We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing whitewater rafting trip-- good for families and beginners”

Blue Heron Whitewater
Ranked #3 of 14 things to do in Marshall
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Closest whitewater rafting outfitter to Asheville, NC. Blue Heron Whitewater offers a variety of trips on the French Broad River. Choose the trip that fits your group and schedule. Half Day Trips enjoy 5 miles, with class II-III rapids. Full Day Trips add 3 more miles, a delicious deli-style lunch served riverside, and a class IV rapid. Minimum age for whitewater trips is 8. Float Trips are offered for families with kids as young as 4 and for those looking for a scenic float trip through the beautiful Southern Appalachian Mountains. On the river you are no longer a spectator!Come visit our new solar-powered outpost with hot showers, free wet suit use in cool weather and the most experienced guides on the river.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Did the full day trip in mid-July. Mostly class II-III rapids. In the afternoon, there was one class IV rapid. They let us jump out and swim at slow spots. The entire trip was tame and relaxing. I'd totally feel safe bringing young children or reasonably fit grandparents. On the downside, the French Broad is not a challenging river if you've rafted before. Blue Heron is an organized company with good safety instruction, nice changing rooms, hot showers, clean bathrooms, and quality equipment. Philip, our guide, was very informative and helpful. If you're going to raft the French Broad River, then Blue Heron is the safest and most organized company to go with. If you're looking for an adrenaline rush and a challenge, then you should look for another river....

1  Thank krawner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueHeronWhitewater, Owner at Blue Heron Whitewater, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2011

Hi and thanks for writing a review. And for rafting with us. We really appreciate your time and comments and I will pass your comments along to Philip. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 234 of 241 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2011

Blue Heron rafting is a wonderful experience. Their guides are very knowledgeable about the history of the area and do whatever they can to make your experience enjoyable. Our guide was Sean. He made our trip so much fun. Thrill after thrill Sean made sure that we were safe, but also make sure that we had a GOOD time! We stopped and had lunch and there is a photographer to take you pictures during the whole trip.

Thank pennypoo70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueHeronWhitewater, Owner at Blue Heron Whitewater, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2011

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. And thanks again for rafting with us. I will be share your comments with Sean. He will be delighted to know you had a good time and that he did a good job. We really appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We just returned from a fun, half-day rafting trip on the French Broad River with Blue Heron Whitewater, and we had a Ball! Being Senior Citizens, we were concerned about the conditions and being lost in a younger crowd. But, from the minute we arrived, we were in friendly, caring, and professional hands. At no time did we feel unsafe during our trip. We had lunch on the river which was fun; and having great, action photos that we could buy was an added bonus! They provided a nylon windbreaker, and all of the equipment, including the PFD, was in excellent shape. One of the guides was EMS trained....but no one needed his help....not even us "older folks"! Check their website on what to bring...but most of all, bring a sense of humor and a smile! We're going back....to do the all day trip!!

1  Thank Judiee45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueHeronWhitewater, Owner at Blue Heron Whitewater, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2011

Thanks for taking the time to write a review and thanks for rafting with us. Folks like you is why we love rafting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Having just had a knee replaced three months earlier, I didn't want to tackle more than I was ready for. After a great deal of research, I decided upon Blue Heron which is on a section of the French Board River with mostly Class II and III rapids. I could not be happier with the whole experience. The price is reasonable, the people are very nice and helpful (prior to the trip I called), the rafts carry a max of six visitors (most had only four or five) and every raft has a guide in it. No one fell out and everyone seemed happy and having a great time. Oh -- it's only about 30 minutes from north Asheville.

Thank radavis777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueHeronWhitewater, Owner at Blue Heron Whitewater, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2011

Thanks so much for rafting with us. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

I highly recommend rafting and kayaking the French Broad as an activity in the Asheville area. It is not a difficult trip but also not quite a float trip. If you have real adrenaline junkies in your group, it may be better to have them do something unguided, but for those with not too much experience, it is an excellent trip. The company is very professional, but flexible in working with big groups.

Thank lthoma01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueHeronWhitewater, Owner at Blue Heron Whitewater, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2011

Thanks for rafting with us, we really appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Heron Whitewater also viewed

Marshall, North Carolina Mountains
Marshall, North Carolina Mountains
 
Marshall, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Blue Heron Whitewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing