We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious Rooms and Gracious Hosts”
Review of Inn at Blue Ridge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marion
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Blue Ridge
Ranked #2 of 4 Marion B&B and Inns
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
190 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Spacious Rooms and Gracious Hosts”
Reviewed April 14, 2010

We stayed at the Inn on our way along the Blue Ridge parkway. All of the rooms look over a golf course and stream. The Inn is convenient to the parkway and near popular Grandfather Mountain. The rooms are among the largest guest rooms we have ever stayed in. The hosts were gracious and helped with local directions. We had a nice continental breakfast with good coffee before continuing on our journey.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bily_Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    14
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
39
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2009

I found advert for this Inn on literature about the Blue Ridge Parkway whilst travelling in North Carolina. Having read the reviews on TA I decided to book a couple of nights. We were not disappointed and it was all that previous reviewers had said. A beautiful place, so clean and comfortable and the breakfasts were such a welcome change from some of the unhealthy options on offer at other motels and inns. They actually had fresh fruit - pineapple, grapes, strawberries, grapes, etc. all prepared by Charlie's fair hand. Jan was not aware of what others were saying about her Inn and was delighted when she saw and read all the reviews on TA from former guests. Jan & Charlie are a truly amazing couple, so willing to please you, nothing is too much trouble. At their age they should be sitting on a swing on the verandah putting their feet up, but that's too boring for them and they just love what they are doing at the Inn at Blue Ridge. I hope they continue to be blessed with good health to enable them to carry on running their business for many years to come. I would certainly go back and would recommend 100%. If there was a downside - and it is only a little one - it is about a 5 mile drive to Linville Falls to find somewhere to eat.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank haggisbasher48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2009

Jan & Charlie were terrific hosts. Rooms are enormous & love the fireplace. We didn't stay for breakfast (but it looked delicious) - just a cup of coffee & wonderful chat with hosts. Would recommend to everyone. Have stayed in several other locations & this was best by far.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nana828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2009

I found this place while researching a trip down the Blue Ridge Parkway. It is hard to overstate the quality of the facility, especially when you look at the price. Our room was on the second floor and was larger that the entire cabin we had stayed in the night before! Lovely bed, beautiful and comfortable chairs, the stone fireplace, and of course, the balcony overlooking the river that flows just a few feet behind the building. Every day we were greeted by the most entertaining and beautiful birds feeding outside the dining room.
Jan and Charlie were always gracious and helpful.
The Inn is not too far from various food establishments considering where you are. We found the "Stone House" about five miles away to serve good food at a very reasonable price. If you want fancy food you're in the wrong place.
I do want to warn anyone coming to the Inn from the Parkway that you check which exit you are getting off at. The highway the Inn is on crosses the Parkway at several points and it is quite easy to get off at the wrong turn. We made that mistake.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wannabevirginian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2009

We were heading to Linville Falls/Cavern and then on to Grandfather Mountain and came upon the website for The Inn at Blue Ridge. We are glad we did! It is a beautiful B&B with very large, exquisitely clean rooms overlooking a beautiful river that you can hear from your room or enjoy while sitting in your rocking chairs on the balcony. While we didn't need the stone fireplaces, I can imagine how wonderful they would feel in the cooler weather. Breakfast was just right with fresh fruit, cereals, bagels, muffins and much more. Jan and Charlie make your stay perfect! Would highly recommend to anyone and their low rates are unbelievable for what you get! The Davis Family from Winston-Salem, NC

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mdavisd8800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2009

This B&B was a delight. The rooms were spacious and well appointed. Breakfast was basic but ample. Owners truly aimed to accommodate. Rates were reasonable. Would return if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onthegoagainPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2009

Jan and Charlie are great hosts. The Inn is very nice. The rooms are a good value for the money. You should know: The address is Marion, but you will travel almost 20 miles out of town to get there. The fireplaces are only for winter use. If you travel in off-season (maybe in on-season, too), the closest restaurant may be 20 miles away. There are a couple of restaurants within 7-8 miles, depending on day of week and time of day, also depending on if that is what you want to eat.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeccoQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marion
6.9 mi away
Skyline Village Inn
Skyline Village Inn
#2 of 2 in Little Switzerland
198 reviews
16.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Marion
Hampton Inn Marion
#1 of 5 in Marion
543 reviews
13.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 5 in Marion
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
14.0 mi away
The Inn At Glen Alpine
The Inn At Glen Alpine
#1 of 1 in Glen Alpine
90 reviews
5.0 mi away
Linville Falls Campground RV Park & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Blue Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Blue Ridge

Property: Inn at Blue Ridge
Address: 17677 Hwy. 221, Marion, NC 28752
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Marion
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Marion
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing