We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay in the Charlotte area.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Matthews
Williamsville, New York
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay in the Charlotte area.”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We were pleased with the clean, updated rooms, the friendly staff. Unfortunately the internet was down the night we stayed but that gave us a 'vacation' from our e-mails, lol. The breakfast was the standard continental fare but a slight cut above...coffee more tasty, larger pastries, more staff attention. Little things mean a lot and this staff does all the little things right.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMichaelYates, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. On rare occasions we do get those unexpected issues that are beyond the control of our staff and management…those lightning storms and high winds that play havoc with cable and internet, solar interference in cell phone service, and snow that keeps us in the house. In our industry it is our commitment to assist in any way we can and to make the little things count as much as hurtles we face. Thank you again for bearing with us though the outage and we will be here to make the little things count in the future.

Mr. C. Michael Yates
General Manager
Quality Inn & Suites
13470 East Independence Blvd.
Matthews, NC, 28105
W : 704-821-9800
F : 704-821-6744
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    77
    36
    25
    25
See reviews for
121
46
27
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I was extremely pleased with all aspects of my stay. I often stay in the Charlotte area, and this was the best value and most pleasant experience I have had. I will definitely return here. The staff was welcoming, gracious, and helpful. The room was very clean and comfortable. I especially enjoyed the continental breakfast, which offered a vast array of choices. There are older, traditional rooms, which seemed to cater to commercial clients, and the new addition offered king beds and spacious accommodations. While there were many guests, there was little to no noise or distractions. A special thank you to the staff.

Room Tip: Do request to stay in the more recent addition. The rooms are large and inviting. Don't forget...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BMBF-3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMichaelYates, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Our staff would like to extend a special thank you to you as well. When the constant traveler to our area has not only seen so many great aspects of our property, but also voices that they will return again, it tells us we are providing guest services the right way. You have many options in the area for lodging and to be picked as someone’s host hotel repeatedly is an honor to us. We understand that providing a great guest experience plays though your entire stay and doesn’t end when you leave the property. It is a delight to know that you have taken the time to get to know our services and amenities…we agree that our varied hot items breakfast bar is a great way to start your day. Thank you for noticing that we have the ability to customize your visit depending on the individual guest needs and our facility offers many various room types including interior and exterior entrance rooms, king and double bed types and, even presidential and double suites with kitchen facilities. Clean, Safe Cozy and Down Home..when you are away from home.

Mr. C. Michael Yates
General Manager
Quality Inn & Suites
13470 East Independence Blvd.
Matthews, NC, 28105
W : 704-821-9800
F : 704-821-6744
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This hotel is one of the best hotel values in the Charlotte, NC area. While it is a bit out of the way, off 485, about a mile on 74 East, it is a great accomodation at a very good price. The place is very clean and the staff is as friendly as you will find anywhere. Very well trained and very helpful. I have certainly paid a lot more and have gotten less. There are older rooms that are the "motor lodge" style in the front, with outer facing doors, with a much newer building in the back with inside facing doors. There is a conference room. The fitness room has a treadmill, crosstrainer and weight machine. Good free breakfast with the usual cereal and hot breakfast food. Confortable beds. Did I say that the staff is really friendly? They really do go out of the way to make you feel welcome. This is a place that where the staff works hard to earn your business. While the location may not be as exciting as downtown(Uptown, they call it here), you'll be happy about the money you save and it is not that far of a drive to downtown Charlotte.

Room Tip: See the note above. I like the back building. Even though the hotel is nearby a busy highway, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 765George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMichaelYates, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Value goes hand in hand with Quality Inn & Suites of Matthews and our management and staff would like to take this time to thank you for noticing. Through the endorsement of our guests, business that visits us repeatedly, and reviews by the constant traveler we are able to gage our progress. There is not much that we can say here that you haven’t covered in this review. Our various room types, interior and exterior accessibility, two double size or one king size beds, Jr. suites, and our Presidential Suite offers accommodations to fit the needs of any traveler. Amenities including our Complimentary Wi-Fi, Hot Items Breakfast, Guest Laundry, Fitness Center, and Business Center help make your stay as easy and convenient as possible. The off the beaten path location with easy access to highways and main roads allows our guests a quiet place to rest between urban adventures in Uptown Charlotte. And as you may have mentioned… our staff of “Down Home” as well as “Business Ready” Guest Service Associates work to ensure that each guest has the feeling of Southern Hospitality. All of this creates a Value Experience that we want every guest to enjoy.

Mr. C. Michael Yates
General Manager
Quality Inn & Suites
13470 East Independence Blvd.
Matthews, NC, 28105
W : 704-821-9800
F : 704-821-6744
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This was our first time at this location, but we will be back! Very pleasant surroundings. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. The hotel was very clean and bright. The room was bigger than a normal room. It included King size bed, with sofa and fridge and microwave.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fearn71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMichaelYates, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Even on the go we all need a quick stop! First times or every time you are in the area we hope that you enjoy our helpful and friendly staff and world class accommodations. We offer interior and exterior accessible rooms, with two double or one king size bed. Our spacious rooms come standard with great amenities to fit your specific needs and we also offer one and two room suites for a small additional fee. Bright open common areas and a well maintained facility are our standards.

Mr. C. Michael Yates
General Manager
Quality Inn & Suites
13470 East Independence Blvd.
Matthews, NC, 28105
W : 704-821-9800
F : 704-821-6744
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Passing through, we booked the Quality Inn due to member of Choice Priveleges and proximity to a friend we met for breakfast. Above average room with plenty of space and comfortable. Front desk staff was pleasant and helpful. Location and early evening traffic was very heavy (not the hotels fault) but proximity to restaurants and services was nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flashphan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMichaelYates, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Just passing through? Moving to the area? Visiting Friends & Family? Whatever the reason, we are happy that you decided to stay with our property. Membership loyalty with Choice Privileges is only one of the advantages that we share with you and it is with great satisfaction – and a big ol’ grin – that we say you are not the first guest that has found us above average. Since our remodel we have been told on numerous occasions that “this is not the same hotel we stayed at last time!” Room to move, to breath, and to stretch out in comfort along with a welcoming atmosphere are some of our main goals. Being centrally located to the Greater Charlotte area does mean that morning rush and evening drive time are busy…we understand because we do it everyday. Yet we always find that motorists stop, wait and allow everyone a place on the road.

Mr. C. Michael Yates
General Manager
Quality Inn & Suites
13470 East Independence Blvd.
Matthews, NC, 28105
W : 704-821-9800
F : 704-821-6744
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Great clean, quiet hotel, and in a good location, with a good free breakfast. Nicole Gibson was very helpful at the front desk, obviously knows her job well. The hotel is in a great neighborhood, with eating, and shopping close by, downtown not far, or interstate highways.

Room Tip: A hotel in a good location, rooms in back are very quiet, hotel as a whole was quiet. I have stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redweasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMichaelYates, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay with us! It means a lot to our staff to know that we are providing our guests with what they want in a lodging choice - A Clean, Quiet, and in a Great Location, with easy access to local shopping and eateries. Easily reachable highway and interstate availability…and right up the road from “Center City” Charlotte. Noticing our staff by name is the best compliment in the world and Nicole, and all of our GSRs, make it their job to be well informed and empowered to help you have a great stay. Have a wonderful holiday season and we will see you in the new year.

Mr. C. Michael Yates
General Manager
Quality Inn & Suites
13470 East Independence Blvd.
Matthews, NC, 28105
W : 704-821-9800
F : 704-821-6744
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oskaloosa, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Room was clean and neat and staff was friendly. I stay at hotels all across th SE states and this was definately one of the nicest ones I've been in. My total price was around 85 dollars for a room with a couch and kitchenette. The breakfast was excellent and the mattress was very comfortable. I will definately stay at this hotel again. I stay at hotels approx. 250 nights a year and this would be in my top 5.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMichaelYates, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for noticing the core values that all of our staff shares. Every guest should leave with the feeling of home, a nice clean place with people you enjoy. Value for your dollar, with amenities that match the price, is always a factor when traveling and we are pleased that you found what you were looking for. You don’t have to travel far and wide to know when you find something that works for you. It is an honor for us that we are in your personal “Top Five” and that your loyalty is secure. We look forward to welcoming you back during one …or more, of those “250 nights.”

Mr. C. Michael Yates
General Manager
Quality Inn & Suites
13470 East Independence Blvd.
Matthews, NC, 28105
W : 704-821-9800
F : 704-821-6744
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Matthews hotels
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte I-485 at Highway 74E
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Matthews-Charlotte
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Sleep Inn Matthews - Charlotte
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Charlotte Matthews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlotte / Matthews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Property: Quality Inn & Suites
Address: 13470 E Independence Blvd, Matthews, NC 28105-4958
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Matthews
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Matthews
#4 Family Hotel in Matthews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Award winning 96 room interior hotel with 26 exterior room options is located in Stallings NC a suburb of Matthews and Indian Trail NC off I-74 and I-485 on the interchange of the new Monroe Bypass. You will find the Quality Inn & Suites Stallings / Matthews 12 miles from the center of Uptown Charlotte in Union County (6.75% tax) on the boarder of Mecklenburg County (15.25%tax) Popular to the wide range of sporting hotspots we are also a short distance from the growing Charlotte Monroe Executive Airport (KEQY) A proud host to a quickly growing sports youth market we are surrounded by recreational fields Matthews Sportsplex home to FC Barcelona, Ruggerfest, World Series Youth Lacrosse and CSA Charlotte Invitational and are the closest hotel to Carolina Courts, Extreme Ice Center, Edna Love Park and Crooked Creek Baseball Fields Finding things to do is never hard. Home to where Racing lives visit the NASCAR Hall of Fame, watch our NFC Champions the Carolina Panthers at Bank of America Stadium, you can also catch a concert or Charlotte Hornets Basketball game at Spectrum Arena/Timewarner Cable Arena. Southern Festivals and Arts are plenty see what is happening at Charlottes Got A lot Popular amenities to our hotel are our complimentary Hot Buffet Breakfast, Choice Reward Points and High Speed Internet. Do not forget as you enjoy these amenities that you are also welcome to enjoy our outdoor pool and Fitness Center. Meeting with Family and friends or hosting a meeting, call our team we would be happy to offer you our meeting room space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Hotel Matthews
Holiday Inn Matthews
Matthews Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing