We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Great Experience!

In search of a safe place to have some sort of vacation, our son-in-law found Blue Heron. Not only... read more

Reviewed June 24, 2020
O2740GSdeniseb
,
Bozeman, Montana
via mobile
Loved it!

We had a great time rafting with Blue Heron! Our guide Doug was very nice, funny and knowledgeable... read more

Reviewed October 2, 2019
Kylie K
Read all 292 reviews
  
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveler rating
276
13
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
276
13
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews half day trip the french broad river white water rafting great trip showers and changing rooms first timers lead guide hummus float trip knowledgeable guides inflatable kayaks level rapids rafting company awesome adventure local history highlight of our trip beautiful scenery
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 292 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2017 via mobile

Today my husband and I did a half day whitewater trip with Jordan who proved to be a top notch guide. It was my 1st time and even though I was a little apprehensive, Jordan's expertise made me feel comfortable! I would highly recommend Blue Heron Whitewater! I may even try the full day next.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueHeronWhitewater, Owner at Blue Heron Whitewater, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2017

Great! Glad you had a good trip. The full day trip is even better. The more time on the river the better if you ask us. Thanks again for rafting with us and I'll pass your comments along to Jordan. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2017

6 women ages 64 and 65 rafted with Alexis on 28AUG2017. She was superb! We laughed, we paddled, and we had a grand time! We were all first time river rafters and Alexis (and the entire staff) did a great job. Would highly recommend! Thanks!

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank mbonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2017

We had a group of 13 enjoy rafting and kayaking on the French Broad.  All loved it!  Four did the calm run which was very scenic and peaceful.  Our guide (so sorry, can't remember her name) was friendly and very knowledgeable about the area and history of the river.  Three did the inflatable kayaks and the others did the white water run.  It was a little calm for some of the more adventurous folks but all had a great time.  They stopped at a place where they could jump off a cliff into the river. The office staff and guides were friendly.  The facilities were clean and even had a nice gift shop.  Had an option to purchase pics at the end.  The only minor hitch was they were a little unorganized getting everyone signed in, so arrive early.  Overall, I highly recommend Blue Heron!

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank CRK60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2017

They went out of their way to add the six of us to their schedule and gave us a private guide and raft on the French Broad River. Fritz let us use, free of charge, a waterproof digital camera. When we returned she downloaded all the photos onto a DVD for us, ALL FREE OF CHARGE! The views were beautiful, Fritz did most of the paddling, although we all did a bit. We got to stop halfway down for snacks and water. All in all it was a truly wonderful experience.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank 783kimr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueHeronWhitewater, Owner at Blue Heron Whitewater, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2017

Thanks for writing a review and we're glad you had a good trip. The calm water stretch we do has some great and beautiful views. Hope you can join us again some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2017 via mobile

Great experience riding a raft on a fun river. Blue Her on staff was fun, playful, knew their stuff and went out of their way to make this an enjoyable and entertaining experience. Will do this one again.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Phillip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueHeronWhitewater, Owner at Blue Heron Whitewater, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2017

Great! Glad you had a good time on the river. Hope to see you again soon. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews