We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great bang for the buck”
Review of Linville Caverns

Linville Caverns
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Marion
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great bang for the buck”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

awesome place......great tour guides....reasonable priced....easy parking......great gift shop.....this place is a must stop located near a lot of other attractions...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank bill b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    213
    88
    20
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Awesome and Beautiful”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was my first visit to Linville Cavern, and my first visit inside a cave since being a kid. The walls and ceilings in many places are very colorful and just plain gorgeous. There are many unique rock formations inside as well and our tour guide explained them real fast (he was a very fast talker). At one point we walked through an extremely narrow passageway over some grates. They turned the lights on underneath the grates and there was a pool of water beneath. The tour guide will warn everyone ahead of time if you don't like tight spaces then you don't have to do this part of the tour.

In the very beginning of the tour you can see all the trout that swam into the cavern from the river. There were about 40 of them gathered together in the stream at the entrance.

Water will drip on your head and it is a bit chilly inside the cave so you may want to take a jacket with a hood. Wear tennis shoes because the floors are very wet. Near the end of the tour they turned off the lights so you can see just how dark it gets inside the cave. It is a unique experience and the tour went fast but worth the $7.50 entrance fee. They only allow 15 people in your group at a time, and there are several tours active at one time. You also must step into a chlorine mixture after the tour to clean your shoes because White-Nose Syndrome was found inside the cavern.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolinasGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Only Show Cave in NC and it's awesome!!!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My kids are 16 & 14 and both avid rock collectors so when we are in an area where a cave is nearby they want to see it. It was very crowded the day we came but they moved people very quickly though the line to enter the cave but I did not feel rushed while in the cave itself doing the tour. The tour cost $7.50 per person. They have multiple tour groups in the cave at one time. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and made the experience fun. They also do a lights out to show how dark it really is down there and it is truly dark I could not even see my own hand in front of my face. It was a great experience and would definitely recommend it as a must do in NC. The gift shop was nice great staff and lots of rock specimens and trinkets that can be bought. My kids both bought some really cool rock for their collections including a geode from Morocco.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank cheermom9799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Living cave.”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The cave is still active, also rich with history. There is a short wait most days, yet worth the price and time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank krm1294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peletier
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Depends on your guide how much fun you may have.”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We have experienced walking through a cavern before so we certainly knew what to expect. It is a cooler temperature, water that drips on you, and wet floors (don't wear flip-flops, sneakers are best). The guide ahead of us had his group in stitches. Our guide, though she spoke loudly and clearly, had the entertainment factor of a wet-noodle. The guides worked effectively to orchestrate the ins and outs of the cavern with precision which is the only reason why I gave it an average scoring. The mat that you're supposed to be dipping your shoes in at the end was dry as dry can be even though people had mentioned it to staff who were sitting about at the front of the caverns. Have a great time, but hope you draw an entertaining guide :(.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawndan1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Linville Caverns also viewed

Linville, North Carolina Mountains
Marion, North Carolina Mountains
 
Linville Falls, North Carolina Mountains
Spruce Pine, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Linville Caverns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing