We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing Hideaway”
other travelers have booked this property
Patio view with Ofuru Japanese cedar soaking tub
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Patio view with Ofuru Japanese cedar soaking tub
Bathroom snapshot with copper countertops Living Room with futon couch
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Patio view with Ofuru Japanese cedar soaking tub
Bathroom snapshot with copper countertops
Living Room with futon couch
Kitchen snapshot with copper countertops, hickory cabinets and handmade pottery dishes
Kitchen snapshot with handmade pottery face mugs, copper countertops, cheese and wine
Living room with view of the patio through the sliding glass door
Meadow Branch Cottage snapshot of loft bedroom, living room and kitchen
View of East Fork Farm sheep grazing and mountain background
Kitchen snapshot with Viking cook stove, copper countertops and microwave
View of East Fork Farm from hot tub
Cottage bedroom with queen size bed and high quality sheets / blankets
The gristmill
Sassafras trees on the farm hillside
Sheep grazing
Sheep grazing
Rabbits eating a treat
Laying hen perusing for bugs
Lamb playing in the pasture
Sheep grazing
Buddy our miniature sicilian donkey
Turkeys grazing in the pasture
Gathering eggs
Sam our friendly guardian great pyrenees
Pasture view
The gristmill
Snowy picture of the farm
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Marshall, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
nellajoy
Augusta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing Hideaway”
Reviewed April 9, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This cabin is our new getaway! Immaculate, fully loaded cabin overlooking a quint farm with every amenity you need: gas fireplace, grill & stove, hot tub, new king bed nestled in the loft, electronics, wifi, and home grown touches of local honey & coffee, farm fresh eggs and even jelly already in the kitchen. Lamb & chicken available from the farm. Close to the Blue Ridge pkwy & Asheville. Hike, antique and view the scenic hwy, then soak in the hot tub. Or just hang out and help at the farm. Sleep to the rustling brook outside your window. Very affordable!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morganton NC
Reviewed February 9, 2012 for a stay in February 2012
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nashville TN
Reviewed February 3, 2012 for a stay in January 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Asheville
Reviewed January 31, 2012 for a stay in January 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Crossville
Reviewed January 18, 2012 for a stay in December 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Evansthec...
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“I really shouldn't tell you about this-we want it to be our little secret”
Reviewed September 24, 2011 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Take a very close look at the pictures that are with the listing. That is EXACTLY what you are renting. Gorgeous, comfortable, beautiful. Although the farm is easy to find it is WAY off the beaten path (the neighbor's pet goats can regularly be found standing in the middle of the road) so you are assured of a quiet, peaceful stay. You arrive at the farm and the barns and holding pens are right there, so folks, if you don't like a farm smell and don't really want to think about where your food comes from, this isn't the place for you. The cottage itself is up a steep gravel road, but the parking area is actually poured cement. We visited in the immediate aftermath of Hurricanes Irene and Lee and the owner was aftraid there wouldn't be a road left for us to use, but it wasn't too bad and it was clear that he did some grading while we were out sight seeing one day.
The cabin foundation is cement and the first floor is cement that has designs cut in and is painted, You enter through the more than adequate galley kitchen (cook top, full refrig, convection oven, microwave, washer/dryer) and into the living/tv area-satellite TV. A radio/CD player is also provided. The living area opens up on to one of the prettiest views you will ever see. Gorgeous NC mountains with hanging mist and clouds, green pastures and content sheep grazing. Sliding doors invite you out to the patio where the cedar soaking tub is ready and waiting. We had never used a spa without jets, and we loved it! I don't know how many hours we spent out there gazing at scenery. It was perfect in the surroundings. The cottage is decorated in earth tones and local pottery is used liberally throughout, including the dining area. The counter top in the kitchen and bathroom are copper. The shower is a little small, but the on demand water heater is a charm. Towels are large and there is a more than generous number of them. The bar soap is made locally by an herbalist. The sleeping area is in a loft with fairly steep stairs, but the climb is solid and safe. The floor up there is wood. The loft railing is reinforced with decorative steel bars. There is a TV in the loft as well. Our only complaint was with the bed. It squeeks. And not just during "private time". Even shifting weight slightly while sleeping causes a loud enough squeek to wake you up. We found that odd when everything else is so geared to peace and quiet.
WiFi should have been available, but I couldn't get it to work. One of the teenage daughters told us it rarely does. I was fine with that.
One last message to potential renters-This is a working farm. The family is just wonderful. Their little girls are a delight. But there are very large, very friendly, very dirty dogs about. There are chickens for eggs (that are delicious) and chickens and ducks for eating that they dispatch on site and prepare for market. If you don't want to watch, don't go down there. The farm's specialty is lamb and I'm glad I wasn't around for lamb prep day. I am far from squeemish (my job is dealing with human body fluids and tissue) but I was a little unprepared for standing in a puddle of chicken blood while talking with our amiable hosts while large white dogs were rubbing up against my black pants (my bad).
Having said all that, I would stay there again in a heartbeat (a human one).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A quiet, couple only retreat
Liked least: Only the bed
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
painternc
Asheville, NC
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful cottage nestled in the woods”
Reviewed September 18, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

We were burned out from work, moving, etc and found this wonderful cottage at TA. The best for us that it was only a 40 minute drive from where we live in Asheville, NC. Just what we needed, peaceful, woods, very clean - the photos do not oversell and are very accurate. It was tastefully deorated and we enjoyed every minute.
If you want a combination of tranquil setting plus the excitedment of Asheville, NC - this is perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cozy, nicely furnished intimate cottage
Liked least: liked it all
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing