We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Hampton Inn”
Review of Hampton Inn Marion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Marion
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Marion
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
Level Contributor
95 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hampton Inn”
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Hampton Inns are usually my preferred place to stay and I must say this is one of their finer properties. Rooms are clean and comfortable, the pool area wonderful, and staff pleasant. Their snack area was stocked all day with delicious Otis Spunkemeyer cookies, bottled water, and fruit. The wi-fi was excellent and complimentary. The only upgrade I could see would be flat screen televisions. I am rather puzzled by the location of this Hampton. Most are just off the interstate and adjacent to other properties such as restaurants, convenience stores, etc. The Marion property is not within site of I-40 and sits rather isolated up on a hill. That said, this is a very nice HI in a rather small and rural community.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avlmr, General Manager at Hampton Inn Marion, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
We appreciate your kind words about our hotel


Sincerely,


Richard Liebeck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    138
    32
    14
    5
See reviews for
197
148
32
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Goldsboro, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2010

This place was the best Hampton Inn that I had ever stayed. I asked the clerk if this place was just built and she said that it was over 10 years old!! I couldnt believe it! Very clean and new looking! Coffee, Juice and snacks around the clock. I will always come back to this place when visiting the mountain area!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaraSparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avlmr, General Manager at Hampton Inn Marion, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
We appreciate your valuable business and we look forward to seeing you again real soon


Sincerely,


Richard Liebeck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phila
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2010

This is a 5 star hotel located in a 1 star town. Excellent facilities (with an indoor pool open until midnite for long drive travelers) with top of the line staff. I could write more but I'm sure you've gotten the message.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhillyTraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avlmr, General Manager at Hampton Inn Marion, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
We are very happy that you had a great stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.


Sincerely,


Richard Liebeck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
236 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2010

The staff was pleasant and usually had a smile (especially the breakfast lady). The rooms were clean. Bathroom spacious. Towels were the kind that smeared the water around (not very absorbent). The bed was very comfortable and the A/C kept the room nice and cool. Free WIFI. No flat screen TV. We had a great night's sleep and didn't hear anything (the hotel wasn't very busy). Snacks (Lay's products, fruit, coffee/tea, Quaker oat bars, cookies) are available around the clock. Mints are by the elevator on every floor. Breakfast was different from other HI's. There were microwaveable biscuits with eggs and some other similar items. Fruits, boxed cereals and a waffle maker. I opted for the waffle which was good. Plenty of parking. The indoor pool was larger than most other hotels in this category. The exercise room had a weight machine, an elliptical, a bike and a treadmill. Better than most HI's. The guests rooms are non-smoking but at the end of the first floor it always smelled of cigarette smoke. The other floors were fine. If you don't like smoke then avoid the 1st floor (we're guessing the employees have a room to smoke in as we saw a few of them with packs of cigarettes). There were laundry facilities for guests. We would have given this 5 stars but the towels and lack of flat screen knocked it down to 4 1/2 (which obviously we can't do on TA).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindyandted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avlmr, General Manager at Hampton Inn Marion, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. I will share them with my entire staff


Sincerely,


Richard Liebeck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
135 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

You can tell this hotel is well managed and wants returning customer. There are snacks 24/7, mints at elevator on every floor, cookies (even sugar-free) sugar-free syrup, sugar-free crystal lite lemonade, and a Gazebo out back for smokers. We just moved the ash trays and had our more coffee in the comfortable wicker chairs and enjoyed the AM outdoors in a natural setting. Just like being at home on our porch, drinking our coffee with the French Vanilla (Coffeemate) creamer (provided by hotel). All the extra's make this a special Hampton Inn. Our favorite desk clerk was the lady that grew up in Memphis and is getting married in July. Sorry we did not get her name. She is certainly suited for her job and makes you feel very welcome. We'll be back. Jim & Jewel

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smoky5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avlmr, General Manager at Hampton Inn Marion, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
We appreciate you driving out of your way to stay with us. We want our guests to feel at home while they stay with us. I will pass along your kind words to my entire staff


Richard Liebeck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towson, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2010

I was pleasantly surprised about everything at this HAMPTON INN.
Extremely clean throughout. Rooms are well appointed & comfortable.
All of the staff were exceptional and they treated me beautifully.
Also, aside from the breakfast which is included, they put out great snacks
throughout the day.
Definitely the best place to stay when you're in the MARION area !

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelt_Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avlmr, General Manager at Hampton Inn Marion, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
We are so happy you had a great stay. I will pass along your kind words to my entire staff.


Richard Liebeck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville SC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2010

There are very few hotels in the area, and as a travel professional, I am very selective about where I stay. This hotel met and exceeded my expectations in all areas. The rooms were very clean, the hotel staff (including housekeeping) were very friendly and actually spoke to you; the courtesy items (fruit, snacks) were availabel 24 hours; breakfast was your Hampton Breakfast; most important the bedding was comfortable. Having stayed at a couple of other properties in the area, the only other hotel that is worthy of second place is Comfort Inn - but Hampton has my vote!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrvlMstr32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avlmr, General Manager at Hampton Inn Marion, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
We are grateful for your business and we are very happy you had a great stay.

Richard Liebeck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marion
5.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 5 in Marion
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
14.5 mi away
Skyline Village Inn
Skyline Village Inn
#2 of 2 in Little Switzerland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
18.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Morganton
Hampton Inn Morganton
#1 of 9 in Morganton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
The Inn At Glen Alpine
The Inn At Glen Alpine
#1 of 1 in Glen Alpine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
16.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 9 in Morganton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
19.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Black Mountain
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Marion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Marion

Property: Hampton Inn Marion
Address: 3560 US 221 S, Marion, NC 28752-7016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Marion
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Marion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Marion 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Marion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Marion Hotel Marion
Marion Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing