Thanks to guest like you we have been able to maintain a level of service to our guests expectations and we are very happy to hear you were very satisfied as well and that the service provided by our staff was friendly and professional. Thank you again and we look forward to have you stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Noemi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matthews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Forest
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Matthews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East

Address: 9420 E Independence Blvd, Matthews, NC 28105-4505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Matthews
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Matthews
#3 Family Hotel in Matthews
Price Range: $92 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the New Holiday Inn Express & Suites Charlotte - Matthews, NC. We welcome you to stay economically smart, experience our comfortable accommodations, leading service, exceptional value & a 100% smoke free facility. We feature an indoor pool, 24-hour fitness & business center, free wire/less HSIA, 32 HDTV & free hot breakfast bar for all guest. Our Charlotte - Matthews hotel is located in Southeast Charlotte, NC, and major roads, I-485 & Hwy 74. We are near Carolina Courts & Extreme Ice Center. We are only minutes from Matthews, NC, & Monroe, NC. Uptown Charlotte is only 10 miles & Charlotte Douglas International Airport-CLT is located within twenty minutes of our hotel. Charlotte is the home of NASCAR. This Matthews hotel is only twenty miles away from Lowes Motor Speedway. Looking for something to do? We have many attractions such as Ice Skating, Carowinds, Carolina Panther Football, Charlotte Bobcats &Charlotte Soccer. Need a Charlotte Church? There are many nearby. We have many excellent restaurants only a few minutes away. We cater to many top companies in the area such as Harris Teeter, Family Dollar, Conbraco, BESAM, & Sunbelt Rentals. If you are traveling with a company & need a hotel in Matthews - Charlotte NC, we would be honored to host you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Matthews East

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing