We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family Fun for All!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marion
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hidden Creek Camping Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Stayed for a week.Great environment, felt safe,lots to do for the kids. The activities were great, my kids really liked the water hay ride..fun! Dance was great. Site was level, good location. Waterside was fun, amenities were well maintained.kids were tired at end of day (good tired). Staff was exceptional. Stayed at many top tier hotels, this staff goes above and beyond. Friendly with kids. Recommend for all families. Thank you for a great family getaway!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Campingfamilyoffour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 267 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2012

After Jellystone Natural Bridge, this park was a let down. Although the waterslide was fantastic, we felt nickeled and dimed, especially since we had to share the amenties with the bus loads of day visitors. Also for $50/night, i expect cable and wifi as your antenna will pick up nothing. As the majority of reviewers state, the garcia family is very hospitable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonathan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yogibearmarion, Owner at Hidden Creek Camping Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thanks for posting! Glad you liked the slide, sorry you didn't get a sense of value. We do limit wifi and cable as an effort to continue to embrace the great outdoors as a family. We too have heard good things about natural bridge, I am glad you enjoyed there resort. We have heard it both ways, and I think it just comes down to personal taste. Thank you for visiting!

Kindly,

Alex aka Running Bear

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

July 2012 -- Our first stay in a camping site. Overall the stay was decent and we had no flagrant issues. We stayed in one of the 7 cabins that overlook the camp. The cabin was very neat and clean when we got in, the staff was pleasant but not personal. Most of the staffers are teenagers so they have no sense of differentiating between clients (those who come for a day spending $50 vs. those who spend a week spending more than a $1000). The cabin we stayed in is a trailer that is well done with natural wood finish. However, in the summer, the private bedroom is very, very hot as the AC unit in the living area CANNOT get the air flow back to the bedroom. They have a small vent fan which is pretty much useless. Prepare to be hot if you want to sleep in the bedroom. In general, the location and facilities are okay but the maintenance and support is NOT. The pool and water slide are good but some of the staffers look like zombies. They have no connection with the guests at all. Exceptions: two guys by the name of Running Bear and Speedy. These two are very personable and likeable. The facilities are adequate but they indicate low commitment. For instance, there are a few boats and canoes. For the several canoes, there are barely three paddles! The mini-golf (the only one time we used it) was covered with pebbles, etc. making it essentially useless. The arcade is crap and barely anyone used to be there. The activities are mind-numbing and the enthusiasm of some of the staff has to be commended. The staff has no touch with the reality of little kids and clients (why? because most of the staff comprises of teenagers). Lastly, on our very last day of our 8 day stay, we ate for the first time at the concession shop. I ordered several items like Burgers with chips and drinks. Guess what? Unbeknowst to me, the chips that were served were actually tortilla chips served with loads of melted cheese. Perhaps it's just me, but most restaurants I visit, chips are supposed to be potato chips, not tortilla chips with cheese. When I pointed that out, the server (a teenager) was very rude and said it would take 10 minutes to serve the same order without those godawful chips! 10 minutes to remove tortilla chips and replace them with regular potato chips!! After we'd been waiting for 15 minutes with little hungry kids! Thanks but no thanks. We were eventually served with the same order replaced with bags of potato chips. To me, a guest who spent more than a $1000 at this site, this is unacceptable. I will not go back for this one reason alone. Last but not least, I never met the property manager or knew who that person was. I saw some people here and there, but no one came to my cabin or ever introduced themselves as being the property managers to me anywhere. Why should they? Life looks pretty good down there, whether clients care or not. Finally, if you want WI-FI, forget it. At our cabin (cabin D-2), there was barely any wi-fi connection. When you are paying about $150 a night, you can hope for better in this day and age. All in all, it's a decent site with poor management and interest. Could be way better if the staff understood who their clients are and what their needs are. Will not go back.

Room Tip: Cabins D-1 and D-2 are close to the action and have a good view. Especially D-2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sxg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yogibearmarion, Owner at Hidden Creek Camping Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Hi ! Thank you for posting and sharing your feedback. This is Alex aka "Running Bear" our family owns and operates this park and I'm so sorry I didn't make that more clear when we met. Your points will be looked into. If you have any additional input kindly email me at yogibearmarion@gmail.com We strive for excellent customer service every time, and I'm sorry we didn't recognize you and your family daily. We do sincerely appreciate your business.

Thank you,

Alex aka "Running Bear"
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

I took three of my grandchildren for a camping adventure (ages 10, 6 and 4) and they loved it there. The staff were all very friendly, the lake had watercraft that my grandson loved...kayaks, paddle boats and a canoe. Life jackets readily available. They panned for gems, watched Yogi Bear the Movie on an outdoor screen, loved the pool and the waterslide. They are already asking to go again, and we are planning another trip before the weather turns cold.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yogibearmarion, Owner at Hidden Creek Camping Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Thank you so much for posting! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This camp was amazing! We are wanna-be campers, and this camp ground is perfect for "wanna-bees", as well as hard core campers. Pool was nice, waterslide was nice, fishing was fun, hiking was fun, cabin's were awesome-- but what makes this place incredible is the sincere, hard-working staff. The family that owns this park is OUTSTANDING. They were helpful, and constantly made themselves available to us. "Running Bear" made us feel like we were VIP! We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chanel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yogibearmarion, Owner at Hidden Creek Camping Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Thank you so much for posting! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This was our first camping trip ever! Our boys loved it! It rained the whole time but it didn't stop the fun! The waterslide was there favorite,so much to do! The especially loved the visits with Yogi and of corse Boo Boo. The staff was super nice very helpful and friendly. We will definately go back! Jellystone Rocks!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eland77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yogibearmarion, Owner at Hidden Creek Camping Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Thank you so much for posting! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Absolutely the best around no complaints at all. The staff is sooo friendly (Running Bear, Happy Feet, Momma Bear, Chief, etc),entire campground is kid friendly. When you are there you feel like you're a world away from everything..planning our next trip now!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjbreemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yogibearmarion, Owner at Hidden Creek Camping Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Thank you so much for posting! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marion hotels
6.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 5 in Marion
139 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Marion
Hampton Inn Marion
#1 of 5 in Marion
599 reviews
2.7 mi away
Super 8 Marion NC
Super 8 Marion NC
#3 of 5 in Marion
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Creek Camping Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Creek Camping Resort

Address: 1210 Deacon Dr, Marion, NC 28752-8709 (Formerly Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Marion)
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Marion
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Marion
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 64 acres in the Foothills of the Blue Ridge in Western North Carolina, Hidden Creek Camping Resort is the perfect destination for family vacation fun. Whether your idea of camping means all the amenities of home in your RV or getting back to nature in a cozy tent, we are a full service campground able to accommodate your needs. If a luxury log cabin rental is more your style we have spacious lake view cabins perfect for the whole family. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yogi Bear`s Jellystone Park Marion Nc Hotel Marion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing