We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Suprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charlotte / Matthews
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Matthews
Certificate of Excellence
Thomasville, NC
2 reviews
“Suprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Hampton Inns are typically nice properties. This one was surprised me with extras. We stayed at this hotel because of its proximity to the hospital. My sister had surgery early the next morning. It was a perfect place to stay before this procedure. The service was friendly and efficient. The room was comfortable and relaxing. The rate was great. We could walk to many great places to eat and shop. The hotel gives out cookies that were a very nice treat before bed. I did not know that Hamptons offered manager receptions in the evening. We did not get to enjoy this extra this time. Breakfast was plenty. We are coming back when we do not have to visit the hospital. It will make for a great girls get away. The pool looked inviting for a summer stay. BTW surgery went perfectly thanks to our stress-free evening at the Matthews Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thegoodnews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmentrout, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charlotte / Matthews, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of the Hampton Inn Charlotte/Matthews through TripAdvisor. The entire staff at our hotel was happy to hear that everything went well with your sister's surgery. The Hampton Inn Charlotte/Matthews works hard to ensure that every guest receives a clean room and friendly service when they choose our location. We understand that there are many options today's traveler can select from when visiting Charlotte, we are thrilled that you would like to stay with us on future visits. Thank you for your patronage and remember that we love to have you and your family stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    102
    58
    30
    8
See reviews for
149
52
27
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sevierville, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here for a meeting with Family Dollar whose office is just a few minutes away. There is an Applebee's next door who offers room service which is nice. There is also a Titled Kilt at the end of the block.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffery N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmentrout, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charlotte / Matthews, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Hampton Inn Charlotte/Matthews through the Tripadvisor website. The Hampton Inn Charlotte/Matthews is thrilled to hear you had a wonderful stay! Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience with Tripadvisor. The entire team at the Hampton Inn Charlotte/Matthews is really movtivated when we hear that we have succeeded in our mission, to provide superior service and clean surroundings everytime. The staff looks forward to the pleasure of serving you again in the near future. The Hampton Inn Charlotte/Matthews loves having you here! Especially our loyal business travelers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Not recognized as Honor Member...especially as a GOLD MEMBER. No complimentary upgrade, no extra "goodies" offered as displayed on their check in counter and nothing waiting for us as Honor Members in our "pre-assigned" room. Room furnishings "blah" and definitely could use an update.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Akeary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmentrout, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charlotte / Matthews, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Chris Armentrout, the hotel general manager, contacted Mrs. Akeary Vick to discuss her issues she had with the Hilton Honors loyalty program. Mrs. Vick didn't understand why she didn't recieve a complimentary upgrade or a gift in her room during check in. Mrs. Vick's Hilton Honors My Way preference was to receive 250 bonus points instead of the Hilton Honors snack option. Also Mrs.Vick was unaware that Gold and Diamond Members no longer recieved complimentary upgrades at Hampton Inn's. Mrs. Vick was upset because "business travelers" receive perks when their companies pick up the bill but there is nothing she says that Hilton is doing for "average travelers". Chris apologized for the front desk agent not recognizing her as a Gold member at check in. Mrs. Vick wanted to use the Hampton Inn Matthews survey as a format to voice her complaints about the Hilton Honors loyalty program. The general manager made sure the guest was taken care of for her inconvienance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Augusta, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Excellent hotel, very friendly staff, very helpful, nice, best hotel I've ever stayed in. Breakfast was excellent, room clean, free internet service. Most of all I liked the staff. We were allowed to check out a little later than normal with no additional fee.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Brenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmentrout, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charlotte / Matthews, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for completing a review of the Hampton Inn Charlotte/Matthews through TripAdvisor. I was happy to hear you enjoyed your experience while staying at our location. The Hampton Inn Charlotte/Matthews understands what business travelers go through when they are traveling for work. We want to welcome you to return to our hotel on future business trips you may have in our area. If we could ever be of assistance to you, please don't hesitate to ask. Thank you for your patronage, we love having you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazel Green, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

First, the toilet seat would not stay up at all (very irritating). A finger sweep on the headboard picked up a pile of dust. The shower curtain looked (from the inside of the shower) like it had blobs of dried shampoo all over it (unclean). On both days (8/21 and 8/22) when I returned to the room, the iron and ironing board had not been put away, and the ice bucket was still where I left it on the computer desk, full of water from ice that melted the night before. The trash was not taken out from the trash can at the computer desk when I returned to the room on Thursday 8/22, and there was hair on the side of the bathtub, and the bathroom counter near the coffee maker had granules of something like sugar spilled on the counter that was not cleaned up. I felt like the room was not getting a thorough cleaning each day as it should, and that housekeeping was being sloppy. I did not have time or energy to deal with complaining about these issues, and felt that by the time I got back from work each day, the desk person wouldn't have been able to resolve the issues appropriately. And I did not want to ask for a free room, because that would mean my company would have benefited from my complaints, and not me. So, what's the point? These problems need to be corrected soon. If my wife had been able to travel with me, she would certainly have made it a point immediately. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmentrout, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charlotte / Matthews, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
The entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Charlotte/Matthews wants to extend our gratitude for reviewing our location on the TripAdvisor website. Customer feedback is vital to allow the team in Matthews to continually improve our operation. I promise that I will address your concerns with our staff because your experience seems out of characher for our property. It is important that our guests' are satisfied with their stays but we always want to go above and beyond guest expectations. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to your next visit to Matthews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

I travel a lot for work and it's always nice to come to a hotel with people that are welcoming with smiles on their faces. That is the experience everytime I stay at the Hampton Inn Matthews. And this last time was no exception. Carly, the front desk agent, must have known I had a long, frustrating day and in a few short minutes at check-in, she had me smiling and laughing.
Thank you Hampton Inn for being Excellent everywhere I go and thank you Carly!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmentrout, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charlotte / Matthews, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel through Tripadvisor. We know how challenging your days can be when you are working on the road. We really appreciate the kind comments and I will ensure that Carly is recognized for her efforts to turn around a tough day. Know that you always have friends at the Hampton Inn Matthews who can't wait for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

I have returned to this hotel on multiple occasions for business travel. Location is a few steps from several restaurants. Wi-Fi connectivity is good and outlets are conveniently located on desk. Rooms are new, spacious and very comfortable. Front staff person Rebecca has been especially courteous and welcoming. The hotel's management has been extremely helpful especially on one occasion that involved a medical emergency that involved a coworker. I’ll be back again soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmentrout, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charlotte / Matthews, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
The Hampton Inn Charlotte/Matthews is thrilled to hear you had a wonderful stay! Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience with Tripadvisor. I will make sure Rebecca is recognized and rewarded for her efforts in making a difference during your visit. The entire team at the Hampton Inn Charlotte/Matthews is really movtivated when we hear that we have succeeded in our mission, to provide superior service and clean surroundings everytime. We were excited to hear that everything you needed was located within walking distance of our hotel. The staff looks forward to the pleasure of serving you again in the near future. We love having you here! Thank you for choosing Hampton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matthews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Forest
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Matthews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charlotte / Matthews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charlotte / Matthews

Property: Hampton Inn Charlotte / Matthews
Address: 9615 Independence Pointe Pkwy, Matthews, NC 28105-2782
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Matthews
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Matthews
#4 Business Hotel in Matthews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Charlotte / Matthews 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Charlotte / Matthews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charlotte / Matthews Hotel Matthews
Hampton Inn Matthews
Matthews Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing