We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding river, crew and experience”

French Broad Adventures
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Marshall
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: French Broad Rafting and Ziplines is only 24 Miles from Asheville (NC) North Carolina. FBRZ is the closest Asheville zipline /canopy tour and rafting package to Asheville, Johnson City and Greenville SC. The French Broad River is the closest whitewater rafting to Asheville NC. Whether it's the adventure and excitement of whitewater rafting or the ease and relaxation of a calm water trip, you are looking for, French Broad Rafting and Ziplines is the adventure outfitter for you, your family, or your group.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I took my 10-year-old rafting for the first time today. The river was well up because of recent rains, so some sections were easily Class 3+. Simply put, we had a blast. Quality operation from end to end, with knowledgeable, friendly, highly skilled guides who did a great job teaching everyone -- regardless of skill level -- and getting the whole boat working as a team.

Rose skippered our raft and was great to work with the entire run. Everything you want in a whitewater rafting trip, including the obligatory raft bus "humor."

Lead guide Matt and Rose handled a problem with another raft safely, efficiently and calmly, so the event just ended up adding to the adventure. These folks come with my highest recommendation, especially if you have a group of mixed skill and experience.

1  Thank RobertKuntz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBRE, Owner at French Broad Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Rose had a great trip with y'all. She couldn't stop talking about what a great crew and trip she had on the river. Our guides definitely have the patience and skills to work with any situation. Thanks for the review and the recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,719)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"mile trip"
in 143 reviews
"rafting trip"
in 140 reviews
"white water rafting"
in 126 reviews
"nine mile"
in 15 reviews
"grilled hamburgers"
in 16 reviews
"longer trip"
in 22 reviews
"great trip"
in 60 reviews
"water level"
in 30 reviews
"river guide"
in 27 reviews
"highly recommend this company"
in 28 reviews
"class rapids"
in 27 reviews
"great guide"
in 45 reviews
"hummus"
in 16 reviews
"first timers"
in 31 reviews
"these guys"
in 32 reviews
"rafting and zip lining"
in 17 reviews
"other companies"
in 16 reviews
Filter

1,427 - 1,431 of 1,719 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

Original Justin rocks! Our guide was informative, experienced, and great fun. Wonderful trip for our entire family.

Thank Travelingtheworld512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBRE, Owner at French Broad Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

So glad you had a great time with Original Justin. He has been with us for years and definitely knows the river and history of the area. Thanks for the review and I will pass it on to Justin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My teenage boys and I Ioved our five-mile whitewater raft trip on the French Broad River. The group size was ideal -- four boats -- and our guide was a great paddling coach, naturalist and historian. We are new to whitewater, and this was a perfect introduction. Just enough speed and rapids to raise your heart rate, but not enough to scare you to death. And there was plenty of easy paddling and drifting between the rapids to enjoy the scenery. (I think there are tougher routes for the more experienced.)

There was a nice mix of ages from pre-teens to mature on this trip and the guides accommodated all with ease.

Thank Kennedy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBRE, Owner at French Broad Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your visit with us. We love running the small 4-6 boat trips. It is definitely the perfect size trip. The French Broad River is perfect for all ages of adventure seekers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Our 1st experience with French Broad Rafting was awesome! Our next trip to beautiful Asheville NC will definitely include another white water rafting experience with French Broad Rafting. Our family of 6 (mom, dad, 2 girls ages 8 and 11, 15 yr old nephew, and 72 yr old grandma) had a blast! Our guide, Richard, was so informative, helpful, and funny. We did the 5 mile experience, but plan to return to do the 9 mile trip. When our youngest kiddo is old enough, we will add ziplining too...I completely trust this organization and know they will keep us safe and happy. I recommend French Broad Rafting to anyone...new or experienced...looking for a great white water trip in Asheville!

1  Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBRE, Owner at French Broad Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. Next time you come back feel free to request Richard for your 9 Mile trip. We can't wait to show your family the zipline canopy tour, it is amazing. See your next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was the first time we took our girls (12 and 10) white water rafting and we all had fun. We did the 5-mile trip w/ snack. Sean was the trip lead and kept everyone laughing on the bus rides. Meg was our guide and kept us all from falling out of the raft! Due to recent rain the river was high and fast, so the only downside was we were only on the water for about an hour and a half when the trip can take over two hours under normal circumstances. We enjoyed the thrills of the level 2 and 3 rapids and wish we had more time on the water. We love the pictures FBR took and have already shown them off to family and friends. The falafel at the food truck afterward was excellent. We highly recommend French Broad Rafting and Ziplines.

Thank JeremyATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBRE, Owner at French Broad Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thanks for the review. So glad you enjoyed the hot lunch on the river. Feel free to share your pictures here on tripadvisor or on our facebook page. See you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed French Broad Adventures also viewed

Marshall, North Carolina Mountains
 
Marshall, North Carolina Mountains
Marshall, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to French Broad Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing