We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very motel like, but ok accomodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Matthews
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Staff was extremely friendly and upgraded our room to a suite, free of charge. The hotel is very motel like with outside access doors, which makes it feel lower scale and unsafe. There is an addition that has inside access rooms only. The water temperature was very cool and never seemed to get hot for a shower. Room was nice, but traffic going by on the highway outside makes it very loud. I found hair on the bathroom counter that was not my own.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMichaelYates, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2011

We do fall into a unique category with our hotel, we have exterior rooms. In our attempt to handle all our guest needs we have retained some exterior rooms for travelers that would like easy access to their vehicles or the outdoors. We offer interior rooms as well as rooms with balconies for a greater variety of options to suit a greater number of guest requests and travel needs. Safety, sanitation, and comfort are very important to us and we welcome your return visit.

Mr. C. Michael Yates
General Manager
Quality Inn & Suites
13470 E. Independence Blvd.
Matthews, N.C.
28105
P: 704-821-9800
F: 704-821-6744

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (360)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 360 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2011

Stayed here during a house hunting trip. Bed was very comfortable, room was clean and well maintained and the A/C ran cold. Great room at a great rate. Breakfast wasn't great, but to be in a well maintained room for less than $70 per night was an OK trade-off.

Room Tip: Make sure you get one of the internal access rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank drobjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMichaelYates, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2011

Relocation can be an adventure and a challenge whether it takes a day or two or a week or two. We here at the Quality Inn & Suites try to make at least a few things easier for you in the process; a safe, clean, comfortable, affordable place to stay while you are searching for a new home. Our hot items breakfast is only one feature that you can depend on. There is also a business center, cardio room, guest laundry, and seasonal pool. Our friendly and helpful staff welcomes you to the area and your new hometown.

Mr. C. Michael Yates
General Manager
Quality Inn & Suites
13470 E. Independence Blvd.
Matthews, N.C.
28105
P: 704-821-9800
F: 704-821-6744

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We stayed here for 7 days during the Labor Day weekend. 3 days were for business and other 4 were leisure time. Our room was very clean, everything appears to be updated. We stayed here in the past when it was Holiday Inn Express. They have a fantastic breakfast with eggs,sausage and lots of other things besides the typical starch breakfast. Everyone at the front desk, housekeepers and others were very knowledgeable with the area. We saw staff through-out the day walking the grounds and each and every one made it a point to smile and say hello and ask if we needed anything. We will stay here again when we return to Matthews. Thank you for everything

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sunnyfl945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMichaelYates, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2011

We appreciate all of our reviewers for taking the time and effort to let the world know how your experience was during your visits with us. With the extended stay guest you have a unique perspective into our daily operations. The 5 to 7+ days guest gets a chance to see how our service and the staff itself make the difference over the long haul. We expect all of our guests to have the chance to speak with the management and staff and we hope that every guest feels welcome and appreciated while they are with us. We pride ourselves on knowing the local area and if there is something that we don’t have on hand we will be more than happy to find out and have the information for you. Thank you for your continued loyalty and we will see you on your next trip to Matthews, N.C.

Mr. C. Michael Yates
General Manager
Quality Inn & Suites
13470 E. Independence Blvd.
Matthews, N.C.
28105
P: 704-821-9800
F: 704-821-6744

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Our stay at the Quality Inn was very enjoyable! We were in town for one night and was pleasantly pleased with the hotel and staff here. Front desk was very polite and accomadating with our needs during our stay. We checked in late Sat afternoon and needed a late check out for Sun, front desk had no problem with honoring our request and we were able to check out Sun at 2, it was great that we could check out late with no problems. We stayed in a room with one king bed and sitting area with a couch, room also had microwave and frig which was really nice to have in the room. Room was clean and comfortable, looks as if the hotel was recently remodeled. We were impressed because the room was very affordable and close to everything! Thank you for a great nights stay, we will stay again!

Room Tip: We had a room with a small balcony which was nice, it overlooked the parking lot but we would reques...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sydney758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMichaelYates, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2011

We hope that every guest who chooses to stay with us here at the Quality Inn & Suites in Matthews has an enjoyable time. Whether it is a single night visit or an extended stay, we know that service is what sets us apart from other hotels. With your Choice Privileges account you are guaranteed a 2pm check out with the hassle of late check-out fees. The non-smoking king suites do feature a sitting/business area in each room as well as the built in fridge/microwave and prep counter for easy snacking or even meals in the room. All of these additional features became available after the recent remodel and we still offer competitive rates and ease of access to local attractions. Thank you for staying with us and for choosing to come back again.

Mr. C. Michael Yates
General Manager
Quality Inn & Suites
13470 E. Independence Blvd.
Matthews, N.C.
28105
P: 704-821-9800
F: 704-821-6744

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We needed a fridge - got one and a microwave. The staff made sure we were comfortable. Thanks S.S.

Room Tip: Check in early. Call hotel directly. Get a room in the back, away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank donna p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMichaelYates, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2011

We would like to take this opportunity to say thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to the Matthews area. It is our pleasure to ensure that each guest’s needs are met on an individual basis and we are happy that you found our staff and service helpful. S.S. says you are very welcome & excellent guest service is never a problem.

Mr. C. Michael Yates
General Manager
Quality Inn & Suites
13470 E. Independence Blvd.
Matthews, N.C.
28105
P: 704-821-9800
F: 704-821-6744

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Stayed for seven nights at this Quality Inn and enjoyed every night with the exception of the last one, person in the room next door thought it would be a good idea to have his TV turned up to full volume until 2am and with the quality of the walls we heard every word!

Room was excellent size and bathroom equally acceptable.

Service from house keeping staff was extremely good with towels changed on an as required basis.

Breakfast was excellent with a large selection of Cereal, Yogurt, Waffles, Breads and hot option.

Hotel is situated 10 miles outside of Charlotte on Independance Blvd, 20 minutes drive from the city and 40 minutes from the airport, ample parking.

Overall our stay was a pleasant one with the exception of the loud TV and the customer who brought two large Parrotts into the breakfast area, which subsequently decided to eat the plastic fruit on the tables and then deficate all over both tables and seats. (I am sure the local Health Authority would be pleased to hear and I would hope that Qualty Inns would review their pets on premises policy)

Any one visiting the Charlotte Motor Speedway....This would be a good place to stay given its easy access to Concorde some 30 minutes away.

Room Tip: Join Choice privilages before booking and save 30% on your room cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank j0hnhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMichaelYates, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2011

Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to host you and your family during your recent extended visit to the Charlotte / Matthews area. We are glad that you found your accommodations to be exceptional and that you were pleased with your overall service while you were a guest with our property. There are some issues that you expressed that we would like to take this time to address. Our staff is available 24 hours a day and we greatly encourage all of our guests to contact us as any time during their stay should the need arise. While the national standards for noise abatement are met and in some cases exceeded in all of our guest rooms, we do understand that there can still be times when sound can “leak through” from another area without that other guest realizing the issue. In regards to the parrots that were at the property during the time you visited, they were not actually pets, but accredited and verified service animals protected under the Americans with Disabilities Act. We do have a strict no pet policy due to allergies, upkeep, and required cleaning after an animal is present in the room. In response to the animal’s defecation in the breakfast area, our housekeeping was made immediately aware of the situation and all sanitation efforts were made to correct the problem in a timely manner. Your family’s happiness and safety are of the utmost importance and we welcome your review as an opportunity to become better informed about our guests.

*** As a disclaimer (due to recent guest concerns over the use of the term Fag in the title line of your review) we would like to state the following: Our hotel, parent company, and staff/management in no way prohibit, tolerate, or indorse any form of bias including those based on age, sex, national origin, sexual orientation, creed, or color. The term used in this title is a slang reference for a cigarette paper, commonly used in the U.K.

Mr. C. Michael Yates
General Manager
Quality Inn & Suites
13470 East Independence Blvd.
Matthews, NC, 28105
W : 704-821-9800
M : 704-891-8095
F : 704-821-6744

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

No complaints. The room was clean, beds were very comfortable, everything worked as it should. We stayed in the interior rooms, not the front drive-up section. On our last morning there we had to leave early before their breakfast was scheduled to open, so I called the desk to see if we could grab a bowl of cereal before hitting the road - they set everything out early for us, including eggs and sausage. Everyone I spoke with there was very nice and conversational. To top it off, we stopped at the Walgreens down the street to get a new battery from my mother's watch, and experienced the same helpfulness from them - the clerk found a screwdriver and insisted on changing the battery herself.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jafBethie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMichaelYates, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2011

We believe that it is the personal touches that make the difference. Every guest is an individual and has special requirements to make their stay a great one. Sometimes just doing a little more than you expect can make us that kind of hotel. We enjoyed having you and your mother stay with us and hope that we can have some more of your time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Matthews hotels
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Charlotte I-485 at Highway 74E, NC
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Matthews-Charlotte
1.6 mi away
Econolodge & Suites
Econolodge & Suites
#10 of 12 in Matthews
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Charlotte Matthews
3 mi away
Sleep Inn Matthews - Charlotte
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 13470 E Independence Blvd, Matthews, NC 28105-4958
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Matthews
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Matthews
#4 Family Hotel in Matthews
Price Range: $75 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Award winning 96 room interior hotel with 26 exterior room options is located in Stallings NC a suburb of Matthews and Indian Trail NC off I-74 and I-485 on the interchange of the new Monroe Bypass. You will find the Quality Inn & Suites Stallings / Matthews 12 miles from the center of Uptown Charlotte in Union County (6.75% tax) on the boarder of Mecklenburg County (15.25%tax) Popular to the wide range of sporting hotspots we are also a short distance from the growing Charlotte Monroe Executive Airport (KEQY) A proud host to a quickly growing sports youth market we are surrounded by recreational fields Matthews Sportsplex home to FC Barcelona, Ruggerfest, World Series Youth Lacrosse and CSA Charlotte Invitational and are the closest hotel to Carolina Courts, Extreme Ice Center, Edna Love Park and Crooked Creek Baseball Fields Finding things to do is never hard. Home to where Racing lives visit the NASCAR Hall of Fame, watch our NFC Champions the Carolina Panthers at Bank of America Stadium, you can also catch a concert or Charlotte Hornets Basketball game at Spectrum Arena/Timewarner Cable Arena. Southern Festivals and Arts are plenty see what is happening at Charlottes Got A lot Popular amenities to our hotel are our complimentary Hot Buffet Breakfast, Choice Reward Points and High Speed Internet. Do not forget as you enjoy these amenities that you are also welcome to enjoy our outdoor pool and Fitness Center. Meeting with Family and friends or hosting a meeting, call our team we would be happy to offer you our meeting room space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Hotel Matthews
Holiday Inn Matthews
Matthews Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing