We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Great fun on the water

We had a wonderful time white water rafting. Wags made sure everyone was safe. Good social... read more

Reviewed August 17, 2020
662hendrikar
via mobile
Safe and Fun

We took our granddaughters on an all day raft trip and couldn't be more pleased! Our guide, Val... read more

Reviewed August 13, 2020
Debbie P
,
Vero Beach, Florida
Read all 295 reviews
  
Reviews (295)
Filter reviews
295 results
Traveler rating
279
13
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
279
13
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews half day trip the french broad river white water rafting great trip showers and changing rooms first timers lead guide hummus float trip knowledgeable guides inflatable kayaks level rapids rafting company awesome adventure fun experience local history highlight of our trip
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 295 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2017

We had a group of 13 enjoy rafting and kayaking on the French Broad.  All loved it!  Four did the calm run which was very scenic and peaceful.  Our guide (so sorry, can't remember her name) was friendly and very knowledgeable about the area and history of the river.  Three did the inflatable kayaks and the others did the white water run.  It was a little calm for some of the more adventurous folks but all had a great time.  They stopped at a place where they could jump off a cliff into the river. The office staff and guides were friendly.  The facilities were clean and even had a nice gift shop.  Had an option to purchase pics at the end.  The only minor hitch was they were a little unorganized getting everyone signed in, so arrive early.  Overall, I highly recommend Blue Heron!

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank CRK60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2017

They went out of their way to add the six of us to their schedule and gave us a private guide and raft on the French Broad River. Fritz let us use, free of charge, a waterproof digital camera. When we returned she downloaded all the photos onto a DVD for us, ALL FREE OF CHARGE! The views were beautiful, Fritz did most of the paddling, although we all did a bit. We got to stop halfway down for snacks and water. All in all it was a truly wonderful experience.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank 783kimr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueHeronWhitewater, Owner at Blue Heron Whitewater, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2017

Thanks for writing a review and we're glad you had a good trip. The calm water stretch we do has some great and beautiful views. Hope you can join us again some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2017 via mobile

Great experience riding a raft on a fun river. Blue Her on staff was fun, playful, knew their stuff and went out of their way to make this an enjoyable and entertaining experience. Will do this one again.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Phillip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueHeronWhitewater, Owner at Blue Heron Whitewater, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2017

Great! Glad you had a good time on the river. Hope to see you again soon. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2017

We found this to be a fantastic place for rafting on the French Broad. Our guide Sam was a lot of fun and was very knowledgeable. The facility was very clean, the staff very professional.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Clark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueHeronWhitewater, Owner at Blue Heron Whitewater, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2017

Thanks for rafting with us. We really appreciate it. I will pass your comment on to Sam. It will make his day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2017 via mobile

Awesome. Professional company. Great guide, Jordan. Quality apparel. Warm water, full day. Perfect for families, young or old.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank dougl706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueHeronWhitewater, Owner at Blue Heron Whitewater, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2017

Thanks for your comments. The warm water is a big plus for sure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews