We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better value elsewhere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Matthews
New York
Level Contributor
123 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“better value elsewhere”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We chose this hotel based mostly on location (it was one of the closest to our destination) and positive reviews. We had not stayed at a Quality Inn before and based on this experience will try to avoid it in the future. The place is not "bad" (clean etc.) but it doesn't seem to be a very good value.
Cons: soft/mushy bed, oddly small and lumpy pillows, not many healthy/fresh alternatives for breakfast, very old/balky printer in the business center.

Room Tip: rooms on the third floor are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g-and-s-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMichaelYates, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
As the new General Manager it is my goal to meet the expectations of our guests. Your suggestions regarding breakfast help to lead us to changes which ensure all the guest's needs and expectations are met. We would love to welcome you back on a future stay to give us the opportunity to better please you. Please know that our front desk is available 24/7 to assist you in any manor. Though many guests love the new brand standards and pillows, we do understand that some guests prefer a larger and more traditional pillow. We do have other pillows available at the front desk which will be quickly expedited to your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    77
    34
    24
    23
See reviews for
120
44
26
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Garden
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was our third stay in the last few years.Everyone was so polite and friendly.Rooms are very clean.Breakfeast very good.We did notice the improvements they are making.Thank you for such a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon60845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMichaelYates, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Welcome back to the Quality Inn and Suites of Matthews! We love to hear from all of our guests. We greatly appreciate your loyalty to our hotel. As a repeat guest of 3 years it means so much to us that you notice all the positive changes in our hotel. Our staff is pleased to accomodate you and meet all your expectations. We look forward to a long lasting relationship with you as our guest.

Best Regards,

Lisa Y Cline
General Manager
Quality Inn and Suites
Matthews NC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Best experience ever from the hotel. The staff was excellant. The staff went out of their way to make sure everything was taken care of. I will definately be staying here again as well as i highly recommend staying at this hotel. Very clean very comfortable and very nice.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthewslater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMichaelYates, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review. It is reviews like yours that keeps our staff dedicated and on top of our game to bring you the best in quality and affordability. We can not wait to serve you again and welcome you as a repeat guest in our hotel.

Lisa Y Cline
General Manager
Quality Inn and Suites
Matthews NC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel was well maintained with clean rooms however the entire first floor was filled with construction crews whose equipment took up half the parking spaces. The construction crews would leave a room card sitting on top of the card reader at the building entrance which bypassed the hotels intent to control access to the building. In addition I had to walk around three people smoking dope outside one of the building entrances.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelby30375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMichaelYates, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
First, we would like to begin by thanking you for your review of the property. Our Staff takes great pride in the maintenance and cleanliness of our accommodations. It is our goal to provide you with a value based experience while visiting with us and we work towards achieving that with every guest. Also, we would like to thank you again for bringing any deficiencies in security to our attention so that we can address this with our staff and other guests to establish a president for the future safety of all our visitors. We do continue to have a positive relationship with our local police agency to quell any illegal activities from occurring on our property and they have an open invitation with them to stop in and have a look around. Any activities that are observed by our staff or guests is immediately reported so that it can be dealt with in a timely manner. We welcome any guest to report to our staff anything out of the ordinary so that we can resolve the situation for you. We appreciate your candor and we would like to invite you back anytime so that we can provide you with the level of guest services that makes us a stand-out among the rest.

Mr. C. Michael Yates
General Manager
Quality Inn & Suites
13470 East Independence Blvd.
Matthews, NC, 28105
W : 704-821-9800
F : 704-821-6744
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is an odd hotel. You can tell the lobby has been recently renovated and has a nice appearance. The front part of the hotel is more like motel than a hotel and then there is a second lobby (without staff) where you get to the newer part of the hotel. This section appears to be a bit nicer. Getting to breakfast though we had to leave our section and walk outside in front of peoples rooms to get to the main lobby. The staff was not unfriendly but not what I would consider friendly either. If I had a choice, I would not stay here again. Oh yeah the mattress was worn out! I completely sunk into the center of the bed and my back is killing me!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMichaelYates, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Our property does fall into a unique category. We have the advantages of mostly interior rooms and a small number of exterior entrance rooms should there be a need for drive up availably. Within the last 3 years our property has had a complete renovation bringing our standards well above the expectations of many budget minded travelers. The second lobby that allows access to the upper floors also attaches to the main lobby via the second floor. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your comments and have used your review in establishing a process of informing guests so that they are aware of interior access. Without the valuable feedback that we receive from reviewers like you we would not have the tools and information to fine tune our staff and services.

Mr. C. Michael Yates
General Manager
Quality Inn & Suites
13470 East Independence Blvd.
Matthews, NC, 28105
W : 704-821-9800
F : 704-821-6744
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 18, 2013

In short, my wife and I were supposed to get accommodations with another Quality Inn in Charlotte, NC. while traveling from Virginia. At the last minute, the hotel backed out on their discount offer from our previous stay. That's when I called the Quality Inn & suites hotel and spoke with Mike, (the GM). Not only did he give us a great rate for two nights, he upgraded our room at no additional cost. Mind you, these are franchises. So while both hotels have the same name, they our operated under different management. I could spend time blogging about how the Charlotte, QI dropped the ball, but I'd much rather tell you how delightful our stay was in Matthews. Their staff was very friendly, the room as clean, the continental breakfast was a delight, and we would recommend Quality Inn & Suites of Matthews, NC to anyone who plans a trip to that area. Thank you Mike. Although I didn't get to shake your hand to thank you in person, you really displayed excellent customer service, and you are a gentleman & scholar. The staff were great!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joneses1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMichaelYates, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Early on in my hotel career I had a General Manager that impressed upon me one thing…daily. He would say “It doesn’t matter if you are staying in a $1000.00 a night full service resort or a $39.00 a night economy class hotel - Every guest expects a clean room, a TV, a phone, a bathroom, a good nights rest, and a decent breakfast. The ONLY thing that we sell is the service that we provide to everyone who walks through our doors.” I strive every day to impress this upon myself and our staff. Your wonderful comments regarding our staff and your experience with us is a handshake, and a pat on the back; Not just to me but to everyone at our property. The ultimate goal is to have every guest feel like they are a welcome visitor and to have them return to us when traveling in the area. I will be posting your comments for the staff to see…and maybe my new daily impression will be “ With every guest we need to keep up with the Joneses.”

Mr. C. Michael Yates
General Manager
Quality Inn & Suites
13470 East Independence Blvd.
Matthews, NC, 28105
W : 704-821-9800
F : 704-821-6744
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carthage
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This hotel is clean and well kept. The breakfast bar is well stocked with something to please everyone. We have stayed here in the past and we plan on staying here again. Very good value for your money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMichaelYates, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Quality and Value go hand in hand when providing great customer service. At the Quality Inn & Suites of Matthews, NC we look to our guest reviews to gage the value of your experience while visiting at our property. How can we mark our scorecard? “Breakfast Bar Well Stocked . . . Something to Please Everyone . . . Stayed in the Past and Plan on Staying Again.” We would say that’s three for three. Our service industry commitment from staff and management strives to provide a product that is a “Very Good Value for Your Money”; especially when traveling with family. Thank you for the high marks on this visit and we will work to continue to provide you clean & well kept accommodations for your future stays.


Mr. C. Michael Yates
General Manager
Quality Inn & Suites
13470 East Independence Blvd.
Matthews, NC, 28105
W : 704-821-9800
F : 704-821-6744
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Matthews hotels
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte I-485 at Highway 74E
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Matthews-Charlotte
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Sleep Inn Matthews - Charlotte
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Charlotte Matthews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlotte / Matthews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Property: Quality Inn & Suites
Address: 13470 E Independence Blvd, Matthews, NC 28105-4958
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Matthews
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Matthews
#4 Family Hotel in Matthews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Award winning 96 room interior hotel with 26 exterior room options is located in Stallings NC a suburb of Matthews and Indian Trail NC off I-74 and I-485 on the interchange of the new Monroe Bypass. You will find the Quality Inn & Suites Stallings / Matthews 12 miles from the center of Uptown Charlotte in Union County (6.75% tax) on the boarder of Mecklenburg County (15.25%tax) Popular to the wide range of sporting hotspots we are also a short distance from the growing Charlotte Monroe Executive Airport (KEQY) A proud host to a quickly growing sports youth market we are surrounded by recreational fields Matthews Sportsplex home to FC Barcelona, Ruggerfest, World Series Youth Lacrosse and CSA Charlotte Invitational and are the closest hotel to Carolina Courts, Extreme Ice Center, Edna Love Park and Crooked Creek Baseball Fields Finding things to do is never hard. Home to where Racing lives visit the NASCAR Hall of Fame, watch our NFC Champions the Carolina Panthers at Bank of America Stadium, you can also catch a concert or Charlotte Hornets Basketball game at Spectrum Arena/Timewarner Cable Arena. Southern Festivals and Arts are plenty see what is happening at Charlottes Got A lot Popular amenities to our hotel are our complimentary Hot Buffet Breakfast, Choice Reward Points and High Speed Internet. Do not forget as you enjoy these amenities that you are also welcome to enjoy our outdoor pool and Fitness Center. Meeting with Family and friends or hosting a meeting, call our team we would be happy to offer you our meeting room space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Matthews
Quality Inn And Suites
Holiday Inn Matthews
Matthews Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing