We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place to spend time together as a family!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marion
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hidden Creek Camping Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Georgia
Level Contributor
216 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Perfect place to spend time together as a family!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed at this Jellystone Park from June 4-9. There were 6 of us-2 adults, and 4 kids, aged 13, 11, 10, and 8. We had the most amazing time! There was SO much to do...The pool was very large and ranged from 3-9 feet deep. The water slide was a blast and the kids rode it over and over, the lake was small but sufficient and had had kayaks, canoes, and paddle boats and was full of fish! There was a small putt-putt course, an arcade, gem mining, an adventure trail, a playground, sand box, basketball court, shuffle board, and more! There were also golf carts for rent, but they were a little too expensive :( The great thing is, there were activities all day, every day- arts and crafts, fun and games, character meet and greets, dance lessons, a huge dance, hay ride, an ice cream social, outdoor movie, and more. The Garcias were great hosts, especially Running Bear, who was very attentive and helpful and checked in with every camper every day. Happy Feet was also great and the kids loved playing with him, and Sparrow was wonderful with the kids. There was a little something for everyone and we all had a great time. 2 suggestions- small trash can in the shower rooms, and the food priced in the store are a little extreme- we were charged $5.99 for a loaf of Wal-Mart brand bread :(

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethpeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yogibearmarion, Owner at Hidden Creek Camping Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you so much for posting! It was great having your family at Jellystone Marion :) With the bread - I have no idea how the bread was priced at 5.99 - should have been 1.99 but we will certainly correct! Yikes :) - Bear Hugs - RB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    24
    16
    11
    7
See reviews for
196
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vale, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This park is a hidden campground gem nestled in the mountains, very resonably priced and allot of fun.. The park is very kid oriented with Jellystone characters running around, dancing bears at the afternoon social and plenty of craft fun during the day. The water slide is awesome for a small park, the pool is very roomy with fun activities planned during the day. The lake is a bit small but with paddle boats and kayaks to float around in is allot of fun. The walking trail winds trough the woods next to a fast moving creek making for a very relaxing walk. Besides tent and trailer camping, they have very/very nice little cabins for rent overlooking the lake. 7 of us slept very comfortably in one cabin with a single big bedroom, couch that pulls out into a bed and loft for sleeping bags. The only downside to the whole trip was our missing pick-a-nic basket, will have to hide the next one better.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kermit H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yogibearmarion, Owner at Hidden Creek Camping Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you so much for posting and the kind feedback!! Glad to hear you had a fun time :) - hope to see ya soon!! Bear Hugs - Running Bear
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We have stayed at a few Jellystone's before, all of which have been good. But this one excelled. We loved it!! This family run park has the personal touch we haven't seen in the larger campgrounds. Everyone took the time to make the experience special for our daughter (and us!). The scavenger hunt/trail was an awesome idea. Perfect for the kids to enjoy the trail and keep their attention at the same time. We were there at the beginning of the season so had the luxury of it being a little quieter and so had our camping area all to ourselves. But I have to say this was the prettiest campsite we have stayed at. Special thank you to 'Happy Feet" our daughter still talks about you!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freqtrav123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yogibearmarion, Owner at Hidden Creek Camping Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for posting guys!! Happy Feet is a charmer :) haha - thank you for the kind words and spreading the love. Bear Hugs - Running Bear
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

First, I have to say that the campground is awesome. Second, I have to say that the staff is the best. We stayed May 1-2 and had the best time. The nature trail is also a treasure hunt for the kids. What a great way to encourage the kids to go on a great hike by hiding treasures along the trail and giving hints on how to find them). Even though the campground was quiet during our stay (early in the season and middle of the week), the staff still made sure that all events happened and that everyone had a great time. The campsite was great (we stayed in B1). This was our first experience camping in the hills and it exceeded our highest expectations. The scenery is excellent. The grounds were well maintained, and bathrooms were clean. Our 4yr old daughter participated in the t-shirt making and loved it. We got to chatting to a couple of the staff (Happy Feet, you're great), and even though I'm sure they had things to do, they made us feel as though they would sit and chat with us all day if we wanted. We were travelling home after vacationing in Georgia so only had a couple days stay here, but may look at coming back in the future from our home near Chicago.

Yogi played with the kids every morning, Mama bear and Yogi got us all dancing (even though it was early in the season and there were probably only 6 kids staying on the days we were there). The check-in staff talked not only to us, but directly to our daughter...she loved being part of the conversation as they explained what the passport is all about, and how she could collect stamps in her passport which she could redeem for candy or other treats. The impromptu slushi for our daughter was thoroughly enjoyed...thank you! This was the prettiest and nicest Jellystone we've ever stayed at. We've stayed at larger Jellystones, but this place gives you the personal touch, not the resort, somewhat impersonal touch.

Thanks to the whole staff for such a great time. Only wish now that we could've stayed a couple more days.

Room Tip: B1 is the largest site. Sites (B1-B13) are on a slight hill so each site is at a different level wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biz_Casual_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We just returned home from a great weekend at Jellystone in Marion, NC! This was our first time camping at a Jellystone park, and I can't imagine that all of the Jellystones are as good as this one!! The Staff went above and beyond to ensure that we were having a great time. There are daily activities, such as arts and crafts and there was a dance Saturday night in which Booboo bear danced! It was awesome! He can really cut a rug! We have a six year old daughter. She really enjoyed the pool, playground and the canoe. We love camping because its such great family time. The work that the Garcia family puts into this campground really shows. They have created Disney magic with their hospitality that gives this place such a good vibe. There is also a beautiful walking trail that over looks the river, and miniature golf. We will definitely be back! Thanks for an awesome time!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinandElizabethSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yogibearmarion, Manager at Hidden Creek Camping Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you so much for all the kind words. So happy to hear that you all enjoyed your stay; we loved having you all stay with us! Tell Molly Yogi Bear and Boo Boo said hey! Hope to see you all again soon! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokosuka, Japan
1 review
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Used a living social deal to check this place. My family is looking for a getaway place for the summer. We arrived late, but they left our cabin key and additional info at the ranger station. It was awesome that you get free supply of firewood and ice. The cabins are really nice and equipped with utensils, plates, pots and pans. Even towels in the bathroom. The items in the ranger station are a bit pricey so go to the nearby Food Lion or walmart.

They have activities schedule to keep children entertained throughout the day and of course the paddleboats, mini golf, and arcade for use whenever. Overall, good experience and I see the fam coming back soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaquay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Based on the reviews, I was expecting something great-but was disappointed instead! The park is smaller than I thought and the camp sites seem small and close together. The park itself is a little run down (maybe they are still Spring cleaning to get it ready for the Summer). They do supply a list of activities throughout the day for the kids, not much for toddlers to do though. The "lake" is more like a pond. We stayed in a camp cabin (which are very close to each other also). The cabin itself was nice and with the exception of the couch drenched in dog hair it was clean. Glad I brought extra sheets so I could cover it for our stay. The bed was very uncomfortable and creaked with every move. Before arriving I reserved a golf cart for 1 day, which would be nice if the park was bigger to cruise around but some areas are blocked off "seasonal guests" only. Thankfully, we purchased a Living Social deal and didn't pay full price, which is the only reason I'm giving it as high of rating as I did.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollyLitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yogibearmarion, Owner at Hidden Creek Camping Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Hi! Thank you for your feedback. My apologies if there was dog hair- we will circle the wagon on this one :) Yes, we are a bit smaller then some other camp-resorts. Our park is a 64 acre park and the pond is a 5 acre stocked fishing lake. At the present we are building the new snackin shack which will feature hand dipped ice cream, candy galore and hot food items such as walking tacos. I apologize if the construction caused any trouble, we are on the homestretch. Thank you again for posting.

Alex aka "running bear"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marion
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Marion
Hampton Inn Marion
#1 of 5 in Marion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
6.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 5 in Marion
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
16.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Morganton
Hampton Inn Morganton
#1 of 9 in Morganton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Skyline Village Inn
Skyline Village Inn
#2 of 2 in Little Switzerland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Inn At Glen Alpine
The Inn At Glen Alpine
#1 of 1 in Glen Alpine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
14.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 9 in Morganton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Creek Camping Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Creek Camping Resort

Property: Hidden Creek Camping Resort
Address: 1210 Deacon Dr, Marion, NC 28752-8709 (Formerly Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Marion)
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Marion
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Marion
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 64 acres in the Foothills of the Blue Ridge in Western North Carolina, Hidden Creek Camping Resort is the perfect destination for family vacation fun. Whether your idea of camping means all the amenities of home in your RV or getting back to nature in a cozy tent, we are a full service campground able to accommodate your needs. If a luxury log cabin rental is more your style we have spacious lake view cabins perfect for the whole family. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yogi Bear`s Jellystone Park Marion Nc Hotel Marion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing