We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what I was looking for!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Clarketon Motel
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Maggie Valley
Princeton, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just what I was looking for!!!”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Clean rooms and great customer service. I don't want to pay for "extras" that I find useless on a motorcycle trip. My group stayed 3 nites and we all agreed that we will be going back! The owner rides too and took us on a tour of the local back roads and we had a blast! The Tail of the Dragon at Deals Gap is like a parking lot compared to the roads Phil took us on... We had to suffer rain most of the trip and they let us use a courtesy vehicle as needed. The bike wash and fire pit was a nice touch as well. If no less than a 5 star hotel is what you have to have, don't consider the Clarketon. If you want chocolates and mints on your pillow - bring your own. But if all you're gonna use the room for is to sleep and use the bathroom - this is a gem!!! Blue Knights North Carolina Chapter XXII recommends it!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    27
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
37
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greer, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Love this place! So enjoyed our stay at the Clarketon! Rooms were clean and comfortable. Management and staff are helpful and kind they really go out of their way to accommodate you. Clarketon is a small older facility with TLC. Made reservations to come back before we left. Looking forward to our next stay in May!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I am going to write my review for a second time because my original one has been removed. My husband and I were baffled that The Clarketon managed such a good rating on trip advisor but it seems they just have the poor ones deleted?

There is absolutely nothing impressive about their rooms aside from the fact that they are in desperate need of renovations. Our room was damp and smelled odd. The bed was nightmarishly uncomfortable. The sheet actually had small tears and stains. (In response to my original review, management told me an outside company washed their sheets so it's not really their fault. That's a completely unacceptable display of not taking ownership for their shortcomings.)

I have never had such an awful stay. I literally took a Benadryl because I couldn't wait for morning and check-out

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jennamarie51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarketonMotel, Manager at The Clarketon Motel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
We apologize to jennamarie51 for such an awful experience.
We do not have the authority to remove a review on trip advisor.
We do not provide the most modern conveniences and do not claim to do so. We are an older mom and pop facility and we do try to make every effort to accommodate our customers.
Our reviews are true. Our facility is clean. We tried using a linen service long ago due to heavy demand and choose to discontinue their services.
We are hard working Americans and put everything back into our business continually making upgrades.
It is difficult to understand the intent of such a review by someone who thought the room was so awful and choose to stay. We can not change your experience after the fact. If we know someone is unhappy with a unit at check in we try to switch them to another unit if available or another accommodation at another facility. We want everyone who visits Maggie Valley to have a Wonderful experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We paid $77 per night for two nights. This motel should be in the $40 to $50 range and only because of location. The room was very clean and had been remodeled. This is an old 50's / 60's motel. We selected this property over several others because of the Reviews. I believe the online reviews overstate this motel. Please understand this is not a bad property, it is just over priced.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaptainFax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

You can not beat this place for the price, the cleanliness, the closeness to all attractions, and the great owners, Tammy & Phillip. We just stayed there 2 weeks ago and are returning back this Friday again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hunters821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarington,Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The Clarketon Motel has been our stay place for the last 5 years for the ralies. Phil and Tammy are like family to us, they treat you like they have know you from the start. They are very much like family to us. Rooms are always clean and taken care of daily by the staff. We will be staying with Phil and Tammy from now on in Maggie Valley. Always go riding with Phil as our guide in the mountains he knows the best roads.The firepit is just the place to be after a ride.... Just an awesome place to stay.....you will never regret staying with them at the Clarketon.

Room Tip: All the rooms ar great just depends on what you need...but they have IT NO MATTER WHAT THE ROOM.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladybird96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevierville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This was the first time I had stayed here. The motel is small but everything was extremely clean the grounds the pool and the room which is what I was most impressed with just how clean it was. This is just a true gem in the mountains

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maggie Valley
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 25 in Maggie Valley
272 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ramada Maggie Valley
Ramada Maggie Valley
#7 of 25 in Maggie Valley
569 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Mountainbrook Inn
Best Western Mountainbrook Inn
#3 of 25 in Maggie Valley
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center
2.4 mi away
Four Seasons Inn
Four Seasons Inn
#13 of 25 in Maggie Valley
154 reviews
2.6 mi away
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
#1 of 25 in Maggie Valley
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarketon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarketon Motel

Property: The Clarketon Motel
Address: 1527 Soco Rd, Maggie Valley, NC 28751-7876
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Maggie Valley
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Maggie Valley
#8 Romantic Hotel in Maggie Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Clarketon Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your The Clarketon Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarketon Hotel Maggie Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing