We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great organization and fun experience”

Blue Heron Whitewater
Ranked #2 of 16 things to do in Marshall
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Closest whitewater rafting outfitter to Asheville, NC. Blue Heron Whitewater offers a variety of trips on the French Broad River. Choose the trip that fits your group and schedule. Half Day Trips enjoy 5 miles, with class II-III rapids. Full Day Trips add 3 more miles, a delicious deli-style lunch served riverside, and a class IV rapid. Minimum age for whitewater trips is 8. Float Trips are offered for families with kids as young as 4 and for those looking for a scenic float trip through the beautiful Southern Appalachian Mountains. On the river you are no longer a spectator!Come visit our new solar-powered outpost with hot showers, free wet suit use in cool weather and the most experienced guides on the river.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage
Reviewed October 5, 2017

First, we were thrilled that Blue Heron offered trips on a day when the other outfits were closed. So, major kudos on that! It's obviously a well-run organization -- they're on-time, safety is important, communication is great, etc. I also appreciated how they offer last-minute necessities for a low price (e.g. shoes, straps for sunglasses, etc.). Ultimately, the quality of a whitewater trip hinges mostly on the people. Laura was a fantastic overall leader -- great instruction, fun storytelling, etc. The only reason I held back a 5-star was our actual boat guide. He met expectations -- he paddled well, he kept us safe, etc. He just didn't "wow" like the reviews indicate for the other guides, including Laura. He lacked energy, enthusiasm, and great storytelling. I researched the companies pretty well, and I think that we just fell into one of the exceptions. Blue Heron is a great company.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank JasonTarheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueHeronWhitewater, Owner at Blue Heron Whitewater, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2017

Hi and thanks for your feedback. Glad you had a good trip overall, and sorry you were somewhat disappointed with the guide in your raft. We feel like sharing the history of the area, the plants, the animals, the geology, the ideas and theories behind understanding moving water, and more, are all part of the whitewater rafting experience with Blue Heron. Sharing our knowledge and experience about these subjects is something we enjoy and is emphasized when hiring and training new guides.
We will certainly use your comments as a reminder to everybody at Blue Heron that enthusiasm and sharing what we know of local of local history and our river experience is important to our guests,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"half day trip"
in 31 reviews
"the french broad river"
in 37 reviews
"rafting trip"
in 28 reviews
"white water rafting"
in 18 reviews
"great trip"
in 16 reviews
"oreos"
in 4 reviews
"water shoes"
in 9 reviews
"changing rooms and showers"
in 3 reviews
"felt completely safe"
in 4 reviews
"class rapids"
in 7 reviews
"family reunion"
in 5 reviews
"great guide"
in 10 reviews
"small cliff"
in 3 reviews
"great pictures"
in 6 reviews
"hummus"
in 4 reviews
"wet clothes"
in 4 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 12 reviews
Filter

31 - 35 of 269 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2017 via mobile

Today my husband and I did a half day whitewater trip with Jordan who proved to be a top notch guide. It was my 1st time and even though I was a little apprehensive, Jordan's expertise made me feel comfortable! I would highly recommend Blue Heron Whitewater! I may even try the full day next.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueHeronWhitewater, Owner at Blue Heron Whitewater, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2017

Great! Glad you had a good trip. The full day trip is even better. The more time on the river the better if you ask us. Thanks again for rafting with us and I'll pass your comments along to Jordan. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2017

6 women ages 64 and 65 rafted with Alexis on 28AUG2017. She was superb! We laughed, we paddled, and we had a grand time! We were all first time river rafters and Alexis (and the entire staff) did a great job. Would highly recommend! Thanks!

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank mbonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2017

We had a group of 13 enjoy rafting and kayaking on the French Broad.  All loved it!  Four did the calm run which was very scenic and peaceful.  Our guide (so sorry, can't remember her name) was friendly and very knowledgeable about the area and history of the river.  Three did the inflatable kayaks and the others did the white water run.  It was a little calm for some of the more adventurous folks but all had a great time.  They stopped at a place where they could jump off a cliff into the river. The office staff and guides were friendly.  The facilities were clean and even had a nice gift shop.  Had an option to purchase pics at the end.  The only minor hitch was they were a little unorganized getting everyone signed in, so arrive early.  Overall, I highly recommend Blue Heron!

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank CRK60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2017

They went out of their way to add the six of us to their schedule and gave us a private guide and raft on the French Broad River. Fritz let us use, free of charge, a waterproof digital camera. When we returned she downloaded all the photos onto a DVD for us, ALL FREE OF CHARGE! The views were beautiful, Fritz did most of the paddling, although we all did a bit. We got to stop halfway down for snacks and water. All in all it was a truly wonderful experience.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank 783kimr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueHeronWhitewater, Owner at Blue Heron Whitewater, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2017

Thanks for writing a review and we're glad you had a good trip. The calm water stretch we do has some great and beautiful views. Hope you can join us again some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Heron Whitewater also viewed

Marshall, North Carolina Mountains
 
Marshall, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Blue Heron Whitewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing