We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Place to Stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Matthews
Certificate of Excellence
Smyrna, Georgia
Level Contributor
233 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“The Place to Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

This hotel may not be part of an upscale chain, but if I ever find myself in Matthews, NC again, I'll most definitely stay here! When I checked in, the night manager was extremely friendly and helpful. I saw another guest become frustrated when the night manager was unable to locate his reservation--turns out his company made his reservation under a supervisor's name--and despite the man's temper, the night manager never once anything other than friendly and professional. When I notified the manager that my room had not been serviced by housekeeping and a previous guest's things were still in the room, he promptly gave me another room with a smile. The second room was very tidy and very clean with no issues, and, when I got my receipt in the morning, my balance had been zeroed out! My room did not have a microfridge and the TV was an older CRT television, but the room does come with other standard amenities such as a coffee maker, hair dryer, iron, and a balcony, though the view isn't much to speak of. The hotel does offer a fitness center, coin laundry, free WiFi, and a breakfast bar with waffles, sausage, eggs, biscuits, muffins, yogurt, juice, and cereal. Overall, I was pleasantly surprised by how nice the hotel was given the city in which it was located. I definitely would recommend that anyone with business in Matthews, NC stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dez P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMichaelYates, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Our “Family” of staff and management works to provide every guest a quality product, above and beyond your expectations. That is what makes us stand out in our brand and in the local area. Daily we have guests that take a special moment to tell us that our facility and staff are beyond what they have experienced with other hotels. Thank you for letting us know where we can improve and where we excel. In our attempt to provide every guest with a rapid check in and personal service there can be bumps in the road, but we strive to insure that the one rare mishap is resolved and that you, our guest, feels we have done everything to make your stay enjoyable. We are currently undergoing a major project in replacing the TV’s in the rooms with flat panels throughout and we also have micro/fridge rooms available upon request. Come back and see our improvements and as always enjoy our many amenities that come standard with your visit, our friendly/professional service, and the amazing hot breakfast buffet…ps: the pool’s open.

Mr. C. Michael Yates
General Manager
Quality Inn & Suites
13470 East Independence Blvd.
Matthews, NC, 28105
W : 704-821-9800
F : 704-821-6744
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    69
    31
    17
    20
See reviews for
110
42
23
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mount Airy, NC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We recently stayed here for 1 night. It was a very comfortable hotel...especially the beds! Everything we needed was provided for and the morning breakfast was delicious with a very good variety. I would stay here again without question. The staff was courteous and helpfu.
Noh was was the front desk person and he did an excellent job. Very thoughtful and professional.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask if there are any large groups staying the same night you are. We had some sports tea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMichaelYates, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
One night can make a difference. We pride ourselves on being in the service industry and our calling is to provide you with the best service at a value price. Hot breakfast items, a business center, guest laundry and workout facilities and our amazing staff are all here to serve you with a smile and pride in a job well done. Having a staff member provide service that has them called out by name is our expectation. Yes, we do host sporting events and teams in the area, and yes the kids can be a handfull sometimes..they are kids. Our staff is trained and ready to address any issues that may arise while you are staying with us. Our goals include making sure every guest has the best stay, in only the best ways. Thank you for your kind words and we will be waiting to serve you the next time around.

Mr. C. Michael Yates
General Manager
Quality Inn & Suites
13470 East Independence Blvd.
Matthews, NC, 28105
W : 704-821-9800
F : 704-821-6744
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Great hotel. Very clean. Nice and friendly staff from the front desk to cleaning crew. The breakfast was hot and always kept maintained. The location of this hotel is convenient to restaurants and shopping. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank victorias301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMichaelYates, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Short and oh so sweet! It doesn’t take a novel to say a whole lot and what you have said here speaks volumes. In your six sentences you have touched on almost every major concern for today’s traveler. Cleanliness, friendliness, attention to details, location, and your commitment to return based on the great services that we provide. You have said it all! Thank you and we will be ready to provide you with the best value and quality service when you return.
Mr. C. Michael Yates
General Manager
Quality Inn & Suites
13470 East Independence Blvd.
Matthews, NC, 28105
W : 704-821-9800
F : 704-821-6744
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
134 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Very nice, clean, well furnished/equipped hotel within minutes from most all Charlotte major event sites. Far enough outside downtown proper to ease some of the traffic issues. On Independence Blvd--major thoroughfare to access down town. Good variety of restaurants within 5 minutes (Bonefish Grill to TX Steakhouse). Two queen room spacious, fridge and microwave, coffee maker. Nice free breakfast with hot and cold selections. Easy wheelchair access (I was in one) to rooms, front desk, and breakfast area. Rates very reasonable and competitive with nearby motels. Only, minor, drawback is exit onto Independence Blvd--no stop light and right turn only. However, there's an intersection, with stop light and U-turn ability less than 200 yards away. Drivers on Independence were courteous to allow me to merge into the traffic. Room was well insulated, I did not hear any traffic noise on a Friday night.

Room Tip: Hotel is perpendicular to Independence Blvd; rooms with higher numbers are further from potential ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoDWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMichaelYates, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Endorsements like this can’t be beat! One of our major goals is to provide guests with that “down home southern charm” while being only minutes away from all the action of Uptown Charlotte. Our location provides the access that is so important when visiting a major metropolitan area and our staff provides the service and knowledge to assist you in making your visit memorable in the best ways possible. Our experienced guest service representatives have a wealth of information on the local area, eateries, attractions, and events. Although our deluxe accommodations allow for you to spread out like royalty and make yourself at home, we provide Standard King Size Singles, Handicapped Accessible Rooms, Two Full Double Size Beds, King Suites with a Seating Area, and Two Double Beds or One King Size Bed - Two Room Suites. Our staff agrees with you because we make the journey many times a day on and off of Independence Blvd.; through lite and heavy traffic and your directions are perfect. Thank you again for your great review of our property and we hope to have you visit again soon.

Mr. C. Michael Yates
General Manager
Quality Inn & Suites
13470 East Independence Blvd.
Matthews, NC, 28105
W : 704-821-9800
F : 704-821-6744
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

I have been staying at the QIS for 9 years, and it has been other brands but the consistency of the management team is always top notch. The breakfast they serve is always warm and fresh, eggs meat and waffles. I feel like I am coming home when I stay at the QIS.

Room Tip: In the back is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMichaelYates, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
The staff and management would like to thank you for the wonderful compliment and we strive to make your stays in the future just as top notch as the past. While some things stay the same there are changes as well. Different selections on the breakfast bar will satisfy the needs of today’s traveler. The next time you are in the area, come on home!

Mr. C. Michael Yates
General Manager
Quality Inn & Suites
13470 East Independence Blvd.
Matthews, NC, 28105
W : 704-821-9800
F : 704-821-6744
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsville, New York
Level Contributor
116 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We were pleased with the clean, updated rooms, the friendly staff. Unfortunately the internet was down the night we stayed but that gave us a 'vacation' from our e-mails, lol. The breakfast was the standard continental fare but a slight cut above...coffee more tasty, larger pastries, more staff attention. Little things mean a lot and this staff does all the little things right.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMichaelYates, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. On rare occasions we do get those unexpected issues that are beyond the control of our staff and management…those lightning storms and high winds that play havoc with cable and internet, solar interference in cell phone service, and snow that keeps us in the house. In our industry it is our commitment to assist in any way we can and to make the little things count as much as hurtles we face. Thank you again for bearing with us though the outage and we will be here to make the little things count in the future.

Mr. C. Michael Yates
General Manager
Quality Inn & Suites
13470 East Independence Blvd.
Matthews, NC, 28105
W : 704-821-9800
F : 704-821-6744
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

I was extremely pleased with all aspects of my stay. I often stay in the Charlotte area, and this was the best value and most pleasant experience I have had. I will definitely return here. The staff was welcoming, gracious, and helpful. The room was very clean and comfortable. I especially enjoyed the continental breakfast, which offered a vast array of choices. There are older, traditional rooms, which seemed to cater to commercial clients, and the new addition offered king beds and spacious accommodations. While there were many guests, there was little to no noise or distractions. A special thank you to the staff.

Room Tip: Do request to stay in the more recent addition. The rooms are large and inviting. Don't forget...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BMBF-3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMichaelYates, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Our staff would like to extend a special thank you to you as well. When the constant traveler to our area has not only seen so many great aspects of our property, but also voices that they will return again, it tells us we are providing guest services the right way. You have many options in the area for lodging and to be picked as someone’s host hotel repeatedly is an honor to us. We understand that providing a great guest experience plays though your entire stay and doesn’t end when you leave the property. It is a delight to know that you have taken the time to get to know our services and amenities…we agree that our varied hot items breakfast bar is a great way to start your day. Thank you for noticing that we have the ability to customize your visit depending on the individual guest needs and our facility offers many various room types including interior and exterior entrance rooms, king and double bed types and, even presidential and double suites with kitchen facilities. Clean, Safe Cozy and Down Home..when you are away from home.

Mr. C. Michael Yates
General Manager
Quality Inn & Suites
13470 East Independence Blvd.
Matthews, NC, 28105
W : 704-821-9800
F : 704-821-6744
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Matthews hotels
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Matthews-Charlotte
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte I-485 at Highway 74E
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlotte / Matthews
3.0 mi away
Sleep Inn Matthews - Charlotte
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Charlotte Matthews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Property: Quality Inn & Suites
Address: 13470 E Independence Blvd, Matthews, NC 28105-4958
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Matthews
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Matthews
#4 Family Hotel in Matthews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Award winning 96 room interior hotel with 26 exterior room options is located in Stallings NC a suburb of Matthews and Indian Trail NC off I-74 and I-485 on the interchange of the new Monroe Bypass. You will find the Quality Inn & Suites Stallings / Matthews 12 miles from the center of Uptown Charlotte in Union County (6.75% tax) on the boarder of Mecklenburg County (15.25%tax) Popular to the wide range of sporting hotspots we are also a short distance from the growing Charlotte Monroe Executive Airport (KEQY) A proud host to a quickly growing sports youth market we are surrounded by recreational fields Matthews Sportsplex home to FC Barcelona, Ruggerfest, World Series Youth Lacrosse and CSA Charlotte Invitational and are the closest hotel to Carolina Courts, Extreme Ice Center, Edna Love Park and Crooked Creek Baseball Fields Finding things to do is never hard. Home to where Racing lives visit the NASCAR Hall of Fame, watch our NFC Champions the Carolina Panthers at Bank of America Stadium, you can also catch a concert or Charlotte Hornets Basketball game at Spectrum Arena/Timewarner Cable Arena. Southern Festivals and Arts are plenty see what is happening at Charlottes Got A lot Popular amenities to our hotel are our complimentary Hot Buffet Breakfast, Choice Reward Points and High Speed Internet. Do not forget as you enjoy these amenities that you are also welcome to enjoy our outdoor pool and Fitness Center. Meeting with Family and friends or hosting a meeting, call our team we would be happy to offer you our meeting room space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Matthews
Quality Inn And Suites
Holiday Inn Matthews
Matthews Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing