We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Here's the Beef!”
Review of Garrett's - CLOSED

Garrett's
Price range: $12 - $28
Restaurant details
Reviewed June 29, 2016

Garrett's Chop House is a good addition in a town needing more restaurants. It's specialty is beef but offered several types of seafood and salads. It has a full bar and wine glasses on the table. The owner runs Snappy's Italian Eatery on the Waynesville end of the valley. The man loves serving good food and the Chop House on the Ghost Town end of the valley carries his philosophy of serving good food and taking care of people. Try the outside dining if weather permits. The chophouse burger with gorgonzola cheese on cibatta bread was very tasty.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 51 of 107 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2016

We arrived at Garrett’s around 9 PM on a Saturday night (closes at 10 PM). The restaurant was near empty. We were a party of seven adults and a toddler. We were seated promptly and the server came fairly quickly. Then it went downhill from there. To make a long story short (it was an exhausting experience), it took over one-half hour to get the server to take our order (after we chased him down). Then we saw no one for another twenty minutes, at which point we asked to see the manager, who finally showed after another ten minutes. She took great offense to my being upset, but finally the food began to show. The salad, which was supposed to have egg on it (part of the toddler’s food), was missing the eggs. When asked why, they took a few minutes to come back and say they were out. When the entrees began to show, they showed up one by one. The burger order was cold, the entrée salad was missing dressing, etc., etc. The quality of the food was okay, but far from worth the suffering of the unprofessional service. Stay away.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Smartblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrett A, Owner at Garrett's, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2016

We really appreciate you sharing your experience with us. First I need to apologize for your bad experience. We always close at 9 pm and if we are not really busy the last hour our staff prepares to clean up so they can go home. I am not sure who sat you but someone should have explained the situation if they were going to serve you.
We have no salads or entrees that are served with eggs. As far as the manager I am not sure what happened when she came to the table but it is our policy to do all we can do to accommodate our guest. I would say that if your burger came out cold and the dressing was missing then there was only one cook left in the kitchen and he was not totally focused on your order. If the staff chose to serve you after hours then they should have all focused on giving you the service and attention that everyone gets. Again I sincerely apologize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2016 via mobile

What a perfect place for Saturday lunch! We ate on the screened veranda with a beautiful view of the creek, enjoyed great food and service, and just completely relaxed. Only open for lunch on Friday and Saturday, but open for dinner any night but Sunday. Great food and atmosphere...don't miss it.

Thank ectdeacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrett A, Owner at Garrett's, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2016

Thank you for sharing your dinning experience with us and we are so glad that you chose to have lunch with us. We have many guest that have enjoyed the dinning by the creek as it is cooler and very relaxing. We hope to see you again very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2016

My wife and I really enjoyed dining at Garretts. The food was excellent and the prices very reasonable. The dining next to the creek was great and so were our waiters, Sara and Shannia. They both were very attentive and really paid attention to detail. We definitely plan to come back the next times we're in Maggie Valley.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Juan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrett A, Owner at Garrett's, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2016

It is great to hear that our guest have enjoyed their dinning experience at Garrett's. We strive to make sure that each guest has a memorable dinning experience. Our staff takes great pride in what they do and am glad that they met or exceeded your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2016

The waitress was very nice, but the delivery of our food took almost an hour and the place was fairly empty. Not sure why every ones food took so long. We all ordered steak at different levels of wellness and they all came out medium-well. This is not a gourmet or high-class restaurant!

1  Thank Epicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrett A, Owner at Garrett's, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2016

I sincerely apologize for the slow delivery of your food on your recent visit. This is not our standard and I have made the management staff aware of the problem. We would really like the opportunity to make this right with you and show you that we can meet or exceed your expectations. When you return please ask for April and she will personally make sure that you are taken care of. Again I sincerely apologize and look forward to making it right with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garrett's also viewed

Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
 
Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
 
Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
Maggie Valley, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing