We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Clarketon Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Clarketon Motel
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Maggie Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Love this little motel. It is dated, however, you can't beat the price for what you get. And most importantly, it's clean! My friends and I stayed here for the weekend and throughly enjoyed it. The 2 room efficiency with fireplace was the perfect setup for us. The staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tulipsnspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    25
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
32
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We have stayed at the Clarketon many times for weekend ski trips to Cataloochee Ski Resort or for a quick weekend getaway any time of year. The affordable rates keep us coming back. We have always stayed in the room, located on the side nearest the road, which has one bed, TV with remote and a small bathroom. The room has always been comfortable and clean; we enjoy the cozy feel and flashback to our childhood days (even though the rooms are "dated", it feels nice - not uncomfortable). Best of all, you are not too far from Joey's Pancake house!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We found it to be clean. It is on the basic side, but our room had a nice sized fridge. Our room was sort of dated but again it was very clean. The location is good for getting to the Cataloochee ski area.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GringoLoco2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevierville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My Hubby and I stayed here the weeked of the Popcorn Sutton Festival. The room was clean and comfortable and very homey and cozy. The owners were very nice and helped arrange for a late check in for us.We are planning on returning in the near future for another weekend getaway.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home, null, Democratic Republic Congo
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We only slipped in and got ready for a show, and came back after the show to sleep. It is so great to know that you get to go in a nice clean room! Crisp sheets on a comfy bed and it didn't break the bank!!! This is where i'll stay any time i'm in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, FLorida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We are two women that travel together and participate in art / craft shows. We stayed at the Clarkton for 5 nights and had a very good experience. This hotel is CLEAN... CLEAN... CLEAN. The owners and other guests are friendly and considerate. The room is LARGE. The fridge works great. TV and remote worked every time. The rocking chairs at every room were delightful when we returned to the room to sit, rock, relax, visit, and enjoy the view. Roxie (the owner's dog) is well behaved and delightful. Bon fire at night was a nice relaxing touch. This is a great mom&pop place with everything we look for. The PRICE was right!! The rooms are "dated" but the linens and towels are clean and just fine. I'd stay here again! Rooms are non-smoking and that is a plus. The only thing we'd like to see was wi-fi... but we lived without it! (3g worked)

Room Tip: We were in room 8 and it was perfect... close to the office... big and well cared for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelHappySews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

Every thing I need in a hotel
A motorcyclists dream
Local knowledge of area roads and resturaunts
It rained for a few days normally a nightmare for a motorcycle trip
Phillip went out of his way to make sure our party had a wonderful time
Perfect for a family

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rwlevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maggie Valley hotels
2.4 mi away
Four Seasons Inn
Four Seasons Inn
#9 of 27 in Maggie Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 126 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ramada Maggie Valley
Ramada Maggie Valley
#8 of 27 in Maggie Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 453 reviews
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 27 in Maggie Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mountainbrook Inn
BEST WESTERN Mountainbrook Inn
#3 of 27 in Maggie Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 377 reviews
1.0 mi away
Five Star Inn
Five Star Inn
#11 of 27 in Maggie Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
2.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Maggie Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarketon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarketon Motel

Property: The Clarketon Motel
Address: 1527 Soco Rd, Maggie Valley, NC 28751-7876
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Maggie Valley
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Maggie Valley
#8 Romantic Hotel in Maggie Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Clarketon Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Clarketon Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarketon Hotel Maggie Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing