We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Pizza”

The Original Papa Nicks
Ranked #2 of 17 Restaurants in Mars Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Tallahassee, Fl
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Average Pizza”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

There are not a lot of dining options in Mars Hill, so Papa Nicks definitely has a place. The pizza is nothing special nor are the other Italian selections. The garlic knots are very good, however. The owners are friendly and accommodating.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank foodieintally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    21
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Best!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We were staying in Mars Hill and decided to get pizza. The only place to get it close by was Papa Nicks. What a lucky find! Wasn't sure what to expect, it is a small take out place. It does have some outdoor seating next to it. We ordered the garlic rolls, a Greek pizza, and a couple Stromboli. We brought it back to our hotel room and the smell was incredible. The food was absolutely delicious, simply the best! If you are ever in the Asheville / Mars Hill area, take a trip to Papa Nicks. You will be glad you did!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tgmaier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth the drive from anywhere!!”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I have traveled a lot and I love pizza but this was the greatest surprise! We live about 60 miles away from Mars Hill and The Original Papa Nick's was recommended by a close friend. This was the best pizza I have ever had! I had two of my kids with me and both agreed that it was awesome. The sauce is to die for and made fresh daily. We had a 5 topping with pepperoni, Italian sausage, black olives, green peppers and extra cheese. The toppings go all the way to the edge and may be a bit messy but it tastes better when you get to wear a little bit! It is for take-out only but they do have a shaded patio on the side of the store. I can't wait to take my whole family up and spend the day in the beautiful mountains of western North Carolina!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Real Pizza”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

If you want real Pizza, this is the place to go!! I live in Mars Hill and I eat here often and I will never say enough. The garlic rolls are out of this world and the whole menu is just so good. Awesome place to eat!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Dean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

These guys are awesome. They make the best pizza in the area as far as I am concerned. I was so pleased to find a local pizza place that is keeping things authentic. They are always friendly and welcoming and the food is always affordable. Everything we have had there has been delicious. Even the salads. Definitely recommend eating here for anyone who is in the mood for some great pizza and great service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank R J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Original Papa Nicks also viewed

Mars Hill, North Carolina Mountains
Mars Hill, North Carolina Mountains
 
Mars Hill, North Carolina Mountains
Weaverville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to The Original Papa Nicks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing