We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great first time! ”

Blue Heron Whitewater
Ranked #2 of 16 things to do in Marshall
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Closest whitewater rafting outfitter to Asheville, NC. Blue Heron Whitewater offers a variety of trips on the French Broad River. Choose the trip that fits your group and schedule. Half Day Trips enjoy 5 miles, with class II-III rapids. Full Day Trips add 3 more miles, a delicious deli-style lunch served riverside, and a class IV rapid. Minimum age for whitewater trips is 8. Float Trips are offered for families with kids as young as 4 and for those looking for a scenic float trip through the beautiful Southern Appalachian Mountains. On the river you are no longer a spectator!Come visit our new solar-powered outpost with hot showers, free wet suit use in cool weather and the most experienced guides on the river.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Reviewed May 26, 2017 via mobile

The people at Blue Heron are so personable and friendly. This was my first time rafting and they made me feel comfortable before even getting on the bus to travel to the river! My husband and I did a half day down the French Broad and Matt was our guide! He was awesome! Along the journey down the river, he told us history about the river and Asheville. He was good at instructing and making us feel like "experts." We were able to swim through a rapid and jump from a big rock on the trip! I had so much fun! About 30 minutes before our landing point, we stopped for a delicious lunch that included local food from Asheville. Thanks guys for an awesome experience, I hope to be back!!!!

Thank abeam_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueHeronWhitewater, Owner at Blue Heron Whitewater, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2017

Glad you had a good trip and I'll pass your comments along to Matt. Thanks for rafting with us and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"half day trip"
in 31 reviews
"the french broad river"
in 32 reviews
"rafting trip"
in 27 reviews
"great trip"
in 14 reviews
"white water rafting"
in 14 reviews
"water shoes"
in 8 reviews
"safety briefing"
in 5 reviews
"showers and changing rooms"
in 3 reviews
"class rapids"
in 7 reviews
"great pictures"
in 6 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 12 reviews
"great guide"
in 9 reviews
"wet clothes"
in 4 reviews
"small cliff"
in 3 reviews
"knowledgeable guides"
in 3 reviews
"awesome experience"
in 7 reviews
"the entire staff"
in 4 reviews
Filter

43 - 47 of 248 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2017 via mobile

We had the pleasure of experiencing the French Broad River as part of a team building event. The weather was great and both of our guides were knowledgeable and friendly. This is a very professional operation and they take safety very seriously, while still making the day a ton of fun. The river itself is beautiful and the rapids were fun and exciting.

Thank tm_rome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueHeronWhitewater, Owner at Blue Heron Whitewater, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2017

Glad you had a good trip and hope your team building went well. Thanks for your review and hope to see you on the river again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2017 via mobile

Thank you Josh & Alexis for such a great experience. Absolutely loved it.
Riding the rapids then a great lunch followed by more Rapids.
Can shower after & warm up with a hot drink.
Will definitely recommend this

Thank Julessheldrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueHeronWhitewater, Owner at Blue Heron Whitewater, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2017

Glad you had a good trip. I'll pass this along to Josh and Alexis. Hope to see you again and thanks for the recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2017

We had a group of 8 that did the full day trip in early April. We were concerned with the temperature and being adquately prepared. From the moment we set foot at Blue Heron's awesome facility our concerns were put to rest. Sandy greeted us and explained what our prep would be like, then the guides outfitted us with everything we would need to stay warm on the river. From shoes, to hats, to wetsuits, everyone in our group felt more than prepared for a chilly day out. The safety briefing was concise and informative and the ride to the put in was hilarious. On the river the experience of the Blue Heron crew really shined. They offered education about the geology and history of the area as well as how to read the river. When we got off the river they had photos ready for us and the entire process was seamless. The attention to detail and knowledge sets this group apart. Every one of their staff members had an infectious passion for what they do and it showed through their commitment to an outstanding experience for their patrons. I would highly recommend Blue Heron and plan to return for another trip soon.

Thank kfsutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueHeronWhitewater, Owner at Blue Heron Whitewater, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2017

Thanks! We appreciate the review a lot, but we appreciate you going down the river with us even more. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2016

This was such fun! Sandy, our guide, was experienced, knowledgeable and entertaining and the French Broad river was beautiful!
I would definitely recommend this excursion.

Thank Ktstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueHeronWhitewater, Owner at Blue Heron Whitewater, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2016

Glad you had a good time. Sandy really knows her stuff. Thanks for rafting with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Heron Whitewater also viewed

Marshall, North Carolina Mountains
Marshall, North Carolina Mountains
 
Marshall, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Blue Heron Whitewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;