We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Charlotte Matthews
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Matthews
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Very Nice Hotel. Very helpful and friendly staff. Every staff member greets you with a "good morning" or "good evening" every time they see you. Every time you enter the Hotel the desk staff says hello and ask if you need anything. The breakfast buffet is well worth the $9.00 a day but there are also several restaurants nearby if that is what you choose, Highway noise can be a bit much at times but not enough to stop me from using this Hotel again. My sleep quality rating was based on this. Rooms and Bathrooms are perfectly kept.

Room Tip: Ask for a room opposite of the highway.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmaestro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at Courtyard Charlotte Matthews, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Gmaestro,

We hope all is well in Florida! Thank you so much for the kind review and for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to seeing you again soon!


Yours in hospitality,

Katie Register
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Charlotte Matthews
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 184 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is a well-kept Courtyard, with very polite and helpful staff, and it is just inside the beltway (485), and directly off of 74 making it extremely easy to get anywhere you need to go in the Charlotte area. I got 25% off when I booked, making it an excellent value for the price. Only a 4 due to the lack of a complimentary breakfast, and lack of an indoor pool.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flootsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at Courtyard Charlotte Matthews, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for choosing to stay with us! Just a head's up for future travels... It is a Courtyard by Marriott brand standard to charge for breakfast. Make sure to check out our Stay For Breakfast rate next time. It is only $1 higher than our regular rate! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The staff at the front desk is well trained and knowledgeable about the area. The complimentary continental breakfast is a plus. It is also a plus that you can watch the NFL network in your room or in the lobby. The rooms are really spacious. I usually have a hard time falling a sleep in a hotel but here my head hit the pillow and I was out.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tripper201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at Courtyard Charlotte Matthews, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Thank you so much for the review! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you next time you are in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I'm glad I didn't see the negative reviews before booking. I'm someone who is particularly sensitive to smells and I would not have booked a room based on those remarks. However, our room was clean and I did not experience any problems with odors. I was a tad disappointed that there was not a complimentary continental breakfast but I appreciated the free wi-fi. Access to the hotel is the biggest problem because of the median.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank Martha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at Courtyard Charlotte Matthews, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Thanks very much for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers! Just to keep you in the loop, it is a Marriott mandate that all Courtyards must charge for breakfast. Please check out our "Stay for Breakfast" rates next time you are in the area. It charges just $1 over our regular rate so you are getting your breakfast for almost free! Thanks for choosing to stay with us. We hope to see you next time you are in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Found the hotel pleasant but not much better than average. I wouldn't say it was bad, but I wouldn't go a far as to consider it exceptional. The hotel is a bit dated and not in very well situated. I wanted to head into town one morning but it seemed really complicated to catch public transport from this location. I booked this hotel and location intentionally as this was where I needed to be for business, however, if I was to visit the area recreationally I would definitely reconsider the location. on the flip side, the people where friendly and helpful.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
Thank Ralph d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at Courtyard Charlotte Matthews, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with other travelers. We appreciate our guests' feedback and value your opinion. Just to update you, we have room renovations scheduled in late 2013. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

In need of change! Very dated, like others mentioned the musty, mildewy, moldy smell is overbearing. If your paying more than $29 a night, you are getting ripped off. This is not worthy of the Marriott name!

Room Tip: Pick another hotel
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1WolverinesGoBlue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at Courtyard Charlotte Matthews, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I regret to hear that we did not meet your expectations and take your comments very seriously.

Since your review, we have been using dehumidifying measures in our rooms to combat this moist, hot season. These measures have made a considerable difference. I realize that does not improve your stay, but thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

We hope to see you back again soon so that you can see for yourself the changes we have made. Please contact me at Katie.Register@fowlerhospitality.com if I can help with any of your travel needs. Thanks again for your time and your honesty.


Yours in hospitality,

Katie Register

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Have stayed here on business for several years, but I think I will need to change. The first room they assigned me on the first floor, smelled so strongly of mold/must. I stood there for a minute, and quickly realized I could NOT sleep there. I have never asked for another room in any other hotel, but I had to this time. I was given one with no problem whatsoever. The second room was on the second floor. It still smelled, but wasn't as strong as the first. They need to solve this problem.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
Thank JMCColumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at Courtyard Charlotte Matthews, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I regret to hear that we did not meet your expectations and take your comments very seriously.

For 2 weeks now, we have been using dehumidifying measures in our rooms to combat this moist, hot season. These measures have made a considerable difference. I realize that does not improve your stay, but thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

We hope to see you back again soon so that you can see for yourself the changes we have made. Please contact me at Katie.Register@fowlerhospitality.com if I can help with any of your travel needs. Thanks again for your time and your honesty.


Yours in hospitality,

Katie Register

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matthews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Forest
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Matthews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Charlotte Matthews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Charlotte Matthews

Address: 11425 E Independence Blvd, Matthews, NC 28105-4711
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Matthews
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Matthews
Price Range: $124 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Charlotte Matthews 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
***NEWLY RENOVATED WITH BISTRO*** At the Courtyard by Marriott in Matthews, North Carolina we welcome a variety of visitors to the Charlotte, North Carolina area. Sport fans of the collegiate and professional levels can enjoy some impressive action at Wingate University, Charlotte Bobcats (NBA), Carolina Panthers at Bank of America Stadium (NFL) and NASCAR's Lowes Motor Speedway & NHRA racing. With the US National Whitewater Center, Xtreme Ice, Mecklenburg Aquatic Club, Matthews & Charlotte Soccer Clubs, there is also an abundance of amateur athletics for any sports fan. Conveniently located to several major interstates and downtown, Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte/Matthews is the perfect place whether for for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Charlotte Matthews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charlotte Matthews Hotel Matthews
Courtyard Matthews
Matthews Courtyard
Matthews Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing