We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of my favorites!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smokey Que's

Smokey Que's
Ranked #10 of 72 Restaurants in Marion
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Laurinburg, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of my favorites!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

Smokey Que's is one of my favorite places to go in Marion. If you can get past the outdated décor and the older condition of the building, this is definitely a place worth visiting. The fried pickles are some of the best around, but their ribs, in my opinion, are what makes this place great. They are so tender the meat falls right off the bone. The staff are very friendly and attentive, and the owner of the restaurant always makes sure to visit your table.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ALC619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    25
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rutherfordton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fall off the bone ribs!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

If you ever find yourself near Marion, NC, you've got to try Smokey Que's Barbeque. The ribs are falling off the bone tender! Friendly staff, cozy atmosphere, and the owner personally visits with guests at the table to assure satisfaction.

Easy to find; just stay on Main street until you come to the "smoking gun" next to the road. Can't miss it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“UGH, Mother in law choice but not my style”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

The chicken had a very bad taste. Visiting mother in law and she took me out to eat. If I had known before hand how bad I would have suggested a different place. Even a burger king would have been better and that gives me indigestion. It was dirty and not good. Please stay away, travel a few more blocks and chose something else.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Suzyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good stop!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Well, it's not somewhere that we'd go to far out of our way for but the catfish was lightly beaded and very good. Baked beans were OK. The pickle chips were great! We're coming back to try the fried green tomatoes and the baby backs. It's worth the trip.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 9384jlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, NC
Level Contributor
93 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“GREAT BBQ, VERY REASONABLE PRICES”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Interesting BBQ restaurant in Marion, NC. There is a very large gun outside which is actually their smoker for the meat. Inside is a cozy clean restaurant. Great menu selection and you can choose between the regular or large size meal. I chose the regular which was more than enough although I was pretty hungry. Everything I ordered was very tasty and home-made. I had the chopped BBQ, coleslaw (just the way I like it), sweet potato with butter & cinnamon and hush puppies. Also ordered a side of fried okra - no wonder I could barely waddle out afterward. Wonderful meal and really reasonable price. I am a sweet tea lover too and their's is perfect!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EVILGRANNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smokey Que's also viewed

Marion, North Carolina Mountains
Marion, North Carolina Mountains
 
Marion, North Carolina Mountains
Marion, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Smokey Que's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing