We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable, but not in a good way.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Charlotte Matthews
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Matthews
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2014

I don't know where to start. I checked into the hotel at 4:30 pm, and went out for dinner. Upon returning at 6:45 pm I noticed my door was open and the heating / cooling unit was missing. Luckily, my computer and business documents were not missing. I asked the manager at the front desk why my door was open. I also stated that I now have a big hole in the room where the HVAC used to be. The manager shrugged it off as if it was no big deal, and said the maintenance team would get to it in the next hour or two (the night time temperature was to reach 34 degrees). Without offering to relocate us to another room, he stated he'd get the maintenance team to put our HVAC back in. Gee, thanks a lot. As a frequent business traveler/ marriott rewards member I would say this is the worst one I've had the displeasure of staying at. To the management's credit they did put the HVAC in. Once again, Thanks

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skidude62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin T, Manager at Courtyard Charlotte Matthews, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Skidude62,

Thank you for sharing your honest travel experience with the Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte Matthews.

I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you suffered during your stay, We are launching a thorough investigation into this matter, as this is not how our hotel operates. We are constantly striving to achieve complete guest satisfaction, and I am sorry to hear we did not accomplish this. I would love for you to contact me at erin.thomson@marriott.com so I can help you come to a personal service resolution.

I look forward to hearing from you and thank you again for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte Matthews.

Yours In Hospitality,

Erin Thomson
Sales Manager
erin.thomson@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 200 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for two nights during the Winter Weather that hit Charlotte during the first part of Feb. instead of trying to drive home and back to work. The hotel is only 5 miles from work instead of 45 miles to home.The rooms were very clean, comfortable and quiet. One was laid out a sort of funny but still nice. From check in to check out it was a very nice place and the staff was amazing.
Our biggest complaint was the parking lot was a mess. Deep snow the first night and ice the second. I understand this was a once in every 5 or 10 year event for the Charlotte area but that was dangerous trying to get to and from the car.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin T, Manager at Courtyard Charlotte Matthews, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear Steven P,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at our hotel with us as well as other travelers on Trip Advisor! We greatly appreciate your honest review.

We are happy to hear that our amenities and our staff were to your liking and you enjoyed your overall stay.

Regarding the parking lot, we understand that snow can be quite inconvenient. As this is an event that rarely happens in Charlotte, we do as much as we can to make sure our guests are safe in situations such as this. We do shovel and salt our sidewalks as well as the driveway by our main entrance. Unfortunately, private snow plows are extremely hard to come by during heavy snowfalls.

We hope that in the future we will be able to welcome you back! Thank you for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte Matthews.

Yours In Hospitality,

Erin Thomson
Sales Manager
erin.thomson@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We have traveled extensively and never experienced such hospitality like this anywhere before. The room was great, the amenities were great but the staff was amazing. Our sincere thanks to Pat, Darlene, Jeff, and Derrick for making our snowed in experience so memorable. They couldn't do enough for us and 30 college lacrosse players that were stranded in a blizzard. I hope your GM realizes what valuable assets you all are to his company!!!!!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin T, Manager at Courtyard Charlotte Matthews, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Lori S,

We hope all is well in Philadelphia and that you are keeping dry today! We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us and other travelers on Trip Advisor.

Our staff certainly takes pride in providing our guests with the highest quality of customer service, and we are happy to hear this is what you experienced! In addition, I am thrilled that you found our amenities and hotel overall to your liking!

We hope that we can welcome you back in the future. Until then, take care. Thank you for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte Matthews.

Yours In Hospitality,

Erin Thomson
Sales Manager
erin.thomson@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I had a 7week work assignment in Charlotte and stayed at this hotel for those weeks. The staff was incredible. Everyone made me feel appreciated. Especially Jeff, Pat, & Darline. It really made being away from those who love me, not feel so bad. My business partners and I were here during the snow storm in February and the staff did a wonderful job of making us feel comfortable during our stay. (Happy hour was great! lol) I would truly recommend this hotel as a must stay. Great Job Guys! Stellar Service at it's best!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhillysFynest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin T, Manager at Courtyard Charlotte Matthews, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear PhillysFinest,

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to reach out and share your experience with us as well as other travelers on Trip Advisor!

We are so happy to hear that Jeff, Pat, and Darlene have been able to make you feel so at home during your long stay! During a severe weather situation like we had, it is important that our staff can make you feel safe and secure. I am thrilled to hear that this was what you experienced!

We thank you so much for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte Matthews. We hope that we will be seeing you again soon! Until then, take care.

Yours In Hospitality,

Erin Thomson
Sales Manager
erin.thomson@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

The public areas and our room were clean and attractive. In addition to the beds there was a desk chair and a work area, but no easy chair or couch.

Breakfast buffet is expensive for what is available (eggs, bacon, biscuits, fruit, yogurt, cereal, juices.)

There are many restaurants nearby, but the divided highway makes it more complicated to go out and get back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin T, Manager at Courtyard Charlotte Matthews, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Dear Janet L,

Thank you for taking the time to share your honest and opinioned review with us as well as other travelers on Trip Advisor!

Regarding your room, many of our room types do have a sofa sleeper in addition to the bed, but unfortunately our standard double room does not. If you are looking for a little more space, I highly recommend our Extended Double Suite!

As far as breakfast is concerned, I regret that you were discontent and apologize that our staff was not able to recognize this during your stay. Just so you know, our breakfast staff is always happy to make any of our guests' eggs to order, and we have sausage gravy, hashbrowns, sausage, and even a waffle maker in addition to the items you listed!

I do understand that our location can seem difficult to get to certain areas, but there is actually an easier route by the side of the hotel that our front desk would be happy to share with you should you decide to return.

Thank you so much for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte Matthews! We hope that you will return so we can show you our commitment to guest service excellence. Have a great day!

Yours In Hospitality,

Erin Thomson
Sales Manager
erin.thomson@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Hotel is very nice and the entire staff is great. A particular shout out to Jeff who does a great job servicing the breakfast crowd and also manning the complementary bar/dinner on Monday and Tuesday night. I stay at this location approximately 20-40 nights per year and always appreciate Jeff and the staff making me feel at home.

Bill M

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin T, Manager at Courtyard Charlotte Matthews, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Bill M,

We hope all is well in Pennsylvania and that you are keeping warm! We are so grateful for the wonderful review you've shared with us as well as other travelers on Trip Advisor!

Jeff is one of our many shining stars! Jeff, along with the rest of the staff, truly go above and beyond to show our guests what true "Southern Hospitality" is. We are very proud to have him on our team, and I will make sure your generous comments are passed on to him!

Thank you for your continued loyalty, and for making the Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte/Matthews your home away from home! We look forward to seeing you back soon. Until then, take care!

Yours In Hospitality,

Erin Thomson
Sales Manager
erin.thomson@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Very reasonable price for a nice comfy and spacious room with a delightful jacuzzi for two. Hotel was clean and staff were very friendly. Highly recommended for a relaxing and inexpensive getaway. Near several good restaurants and close to attractions in Charlotte.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin T, Manager at Courtyard Charlotte Matthews, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear sowhatdidyathink,

We hope all is well in Virginia today!

We greatly appreciate the glorious review you've shared with other travelers on Trip Advisor! I am so happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the amenities we offer and the restaurants nearby that are so wonderful!

Thank you for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte Matthews, and we hope that we can welcome you back soon! Until then, take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matthews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Forest
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Matthews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Charlotte Matthews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Charlotte Matthews

Address: 11425 E Independence Blvd, Matthews, NC 28105-4711
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Matthews
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Matthews
Price Range: $114 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Charlotte Matthews 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
***NEWLY RENOVATED WITH BISTRO*** At the Courtyard by Marriott in Matthews, North Carolina we welcome a variety of visitors to the Charlotte, North Carolina area. Sport fans of the collegiate and professional levels can enjoy some impressive action at Wingate University, Charlotte Bobcats (NBA), Carolina Panthers at Bank of America Stadium (NFL) and NASCAR's Lowes Motor Speedway & NHRA racing. With the US National Whitewater Center, Xtreme Ice, Mecklenburg Aquatic Club, Matthews & Charlotte Soccer Clubs, there is also an abundance of amateur athletics for any sports fan. Conveniently located to several major interstates and downtown, Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte/Matthews is the perfect place whether for for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard Charlotte Matthews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charlotte Matthews Hotel Matthews
Courtyard Matthews
Matthews Courtyard
Matthews Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing