We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large room, great value stop-over!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sleep Inn Matthews - Charlotte
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Matthews
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Stayed for one night on route to the Blue Ridge Parkway and Crooked Road. Great location for the Texas Roadhouse Restaurant. Room was good size, clean and quiet. The pool was okay but a little less clean than we would prefer. Very friendly check in lady - she made us more than welcome. Using the coupon it cost $59.99 - a real bargain even included a continental breakfast and Wifi.

Stayed: August 2012
Thank B11boss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnGM, General Manager at Sleep Inn Matthews - Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Thank you for choosing the Sleep Inn Matthews. I am glad that I and the staff made your stay a pleasant one. I want to apologize for the state of the pool. We had an issue with the filter that was not allowing us to get the pool as clean as we like but that issue has been repaired and should not be a recurring problem.

We are always aware that our guests have many choices in the area and we want you to know that we sincerely appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 90 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2012

My family and I stayed here just overnight after visiting some friends. The staff was very nice and the hotel was pretty clean. We stayed on the third floor, which is under the smoking floor. Therefore, even though our area was non smoking, we could still smell the smoke from upstairs. i'm not sure, but I think it was coming from the bathroom vent. That is really my only complaint. All in all, it was a decent night stay for the money.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acsolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnGM, General Manager at Sleep Inn Matthews - Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Thank you for staying with us at the Sleep Inn Matthews. I appreciate your feedback. We do take your comments seriously and make every effort to correct any issue. Your comments regarding the smoke filtering into the non-smoking room from the smoking floor above will be addressed immediately. I have forwarded your comments to our owners and we are reviewing the ventilation system for solutions to that issue. I do hope that you will return and stay with us again in the future for one night or more.

We appreciate your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

I stayed here because I wanted a choice hotel property while passing thru Charlotte on the way home. They have a road on the back side of the hotel for large truck parking ( a must for me). I called ahead for a smoking room, and stayed in room #400. Great room, large and comfortable, with a king sized soft bed. Slept great. Took the shower a few minutes to get warm, but great then. Shower is large and there is no bathtub (who takes a bath in a hotel, really?). Standard choice breakfast, but pretty good. The staff was very nice and accommodating. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Room #400 at end of hall is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cah3295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnGM, General Manager at Sleep Inn Matthews - Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear cah3295,

Thank you for your response. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Please come visit us again soon!

Thank you for your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Yes, this hotel is in a safe neighborhood. Yes, it looks nice and is in a great location close to food, shopping, etc., but if you want a good night's sleep - GO SOMEWHERE ELSE! The first night we were there we were awakened at 1:30 am by the neighbors coming in. They were not yelling or anything, just talking, yet it sounded like they were in our room. Then again, at 4:30, we were awakened by the poorly performed (trust me - you could hear everything) porn film going on next door. The second night, again at 1:30, the neighbors arrive. At 5:30, they got up to shower and literally yelled over the water, "IS IT HOT YET?" And I said, in my normal voice, why don't you yell louder? Not everyone heard you." And they started whispering. So obviously they could hear us too -- OVER THE SOUND OF THEIR SHOWER!.

Aside from needing sleep and not getting any, the air conditioner is set to go on and off at a set time, so no matter how low you turn it, it IS NOT GOING TO COOL DOWN. We asked the front desk if we were setting it wrong, and were informed that's just the way it works. I cannot imagine sleeping in that room when it's 100 degrees outside. We had the air on 60 and *slept* with all the covers off the bed.

At least we didn't see any bed bugs. :)

Took one look at the breakfast offerings, and went to Bojangles instead. This seemingly large hotel has a breakfast nook big enough to accommodate about 8-10 people and the fare wasn't any. At least the coffee was hot.

Room Tip: Hard pressed to find a room that you aren't basically sharing with your neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InnAtHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnGM, General Manager at Sleep Inn Matthews - Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear InnAtHome,

Thank you for your feedback. This has not been a major complaint in the past. This has been forwarded to the owner to make sure he is are aware of the situation.

Thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Front desk person was rude at checkout the morning of 3/11 and not helpful at all. My room never got cleaned and had to ask to have it cleaned and just opted for new towels. I would say the hotel was clean but service was just not good at all. I am a director of Customer service and this sleep in failed at every level of service.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnGM, General Manager at Sleep Inn Matthews - Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear Chris K,

I apologize for the lateness of this response. I am sorry for the experience you had at the Sleep Inn. I assure you that it was not the normal level of service we provide. We were almost full and had lost some employees especially in housekeeping. House keeping worked until late servicing rooms but we unable to make it to all rooms prior to the guests return. I am sorry your room was not serviced. The employee in question was dealt with by the owner and we apologize for his rudeness.

Our goal is always to provide all guests with excellent service and I am sorry that we were unable to do so in yor case. We would welcome the opportunity to prove ourselves to you in the future.

Thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Very convenient location. Room was nice, clean and as expected for the good price. Loved the huge shower. TV's could be updated. Breakfast area was small and crowded. To our amazement there was noone working to keep the breakfast area cleaned and stocked. Food was getting low at 7:30, tables were left with trash on them, and trash cans were full. There were no forks so my husband started looking for them himself. I went to front desk and rang bell to ask who was working the breakfast area. A very sleepy man came from the back and said he was working both places. By the time he came over my husband had found the forks so the man dumped the whole box in the container and went back to the front desk without checking or restocking anything else. First time ever staying in a hotel where they did not have someone dedicated to this area. Second problem we had was with housekeeping in that they still were not at our room at 4:00. I found the housekeeper and exchanged our wet towels, got more kleenex and shampoo and told her we did not want our room cleaned so we could stay in it until it was time to leave for our next game. This could be a great place to stay if service was better.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crewsn77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnGM, General Manager at Sleep Inn Matthews - Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear crewsn77,

I apologize for the late response and your experience at the Sleep Inn Matthews. You and many others we in attendance for a tournament and we were almost full. Unfortunately we lost some staff and were short handed during that time. We had several people covering multiple areas and a shortage of housekeeping. That in no way excuses the service issues you experienced. I am so sorry our problem negatively affected your stay and I assure you that those problems have been rectified and should not occur again.

We always strive to provide excellent service for all of our guests. If given the chance we would welcome the opportunity to prove ourselves to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We have stayed in Matthews and picked this hotel because many of the others have doubles not queens in their double rooms. The beds were very comfortable and the room was well-appointed. The shower was much more roomy than it looked. The bathroom had a slider door which wasn't very clean. It was the only issue of cleanliness I noticed and I just cleaned it myself. The breakfast was OK but not nearly as well stocked on Monday morning as it had been on Sunday. There seemed to be plenty of staff at the desk and they were very polite and prompt.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toledoohiomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnGM, General Manager at Sleep Inn Matthews - Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2012

Thank you for your review! I am sorry about the cleanliness of the pocket door in the bathroom. The housekeeping supervisor was alerted to this problem and immediately did a staff meeting with all the room attendants about the bathroom doors. Upon inspection, I did find that the majority of the rooms did not have that problem but I was embarrassed that there was even one. We had additional people eating breakfast on Monday morning so it was harder to keep up but I did advise the staff that they should stock breakfast heavier during the weekday mornings so we don't run low.

I hope you will visit us again on your next trip to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Matthews hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Matthews-Charlotte
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte I-485 at Highway 74E
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlotte / Matthews
1.5 mi away
Econolodge & Suites
Econolodge & Suites
#9 of 12 in Matthews
31 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Charlotte Matthews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn Matthews - Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Matthews - Charlotte

Address: 9900 Matthews Park Dr, Matthews, NC 28105-1715
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Matthews
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Matthews
Price Range: $76 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn Matthews - Charlotte 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*NEWLY RENOVATED* Sleep Inn(R) Matthews - Charlotte is conveniently located off Interstate 485, and only 10 miles from Uptown Charlotte. We are within walking distance of several national chain resturants and local eateries. We are also located across from several shopping centers. This Matthews, NC hotel is near many area attractions, including Bojangle's Coliseum, Ovens Auditorium, The Park (formerly The Merchandise Mart), Time Warner Cable Arena, the NASCAR Hall of Fame, Charlotte Convention Center and Bank of America Stadium. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Sleep Inn Matthews - Charlotte puts you right in the middle of all the local attractions and several national company headquarters like Family Dollar, Windstream and Harris Teeter in the Matthews, North Carolina area. Our friendly staff looks forward to serving you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sleep Inn Matthews - Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Matthews
Matthews Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing