We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Customer service...customer service...customer service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Mars Hills
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mars Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Marshall, North Carolina
1 review
“Customer service...customer service...customer service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

Did I mention customer service? All the staff we encountered were awesome. Very friendly and accommodating. We had to stay about 3 weeks at Comfort Inn, Mars Hill due to our apartment being flooded. They were very accommodating when our stay kept getting extended week by week. When they were booked, they seemed to be able to perform magic tricks to keep us in the same rooms. Always greeted with a smile and kind word from the front desk and other staff when passing. The housekeepers most awesome! Gavy made sure anything we not only needed, but wanted/requested, was taken care of. We didn't encounter any need for upper management, so can't really say much there other than they have made some excellent staffing choices who can seem to handle anything that arises when given the opportunity. The rooms were updated, quiet, and very clean & comfortable. If I ever have the need to stay again, this would be "my choice" of Choice Hotel Properties. Will definitely recommend staying here to friends, family, or anyone visiting the area. Thanks to all, Brian E.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinod P, Manager at Comfort Inn Mars Hills, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We were so happy to have met you all, and it was our pleasure to host you while you were dealing with difficult circumstances. Our staff is committed to providing each guest with top customer service. Thank you again for recognizing that. We look forward to serving you again really soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    45
    15
    3
    10
See reviews for
96
36
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

We started with a 2 night stay, as we were visiting my father who is living at the nearby nursing home. The first night was great. The following morning, we received word that highway 25 to Gatlinburg, were we would be heading was being closed for snow early in the morning. We went to the front desk to advise the clerk, Rob of our unexpected early departure because of the weather. He assured us that there would be "no problem refunding us for the second night" as the hotel was not booked to capacity. Later we called the manager, Vinod Patel, (who was never available to talk to),we spoke to a female who would not give her name. Very nasty person, she advised that there was no way we would get a refund because they were at capacity. **please note, there were 7 cars parked in the parking lot***, We will be calling the corporate headquarters with this complaint....We do not recommend this hotel. It would be worth your while to travel to Weaverville for accommodations.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinod P, Manager at Comfort Inn Mars Hills, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. I apologize for any confusion when you checked out. At our property, we pride ourselves with excellent customer service and treat all of our guests reasonably and fairly. After investigating your complaint, we realized that you had checked out at 4:30 pm and our checkout time is at 11 am. Also, after reviewing the the video of your check out, it ws clear that the front desk agent clearly explained our policy regarding checkouts. I understand your frustration and would be happy to resove it in a resonable manner. In the text of your complaint, you stated that you had enjoyed your stay with us, but felt like you should not have to pay for the second night. Unfortunately our policy is clear about late checkouts. I hope this was helpful and hope to see you soon!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

We have been staying here since our daughter decided to attend Mars Hill University last year. There have been so many wonderful improvements since the first time we stayed. The staff is excellent and friendly. Nathan remembers us every time and always makes sure to check once we are settled in to ensure we have everything we need and the room is in order for us. The rooms are quiet and we love the recent updates. Thank you for providing an excellent home away from home each and every time!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinod P, Manager at Comfort Inn Mars Hills, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always appreciate guests that ake the time to give us feedback. Our staff always enjoys your visits with us as we do each Mars Hill University parent. We look forward to hosting you again soon!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schnecksville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stay at this Comfort Inn when ever we visit our son who attends MHU. One of the main reasons we also stay here is because of Nathan who works at the front desk and seriously cares about his customers and has gone above and beyond the call of duty to make sure we had a room and a great time while staying in Mars HIll. He is pleasant to speak to and he remembers us when we return and shows he cares about us as people. We plan on staying here again and will stay at this Comfort Inn.

Room Tip: SIMPLE, Call and ask to speak to Nathan. PERIOD. He works the evening shift and is done at 10. He wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PROUDMHUparents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinod P, Manager at Comfort Inn Mars Hills, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. Our staff takes pride in offering the best customer service experience to each guest. We always feel privileged to serve Mars Hill University parents. We cannot wait until your next visit!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

We ended up at this Comfort Inn at the last minute by accident. We reserved a house at Wolf Laurel and when we arrived we discovered serious water problems. We had to find a place to stay at 10:30PM on a Friday night. As soon as we arrived, I knew this was a great place. Nathan rearranged some reservations to find us a good room at the last minute. He even found us a roll-away bed so nobody had to sleep on the floor. My wife needed a knife to slice some sandwich meat and they let her use their kitchen. When the fridge would not come on, Mr. Patel came in immediately and swapped it out for another one. My daughter scrambled the TV picture and they came in and got that corrected immediately. That level of service continued all weekend. The final event that put them over the top was when we were headed home after a day of skiing. Just as we were passing Exit 11 (the hotel is at the top of the hill visible from I-26) Nathan called to tell us we left a shirt in the room. Nobody ever has call us from any hotel to let us know we left something! We were able to swing by and pick it up before leaving the area. The service was unbelievable. This Inn is at the top of my travel accommodations list!

Room Tip: Even though we stayed in a "pet-friendly" room, there was no evidence that an animal had e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RF1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinod P, Manager at Comfort Inn Mars Hills, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review!! Our staff is dedicated to providing an optimum customer service experience to each guest. We are so happy that you recognize that committment. We are always pleased to serve guests from the Wolf Ridge Ski Resort. We look forward to hosting you again really soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkin, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

I've stayed at this Comfort Inn every year in February to attend a Choral festival at the University. It's always clean and neat but the recent updates to the entire property bring it into the modern era. New furniture, carpets, flat-screen tv, and lounge area a welcome addition. I would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinod P, Manager at Comfort Inn Mars Hills, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We have worked extremely hard over the past year to update the property for our guests. We are always excited to host our regular and new guests that attend the choral festival at Mars Hill University. It is always a great event, and we are fortunate to be a part of it. We cannot wait to see you again next year!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Room was nice, staff was helpful, and the breakfast was good. Much nicer than other Comfort Inn's that I have stayed at previously. Would return! Also in good proximity to skiing. Rooms were quiet, didn't hear anyone. Located close to restaurant/grocery/CVS

Room Tip: 215 was a good one :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank islandbreeze62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinod P, Manager at Comfort Inn Mars Hills, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
We appreciate your wonderful review!! It is nice to hear one of our guests speak about the assortment of local resaurants that our town has to offer. We are always honored to host the avid skiers visiting Wolf Ridge Ski Resort. Our staff works hard to offer the best experience possible to all of our guests. We cannot wait to see you and your family again really soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mars Hill
21.3 mi away
Mountain Inn & Suites
18.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
16.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Biltmore East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road
20.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Outlet Center
Comfort Suites Outlet Center
#30 of 63 in Asheville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
8.4 mi away
Marshall House Inn
Marshall House Inn
#1 of 2 in Marshall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Mars Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Mars Hills

Property: Comfort Inn Mars Hills
Address: 167 Jf Robinson Ln, Mars Hill, NC 28754-9505 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Mars Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mars Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Mars Hills 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Mars Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Mars Hill
Comfort Inn Mars Hill
Mars Hill Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing