We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff! Super clean, good breakfast options, A++++”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Matthews
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great Staff! Super clean, good breakfast options, A++++”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I was blown away by the friendly staff (Tiffany I think), ease of check in, great breakfast options, and clean rooms. Even though our rooms weren't inside hallways, the rooms were perfect. Convenient location to McAlpine Park, and tons of food options near by. Kudos all around!!!

Room Tip: Ask for interior rooms if you don't like being right off the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRod V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your postive feedback. I have shared your review with Tiffany and the enitre staff. It was our delight to serve you while you were visiting the Matthews NC area. Our hotel does offer several rooms with outdoor access, however the majority are interior entry. It is nice to offer both as many individuals have opposite preferences. Both interior and exterior rooms offer very clean, fresh and updated rooms. We look forward to seeing you again when returning to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    78
    38
    27
    27
See reviews for
124
47
28
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

My Mom and I stayed here for 2 nights. This place was very clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. I really liked having a fridge in the room too. The breakfast bar was very good, with a large variety of things to eat. It was not your standard continental breakfast, it was much better. I would definitely stay here again next time I'm in the area. Thank you Quality Inn for a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing us for your stay while in the area. We are pleased to have the opportunity to serve you and your Mother's rooming needs. Feedback is very important to us and we are thankful you took the time to give a review for our hotel. We will look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the area. My staff and I wish you and your family a Happy Holiday and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

family trip to visit relatives .breakfast was great we had a variety of foods each day .the cost was reasonable the beds were comfortable and room was cleaned daily. the employees were tops.we would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling. we are senior citizen .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALBusTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
It was a pleasure for myself and hotel staff to assist you during your stay. We are so thankful you took the time to receognize our hotel and do a review. Your feedback is always important and keeps us motivated. We look forward to srving you in the furure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My stay at this Quality Inn & Suites was a quick overnight one, and I found it to be one of the nicest Quality Inns I've visited. The outside is well kept, and the lobby is attractive and welcoming. The location is a bit out of the way, with nowhere to eat within immediate walking distance.

The hotel has a unique layout with two sections. Behind the main lobby is a two story "motor inn" section, and behind that is a "newer-style" three story section with its own sitting area with TV. My room was 258, which is in the very back of the "new" section, farthest away from the lobby. It was quite a hike from my room to the main lobby, but it should be noted that the second floor of the "motor inn" section does have a central interior hallway, so you don't have to go outside to get to the front desk or breakfast room if you're in the new section in the back. The first floor rooms in the "motor inn" wing do have outside entrances if you like the convenience of loading things directly from your car into you room. The best of both worlds, you could say.

Room 258 was a very spacious king bed room, with plenty of extra space. The design was just a bit more modern and upscale than at other Quality Inns, and aside from a few scratches on the desk and some small rips in the leather office chair, everything was very clean and very well kept. I think they've finished updating all their TV's to new flat-screen units, as I asked about it before my stay. I also had a microwave and refrigerator in my room despite not requesting one. The bed was a bit softer than beds at other hotels I've stayed at, but that's actually what I prefer. Plenty of hot water for the shower. Wi-fi worked fast and flawlessly. And it's the little extras I noticed - a bathroom with a powerful fan for one, and a coffeemaker with an actual glass coffee pot instead of the single-cup unit that seems to be so popular in most other places nowadays. My room was very quiet, being the one farthest away from US 74/Indepedence Blvd. All in all, a very relaxing, comfortable stay.

The hotel offered a pretty good selection of breakfast items - eggs, sausage gravy, waffles, along with the usual cereals, pastries, and fruit. I didn't get to sample any of the hot items - I would have preferred sausage patties or bacon to the gravy, due to allergies - but everything looked nice and tasty.

Tiffany checked me in and out, and both times she was very friendly and pleasant. The gentleman who worked the evening shift gave me a good recommendation for a restaurant that delivered to the hotel (Athens Pizza) and they in fact were able to deliver right to my room (instead of me needing to make the hike to the lobby to get my food) which was appreciated. The overall impression I got was that the employees here really do value their guests and do whatever they can to make them feel welcome.

I paid just over $70 for my stay, which was a great bargain in my book. Another thing of note: Because the hotel is located just over the Union County line, you pay much less in sales tax than you would for a hotel located in Mecklenburg County - only 6% tax here.

I'm usually pretty satisfied with Quality Inns. But the Quality Inn & Suites in Matthews is a cut above. Management is doing a pretty good job of keeping on top of things like maintenance and cleaning, and the staff is equally accommodating. The next time I need to make a trip out to Matthews, I won't consider staying anywhere but the Quality Inn & Suites.

Room Tip: Higher numbered rooms are back from the road and lobby in the new section - quieter but a longer wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LGILMAN479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed and honest review for our hotel. It was a joy to have you and your daughter stay with us. We also appreciate the wonderful comments and photographs you placed on our facebook. We take our reviews very seriously and use your feedback as a guide for improvements. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Matthews NC. Hope you had a fun and safe trip home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is an absolutely wonderful place to stay! I have never been disappointed with the room, the staff, the breakfast, the appearance! I have no complaints!!! Would definitely stay here again! The breakfast area is so neat and clean and the food is great. The staff are so helpful and you don't get an attitude when you ask a question! The lobby is inviting and tastefully decorated.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DeborahinGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
I am so eager to share your review with my dedicated staff! As a senior contributor for trip advisor I know you stay at a lot of hotels, and to be chosen as one of your favorites is an honor. Your review is very detailed and accurate, and we thank you for investing time in allowing others to know what a great experience you have as a repeat guest. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We loved visiting this hotel, it was clean and the staff was very nice! The breakfast was good too! I liked the idea that I was in a place where I had never visited before, and felt safe. There are locked doors to every entrance, only guest with keys may enter, this would be a place I would stay again if I had to alone and feel safe doing it. We will visit again

Room Tip: if you want a room that has a fridge & micro, you must request it. Not all rooms have it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benezena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
We pride ourselves on keeping our hotel clean, safe and quite. We are so pleased you noticed our efforts and thank you for taking time to share your review of our hotel with others. We are pleased to hear you will return to our hotel, and can not wait to welcome you back as our guest. Thank you again, and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leland, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We visited the hotel for the antique car show and car swap. Stopped in without calling ahead and got three rooms. The hotel was very clean and comfortable. The bed was very soft not hard like some places, the pillows could have been a little bigger. The shower head and water pressure was great. The only thing they needed was a smoking area outside and to let there guest know where it is. I am a smoker and have no problem going outside for this but, a designated area for this would have been nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your detailed review of our hotel. We look forward to having you visit again. I apologize that you were not informed of our desiginated smoking area, as we do have one availbale. I have shared this with my staff and we will make improvements to properly inform each guest. Reviews are so improtant, not only when chosing a hotel, but in allowing us to see where we need to make changes. We can't wait to see you again on your next trip to Charlotte or the Matthews NC area.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Matthews hotels
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Matthews-Charlotte
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte I-485 at Highway 74E
3.0 mi away
Sleep Inn Matthews - Charlotte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlotte / Matthews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Charlotte Matthews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Property: Quality Inn & Suites
Address: 13470 E Independence Blvd, Matthews, NC 28105-4958
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Matthews
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Matthews
#4 Family Hotel in Matthews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Award winning 96 room interior hotel with 26 exterior room options is located in Stallings NC a suburb of Matthews and Indian Trail NC off I-74 and I-485 on the interchange of the new Monroe Bypass. You will find the Quality Inn & Suites Stallings / Matthews 12 miles from the center of Uptown Charlotte in Union County (6.75% tax) on the boarder of Mecklenburg County (15.25%tax) Popular to the wide range of sporting hotspots we are also a short distance from the growing Charlotte Monroe Executive Airport (KEQY) A proud host to a quickly growing sports youth market we are surrounded by recreational fields Matthews Sportsplex home to FC Barcelona, Ruggerfest, World Series Youth Lacrosse and CSA Charlotte Invitational and are the closest hotel to Carolina Courts, Extreme Ice Center, Edna Love Park and Crooked Creek Baseball Fields Finding things to do is never hard. Home to where Racing lives visit the NASCAR Hall of Fame, watch our NFC Champions the Carolina Panthers at Bank of America Stadium, you can also catch a concert or Charlotte Hornets Basketball game at Spectrum Arena/Timewarner Cable Arena. Southern Festivals and Arts are plenty see what is happening at Charlottes Got A lot Popular amenities to our hotel are our complimentary Hot Buffet Breakfast, Choice Reward Points and High Speed Internet. Do not forget as you enjoy these amenities that you are also welcome to enjoy our outdoor pool and Fitness Center. Meeting with Family and friends or hosting a meeting, call our team we would be happy to offer you our meeting room space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Hotel Matthews
Holiday Inn Matthews
Matthews Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing