We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Mountain Retreat”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mars Hill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Scenic Wolf Mountain Cabins
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mars Hill
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Rented a cabin called "All Decked Up" for a long 4th of July weekend. Wow! Staff treated us like we were at 5-star Ritz Carlton. Cabin slept 8 and was truly all decked out. Anyone renting this place should be in heaven. Only wish... A hammock and dining table on the lowest of three balconies!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
There are newer reviews for Scenic Wolf Mountain Cabins
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 41 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2014

Family weekend getaway. Amazing place with a beautiful view! We got the three story cabin which was amazing. So clean and great decor and rooms. Two balconies with great view of the mountains. It was so peaceful and relaxing.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Adabelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed in the "Mountain Time" cabin. I believe that these are owned by individuals, not the resort and rented out- we used Carolina Mornings to book ours.
WOW! My hours of research payed off! I looked at several cabins and we finally decided to stay in "Mountain Time". We made the right decision...The owners have set this up PERFECTLY!
The beds were comfortable, all of them! The couches and chairs are comfortable! The cabin was clean-I'm a clean freak and usually have to dust vacation homes, not this one! Our cabin was well stocked with all of the kitchen supplies I needed to entertain our family and guests-platters, serving dishes etc.
The views were incredible! Everything worked (tv's, hot tub, dvd player, radio, fireplaces etc)
The main floor consists of a half bath, kitchen, master w/ensuite,dining room, living room w/fireplace and beautiful deck with 3 exits to the deck.This level of the deck had a gas grill, picnic table and 2 rockers and THE VIEW! The top level houses the 2 twin bedrooms with the shared bath. The lower level of Mountain Time is the game room, with a Queen bedroom, full bath, pool table, foozball table, fireplace and laundry room, deck w/ hottub and swing. The cabin is decorated with inspirational quotes and sweet decor.
It takes about 15 minutes to get from the cabin to the bottom of the mountain, and from there another 15 min or so to nearest town...Mars Hill, where Ingles grocery store is (exit 11). We were about 45 minutes from Asheville, but after driving 13 hrs to get there (from Florida), that didn't seem too bad.
Depending on what time of year you go, booking through Carolina Mornings, includes some freebies- Biltmore pass, ski pass,zip line pass...a bonus.
Although this ski lodge was closed for the season (and burned to the ground 2 days after we departed), the Asheville visitors center informed us of "Cataloochee" ski resort in Maggie Valley-an hour or so away.
We recommend Jackson Underground in Asheville to get some wonderful food while you're shopping downtown. Homemade, yummy goodness!!
Can't wait to return to this particular cabin someday with more of our family in tow!!
Great value - the same price as a swanky hotel (which I'm partial to)

Room Tip: "Mountain Time" is the cabin you want to stay in!!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank southernfriedflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Am presently renting this cabin. Got home from day of skiing, no water. Nothing. Called "emergency" number, got a rude person unwilling to help in the least or offer any information or options. Cannot bathe, brush teeth, wash ski clothes. Unacceptable. Told that someone would come tomorrow. Place is on a well. They told me that this is not a known problem, but in reading the above reviews, it most certainly is!!! I cannot believe that they were unwilling to call out a plumber, and even fail to have one on call. Doesn't matter how pretty the cabin is, if it doesn't work, well... Do not rent from this company. Period.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
5  Thank GAMomof3boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The condo was nice, but not well stocked. Plenty of large rooms and comfortable furniture.

The kitchen was the worse , barely any utensils, pots, pans, bowls for cooking. There were plates, bowls and forks/knives. There was only 1 dishwasher tablet for the 3 nights we were there.

No DVD Players at all..... Who has a condo and no DVD players.... Glad I brought Xbox.
Cable was good,INTERNET VERY WEAK SIGNAL.....

It is a long and curvy road to the condo from the base of the mountain as well as from the lodge at the top of the mountain. BE WARNED ....IF THERE HAS BEEN SNOW OR ICE IT COULD BE DANGEROUS.....OR IMPOSSIBLE.....

Lodge restaurant.....HORRIBLE.....for starters the tea was no good, hot chocolate was watery and they couldn't adjust it due to it being an auto machine. The ribs had good taste but not much quality. Last and and most important my chicken sandwich! First it came out as a whole chicken breast (2pcs of meat ) but as I began to eat it I found it was partially RAW. They took it back, recooked it, and it came out much smaller, only 1 pc of meat. I'm not sure what happened. I WAS CHARGED FULL PRICE, glad to pay it, just to get out! Never again will I eat here....

I didn't ski here, the slopes were not open. We skied at WOLF RIDGE, which was a good experience.

Don't think I would return......at least not to this unit....

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank kellerqx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed here because this was where the wedding party were staying. It would not have been our choice. To be fair we should confess to having lived in and around the Rocky Mountains for over thirty years so we may be jaded by the whole mountain vista, ski resort, log cabin, rustic thing. We had the sense that the resort had had its share of problems and has been recently turned over to Carolina Mornings for rental administration and marketing. They are clearly an extremely competent and professional organization. We very much appreciated their clear instructions in finding our way to the site. GPS does not work.
Unfortunately the rosy picture depicted on the Carolina Mornings web site does not always gel with the reality. Take the map for example. Each road neatly marked and named, each unit numbered and named. The map cannot reflect the steepness of some the roads, the potholes or the bits that are, in fact, gravel. Arriving late afternoon we discovered that none of the roads are signed. And our cabin, American Patriot, didn't have the name on it either. The number, once bright, had faded to match the wood so you had to get out the car to read it. The lock box had seen better days and was difficult to read too. We couldn't get in and couldn't phone because our cell was out of range. In fact, nobody's cell would work. Fortunately a fellow passing by showed us the trick with the lock box, press clear and hit each button very forcefully until you hear it click.
The cabins themselves are just fine. Ours was clean, had a sufficiency of space and all the trimmings to enjoy a few days of solitude and reflection. The views are wonderful but, out of ski season, the resort, with its locked lodge, had an air of abandonment, looking dusty and unwanted. When the snow falls and the people arrive I'm sure it transforms into a winter wonderland. We had to drive up to the cabin twice in the dark. It's difficult enough in the daylight. Do it at night and its full beams and very slow speed ahead.
So, how to summarise? The cabins are all different, dependent on the choices of the individual owners. Every one we saw was well furnished, comfortable and well equipped. No complaints there. The resort is difficult to get to, the roads need work and the signage needs work. However, if you want to get away from it all, breathe fresh mountain air and have wonderful views then this could be your ideal destination. We suspect Carolina Mornings has a bit of a job on its hands keeping this resort up to scratch. We wish them well and every success.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJ&ERtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed at eagles nest in scenic wolf mountain resort. The place was immaculate, beds comfortable, all in all a great place to stay. The kids stayed downstairs and enjoyed the big screen tv, pool table and hot tub. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmd1759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mars Hill
8.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Mars Hills
Comfort Inn Mars Hills
#1 of 2 in Mars Hill
201 reviews
12.5 mi away
Mountain Inn & Suites
24.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza  Resort Asheville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
The Omni Grove Park Inn
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#12 of 66 in Asheville
6,250 reviews
11.7 mi away
Carolina Country Inn
Carolina Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Burnsville
95 reviews
24.5 mi away
Asheville Swiss Chalets
Asheville Swiss Chalets
#3 of 21 in Asheville
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Wolf Mountain Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Wolf Mountain Cabins

Address: 1 Summit Way, Mars Hill, NC
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Mars Hill
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mars Hill
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scenic Wolf Cabins at Wolf Ridge are a collection of 27 large, upscale cabins perched at 4,300 ft at the top of a mountain! Enjoy 70+ mile views from all of the back decks, private hot tubs at most properties, and a seasonal glass-enclosed swimming pool. Many of the cabins also offer game tables, multiple fireplaces, and are pet-friendly. Each cabin sleeps between 6 and 12 guests, and are perfect for family vacations, reunions, and group retreats. The cabins are only 45 minutes from downtown Asheville, and are just minutes from the Wolf Ridge Ski Resort! **Properties Managed By: Carolina Mornings, Inc., A NC Real Estate Broker** ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Scenic Wolf Mountain Hotel Mars Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing