We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious!”

The Original Papa Nicks
Ranked #2 of 16 Restaurants in Mars Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

These guys are awesome. They make the best pizza in the area as far as I am concerned. I was so pleased to find a local pizza place that is keeping things authentic. They are always friendly and welcoming and the food is always affordable. Everything we have had there has been delicious. Even the salads. Definitely recommend eating here for anyone who is in the mood for some great pizza and great service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank R J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    21
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southern Maryland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great pizza, call ahead to order”
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We rented a cabin in Mars Hill for a week. The manager of the property recommended the pizza from Papa Nick's. It was a Saturday evening so it was very, very busy. The people were very friendly and took our order promptly. We had a 40 minute wait. The pizza was outstanding and very reasonably priced. My only suggestion is to call ahead to order.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank hudd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mars Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
162 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Best takeout value you'll ever see”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

When we have unexpected guests or just don't feel like cooking, this place is very reasonable and extra good. You can order subs, calzones, strombolis, pizzas, and best of all full dinners to go. For $7.75 they'll give you a very generous entrée, a salad, and 3 of their out of this world garlic rolls. The entrée will easily serve 2 people. My favorites are their spaghetti and meatballs, lasagna, and stuffed manicotti but there are other great meals as well. Just call in, and give them 20-30 minutes to prepare a fresh wonderful meal.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank msburddawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weaverville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Favorite Italian "fast food" restaurant by far!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a Mars Hill favorite for sure. Everyone is this college town knows Deb and her mom and many remember her dad who started the original restaurant. The food is excellent - pizza, subs, lasagna, mannicoti, chicken parmigiana, etc. Prices are extremely reasonable. The current set up is take-out only, with an attached shelter for outdoor seating - but everyone in town is clambering for her to expand someday into a full service sit-down restaurant. Only drawback is that it's closed on Mondays and Tuesdays . We know she deserves her rest, but the college town is always ready to see them open up again on Wednesday!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Original Papa Nicks also viewed

Mars Hill, North Carolina Mountains
Mars Hill, North Carolina Mountains
 
Mars Hill, North Carolina Mountains
Mars Hill, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to The Original Papa Nicks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing