We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome as usual”

Jalapeno Fresh Grill
Ranked #2 of 74 Restaurants in Marion
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nebo, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Awesome as usual”
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Made another visit to jalapeno's this month and i must say this is the second best meal i've had. I have been to many mexican restaurants in this town and out of this county. My wait here is a bit longer but it is well worth it. I would wait longer here because i know the quality is high. I wait less time at other mexican restaurants because the food is not as good as this so i would not tolerate a longer wait there.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elcompasuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    26
    2
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Eat here often. We eat in and also carryout lunch. Food is always fresh and taste grate best place in McDowell county.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank teresabp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wait was terrible”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

I must be fair that the food is very good. But the service is horrible. My wife and I took two other adults and two children. We waited over one hour to receive our food. This is not good for anyone, but with children it is horrible. The server didn't much care and management said the food is prepared to order - but over one hour. The worst was that three tables that came after us were served well before us. I will not go back to this place. There are too many other better options. If you want good Mexican - OK. But be prepared for a wait.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Superb 'Fresh-Mex'”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We have been eating at Jalapeno's since we moved here in 2007. They were the best in town then, and still are. I have never been disappointed. We go a least a couple of times a month. The dishes are unique, with fresh ingredients beautifully prepared, both visually and gastronomically. The portion sizes are huge and prices are more than reasonable. As for the servers, I have never had them be rude--but the ladies have always been very shy and just seem not comfortable with English.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
111 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Inconsistent food and horrid servers.”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I've had great food here once, so-so food once and awful food once. Apparently the food depends on if the owner is actually there.

The only consistent thing is the service. And that's not a good thing. Except for the owner's son they are ALWAYS scowling and rude. Off-putting is the best way to describe their attitude and demeanor.

Our last...and I mean LAST trip there we were embarrassed that we had taken friends for their first time eating in the county. The combo of the food being terrible and the service being near comedy level awful was simply dumbfounding.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jalapeno Fresh Grill also viewed

Marion, North Carolina Mountains
Marion, North Carolina Mountains
 
Marion, North Carolina Mountains
Marion, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Jalapeno Fresh Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing