We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They are the best”

Blue Heron Whitewater
Ranked #3 of 12 things to do in Marshall
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Closest whitewater rafting outfitter to Asheville, NC. Blue Heron Whitewater offers a variety of trips on the French Broad River. Choose the trip that fits your group and schedule. Half Day Trips enjoy 5 miles, with class II-III rapids. Full Day Trips add 3 more miles, a delicious deli-style lunch served riverside, and a class IV rapid. Minimum age for whitewater trips is 8. Float Trips are offered for families with kids as young as 4 and for those looking for a scenic float trip through the beautiful Southern Appalachian Mountains. On the river you are no longer a spectator!Come visit our new solar-powered outpost with hot showers, free wet suit use in cool weather and the most experienced guides on the river.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“They are the best”
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

I have rafted all over the US and this is one of the best outfitters I have experienced. They are all about customer service. When visiting the Asheville area this is an excellent way to spend quality family time.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank HowardMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueHeronWhitewater, Owner at Blue Heron Whitewater, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thanks for rafting with us and thanks very much for your comments and review. The many, many years we've been leading river trips have only continued to reinforce our philosophy that even though a nice and clean building is important, and good guides are important, and a good fresh lunch is important, and even though these things are all part of the whole, the core focus from phone call to photo show must be the guest experience.
Thanks again and hope to see you on the river.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    10
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great time on French Broad”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Our Y-Guides tribe took a trip down the French Broad river with Blue Heron and had a great time. Our guide, "Wild Man Jack," got us safely through the rapids while having a fun time. The river-side lunch of grilled burgers and hot dogs was perfect. Upon return to the rafting company, we took hot showers, then they lead us through a humorous photo show of our group. All in all, a great time!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank trusted-advice-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueHeronWhitewater, Owner at Blue Heron Whitewater, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Glad to hear you had a good time on the river. We look forward to the Y-Guides trips all year. The trips are always great fun with lots of positive energy and laughter. It's great fun to see the photos after the trip too, as there are always some interesting facial expressions caught on film.
Thanks again, we really appreciate your comments and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
“Blue Heron does a great job with beginners”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

On Friday, I took my 9 year old daughter on a trip with the local YMCA-Guides with Blue Heron on the French Broad. I have some experience on the New and Gauley as well as canoeing on the Chatooga with Outward Bound and NOC. I think Class VI in West Virginia and NOC do a great job at all levels, and I have really enjoyed every experience on a river. Blue Heron is their equal, and this was a first class trip all the way.

Eric, our lead guide, made sure to make the ride fun for all of us, even those who have been on bigger water, and was really excellent at making the three children in the raft feel like part of the team.

It's a fun trip, and well worth the money. Thanks, Blue Heron.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueHeronWhitewater, Owner at Blue Heron Whitewater, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
We love the Y-Guides trips. Such great fun and positive energy. Glad you had a good time on the river. The fact that folks of different experience levels all have a fun time together is one of the many things we like about rafting on the French Broad River.
Thanks for rafting with us and thanks for your comments. I will pass them on to Eric. He has been guiding and trip leading a long time and does a great job of relating to a wide range of folks with different experience levels.
Thanks again and hope to see you on the river with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rafting the French Broad”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Great trip with good company. Owners and guides very serious about what they do and making sure everyone is safe and having fun. Good prices on everything, even pics at end of day. Felt like we were all a bunch of friends at end of day. Sandy, one of the owners was on our trip, and she rocked it. Great fun had by everyone. They are Eco friendly as well.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kbluster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueHeronWhitewater, Owner at Blue Heron Whitewater, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Glad to hear you had a good trip and thanks for writing a review. Sandy and the other two owners (including me) have been rafting on the French Broad for 20 - 30+ years. This is our career and we do take it seriously. We realize that there are a multitude of reasons folks want to go down the river including rapids, scenery, history, group and family time, and all the above. We also realize that intertwined with all these reasons, enhancing them, is the fun factor. Fun is very important. It is the spice. On the other side of the scale is safety. It's hard to have fun if you don't feel secure. We go to great lengths to inform folks honestly about what to expect. And being a little nervous is normal and healthy. Balance is the key for a great day on the river.
Thanks again for rafting with us and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great rafting experience!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I have been whitewater rafting in other areas of the US but had never been to NC. We were visiting and staying with friends in Asheville. I looked online at the rafting outfits in the area and read each of their websites. Since we had one person in the group that had never been rafting I wanted to find a company that would cater to all levels and promote not just the fun but the safety. I really like Blue Heron's website and decided to book with them. I can only say that it was a super experience. We all had a wonderful time and all the guides were delightful and our photographer was excellent. I have to say that Nate was a riot but made sure everyone understood what to do (safety) if they were forced to swim. Our guide, Nadine rocked! She took wonderful care of us and became part of our group immediately. I would suggest a full day trip if the river allows. Thank you Blue Heron Whitewater for a great day on the river!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank WeezieDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueHeronWhitewater, Owner at Blue Heron Whitewater, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We're very glad you chose to go rafting with us and that you had a good and memorable day on the river. It is very important to us, as I'm sure it is for all of our guests, to find the balance of fun and safety. And over the years (decades actually) that we've been leading rafting trips we have found that there are really only a few hard and fast rules, and we base some decisions on the make-up of the group and the kind of trip they want. We like to stay flexible and somewhat fluid.
And what great people and guides Nate and Nadine are. Super competent and keenly aware of their guests needs and desires. It is always, always a great time when those two are on the river.
Thanks again for rafting with us, and for your comments. We really appreciate it. And I'll be sure to pass you comments along to Nadine and Nate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Heron Whitewater also viewed

Marshall, North Carolina Mountains
 
Hot Springs, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Blue Heron Whitewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing