We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect anniversary getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mars Hill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bald Mountain House at the Wolf Laurel Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Mars Hill B&B and Inns
Hickory, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect anniversary getaway”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We found The Bald Mountain house to be a fantastic location for celebrating our anniversary and exploring the western North Carolina high peak mountains. The high altitude was a pleasantly cool respite from the valley below. We took advantage of the close proximity to the Appalachian Trail with the long range views from the top of grassy Bald Mountain. Mars Hill is close by, and we enjoyed dinner and a play. Monica and Tony were welcoming and made us feel right at home. The home and surroundings are beautiful! We cannot say enough about Monica's talents as a chef! Delicious and elegant breakfasts were over the top! In addition to our generous suite, we enjoyed a large living room and dining area, and we watched the sun set on Mt. Mitchell from the large covered porch. A refrigerator in the common area was stocked with drinks, and we were pampered on arrival with a handmade sweet chocolate treat with a "Happy Anniversary" greeting.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mt. Mitchell suite which had multiple windows with gorgeous views. We could hear th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 828NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

From the initial tour upon arrival, through the final breakfast, Monica paid attention to every detail. She made special arrangements for our arrival, and gave good recommendations for spots to eat and see in Asheville and along the Appalachian Trail (which is amazingly close). The location is serene and secluded, which helped me and my husband relax and enjoy "getting away from it all". We could go see the metropolis of Asheville with one hour of easy highway driving, but also enjoy activities like kayaking and hiking locally.

The breakfast was boutique and delicious, served family style in such an atmosphere that we strangers quickly started chatting like old friends. The beds are not too soft and extremely comfortable. No squeaky ancient pipes, all modern plumbing and hot showers. The hostess Monica is so interesting, she has seen the world and done everything. Can't wait to book again... I will be dreaming up excuses!

Room Tip: The Mt. Mitchell room offers a really nice view (see my photo) with a window seat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swankorama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I've stayed in many bed and breakfasts, and by far Bald Mountain House has been the nicest.

The serene ambiance surrounding the house is amazing. Enjoying the views of mountains, wildlife, and birds while drinking cold mountain spring water is second to none.

The home itself is spectacular. The suites are private and cozy. My favorite is the wrap around porch to view all that nature has to offer.

Monica and Tony made the kids and I feel special the moment we arrived. They are readily available to offer assistance on hiking trails and local fare; however, they respect the privacy of the guests.

I cannot wait to come back, and the best thing is I won't have to search for accommodations in this area again...I already know where "home" will be.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are terrific. Each have individual climate control for comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacey, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We were recently in Asheville, NC for a wedding and experienced the Bald Mountain House and found it to be a mixture of "Southern Hospitality" and country elegance. Monica and Tony are naturals in providing relaxation, warmth, and making you feel at home. You could search all over and not find a more wonderful place to stay with their gorgeous rooms, unbelievable views of the mountains and wildlife, and culinary treats that were freshly and artistically prepared with skill and heart.

We can't wait to return and would recommend the Bald Mountain House to everyone!

Room Tip: The blue suite was beyond any expectations I could have imagined. Be sure to experience the Appalach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargieJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

WOnderful place to stay. Gorgeous room. Fantastic food. Great company. Little touches that made it so comfortable and homey. Worth every penny. Beautiful views. And it snowed! Monica couldn't make us feel more at home. Hated to leave so soon. Best B&B experience we have had in a long time!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms would be wonderful to stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband and I visited Bald Mountain for our 20th anniversary. We had always wanted to explore the Asheville area, but were seeking a quiet place to relax at the end of the day. Monica greeted us on our arrival and immediately made us feel at home. The blue suite was perfect, with a calming decor and the most comfortable bed for a restful nights sleep... the views are amazing...what a site to wake up to each morning. Monica had our coffee ready and waiting just outside our door upon awakening and did I mention breakfast? Each morning we were treated to Monica's creations, a true culinary delight and a wonderful way to start our day...we didn't need another meal until evening dinner. And Monica's recommendations were perfect...not a chain restaurant in site! We feasted at locally owned and operated establishment's and had memorable meals each time...The Korner Kitchen in Biltmore Village, Asheville, was our absolute favorite! And if you tour the Biltmore Estate, make sure you check out the winery...what a pleasant surprise! One of the highlights of our trip was to hike the Appalachian trail, just minutes from Bald Mountain House and doable for all levels of hikers! And if you love browsing in local shops and galleries there are many quaint small towns in the area to accommodate. We highly recommend the Bald Mountain house! Thank you Monica and Tony for a delightful stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

A wonderful little place in the midst of woods. The rooms are quite big and spacious, easy on the eyes decor, very neatly maintained and well kept. They come with free goodies like chocolates, cookies, coffee, granola bars and herbal soaps in the bathroom(smells great).
The view of Mt Mitchell from the patio is gorgeous.

Monica is an awesome host, cooks great food and a nice chatty person.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderrlusst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mars Hill
10.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Mars Hills
Comfort Inn Mars Hills
#1 of 2 in Mars Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
10.4 mi away
Mountain Inn & Suites
23.9 mi away
Carnegie Hotel
Carnegie Hotel
#1 of 19 in Johnson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Marshall House Inn
Marshall House Inn
#1 of 2 in Marshall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
11.6 mi away
Carolina Country Inn
Carolina Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Burnsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
19.9 mi away
Inn on Main Street B&B
Inn on Main Street B&B
#2 of 6 in Weaverville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bald Mountain House at the Wolf Laurel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bald Mountain House at the Wolf Laurel Resort

Property: Bald Mountain House at the Wolf Laurel Resort
Address: 85 Woodfern Ln, Mars Hill, NC 28754-5202
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Mars Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mars Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bald Mountain House is located inside the Wolf Laurel Resort & Ski area with private access to the Appalachian Trail at Big Bald Mountain. We offer 3-room suites, over 100' of covered verandas with long mountain views includng Mt. Mitchell. At an elevation of 4500' we enjoy cool air in the summer and skiing in the winter. Only one hour from Bristol Speedway & 30 minutes from Asheville! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing