We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our visit actually improved the rest of our trip!”

Blue Heron Whitewater
Ranked #2 of 16 things to do in Marshall
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Closest whitewater rafting outfitter to Asheville, NC. Blue Heron Whitewater offers a variety of trips on the French Broad River. Choose the trip that fits your group and schedule. Half Day Trips enjoy 5 miles, with class II-III rapids. Full Day Trips add 3 more miles, a delicious deli-style lunch served riverside, and a class IV rapid. Minimum age for whitewater trips is 8. Float Trips are offered for families with kids as young as 4 and for those looking for a scenic float trip through the beautiful Southern Appalachian Mountains. On the river you are no longer a spectator!Come visit our new solar-powered outpost with hot showers, free wet suit use in cool weather and the most experienced guides on the river.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage
Reviewed May 7, 2015

My fiance and I were planning a trip to Asheville and I was in charge of finding some awesome things for us to do. We were both interested in whitewater rafting and after some extensive research browsing many different company's websites, we chose to go with Blue Heron Whitewater on a full day (8 mile) trip. Best choice ever! It looked like we were going to run into rain and the forecast said low 60's for the day. Thankfully, Blue Heron lent us some wet suits and splash jackets (they provide these for free-- not everyone does!) to keep us comfortable for the entire day. The coldest part of the day was taking them off at the end of the trip!

The trip itself was awesome-- the rapids were very fun and the view was gorgeous! My fiance and I actually got to go out by ourselves with our guide, Drew, and our guide-in-training, Dan. Drew was very knowledgeable and told us a lot about the history of the river. He kept us laughing the entire way and kept us busy (and wet!) going through the rapids. We didn't have a lot of specifics planned for the rest of our Asheville trip, so Drew and Dan recommended some AWESOME restaurants as well as hikes. We parked where they told us to park downtown, ate where they told us to eat, and even hiked on specific trails they suggested the next day. We ended with a trip to Hot Springs as per their recommendation as well. My fiance and I felt that they not only gave us a GREAT day on the river, but helped make the rest of our trip fantastic!! In the end we left Blue Heron Whitewater (and Asheville) with huge smiles on our faces. Thank you!!

1  Thank Brittany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueHeronWhitewater, Owner at Blue Heron Whitewater, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2015

Hi and thanks for rafting with us. And thanks for writing a review. We really appreciate it. Glad to hear you had a good time on the river and that Drew and Dan were able to give you some good recommendations for the rest of you time in Asheville and Western North Carolina. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"half day trip"
in 30 reviews
"the french broad river"
in 36 reviews
"rafting trip"
in 28 reviews
"white water rafting"
in 16 reviews
"great trip"
in 14 reviews
"oreos"
in 4 reviews
"safety briefing"
in 5 reviews
"felt completely safe"
in 4 reviews
"class rapids"
in 7 reviews
"water shoes"
in 7 reviews
"showers and changing rooms"
in 3 reviews
"great guide"
in 9 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 12 reviews
"great pictures"
in 6 reviews
"wet clothes"
in 4 reviews
"hummus"
in 4 reviews
"family reunion"
in 4 reviews
Filter

132 - 136 of 265 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2015

If you're interested in rafting the French Broad, call Sandy at Blue Heron. She is very friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating. A full-day trip cost $68 and included several hours on the river in class II to IV rapids, a stop for lunch, a professional and informative guide (thank you Drew) and plenty of borrowed wet suit gear to insure our comfort (temp was 51). Lots of fun, splashes, smiles and great memories.

Thank Dayna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueHeronWhitewater, Owner at Blue Heron Whitewater, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2015

Hi and thanks for rafting with us! Glad you had fun on the river with Drew. He's very entertaining (and a new dad). The full day trip is a great way to spend time on the river and in these old mountains. We also offer half-day rides if you find yourself with less time available for rafting. Thanks again for writing a review. We really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2015 via mobile

Our family of four just spent a morning half-day trip on the river and had an amazing time. Our kids (11 and 9 yrs old) got really wet going in the front of the raft -which they loved- and got really good at paddling and helping with the maneuvering of the raft. The weather was overcast and about 55 degrees, but Sandy at Blue Heron outfitted us with wet suits and water proof jackets, so we didn't mind the cool weather/water. It was a beautiful ride, made even better by Sandy's knowledge about the area flora and fauna.

Thank Monica E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueHeronWhitewater, Owner at Blue Heron Whitewater, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2015

We love it when kids have a great / wet time on the river. We want their experience to be as positive as possible. Actually, we want everyone's experience to be as positive as possible. That's why we have tons of cool weather gear to loan out (at no extra charge). Being warm makes all the difference. Now it's getting to the point where getting cool is the goal. Fortunately there's a cool river only an arm's length away.
Thanks for rafting with us. Come again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2015

My son and I went rafting on March 26th, 2015. We called a day before to schedule and they fit us in. They are very safety conscious and did a really good job of explaining the dos and don't as well as rafting techniques. The rapids were a lot of fun. The cost was around $45, but they also provided all of the gear for free which was a real plus since the day was pretty overcast and a little cool.

Thank nalawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueHeronWhitewater, Owner at Blue Heron Whitewater, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2015

Thanks for rafting with us. We really appreciate it. And thanks for writing a review. We appreciate you taking the time out of your day to do that. Yes, it's nice to have those extra layers on a cool morning. It can really make a difference. Hope to see you on the river with us again soon. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2015 via mobile

This place was very professional and so much fun! The guides really know the river and the area. They let you borrow all the gear you need for free. This is the BEST choice for whitewater rafting in the Asheville area.

Thank TressaJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueHeronWhitewater, Owner at Blue Heron Whitewater, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2015

Hi Tressa and thanks for the review. We really appreciate you taking the time to write. And thanks to you and the gang for spending some of your spring break rafting with us. Hope you have a great year. Come visit in the summer. We'd love to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Heron Whitewater also viewed

Marshall, North Carolina Mountains
Marshall, North Carolina Mountains
 
Marshall, North Carolina Mountains
Marshall, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Blue Heron Whitewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing