We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocked”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Clarketon Motel
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Maggie Valley
Reviewed October 31, 2011

OK, I found this online, needed a cheep stay for one night....this placed schocked me it was soo clean and neat! My husband and I are alreay talking about going back to stay and takeing the kids. Thanks

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 106 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2011

My wife, I and another couple, would like to again THANK Phill & Tammy for the outstanding hospitality we received this past week. The day after we arrived (on motorcycles) it was pouring down rain, they gave use their truck so we could still get around. I have traveled around the world, and never have had this happen.
We were going to the Tail of the Dragon, which was 81 miles away. The roads getting to and from the Tail are great rides in themselve.
Maggie Valley offers alot of sites, and the southern start to the Blue Ridge Prwy.
We have been back home one full day, and are already planing our next trip.
The Motel is one of the cleanest places I have ever stayed, bar none.

Room Tip: Ideal for Motorcyclest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dharr312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

This is a nice owner run motel. The owners are very nice and full of useful information about the area. There are not a lot of frills, but a very clean and corfortable room. The swimming pool was well maintained, even late in the season. I was comfortable here. i will stay here again sometime.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vernon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

My husband and I just spent 5 days, four nights at the Clarketon Motel and it was a great vacation...Can't say enough, how great Phillip and Tammy Wright (the owners) are and their staff..They all treat you like family from the git go....The rooms are extremely clean and are cared for daily...If you need anything, the Wrights will go out of their way to help you...The Clarketon is a home away from home and my husband and I would highly recommend this motel to anyone visiting the area....We will definently return there each time we are visiting the area...Great place to stay....Great friends!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sunseekerus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Our vacation was great because of the clean and nice room at a very reasonable rate. We had a fridge, Microwave, dinner table and WIFI and coffee all day long. There are plenty of spots to lounge outside your room, which made it so enjoyable after our day trips to the mountains. We spent lots of time at the pool and bonfire, often chatting with the owners Phillip and Tami. They are a great people and made sure we have everything we need. He gave us lots of good tips for day routes and places to visit. We will be back and hope to have more time and stay longer.

Room Tip: We booked a room where we can cook and eat !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank G and R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Ok yes it is a little older but the people here are the friendliest most accomadating people ever. First night they started treating us like family. If you want to be able to move a picnic table so you can park your bike out of the rain...This is home.
Clean and comfortable

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank becesteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We have stayed at Clarketon before and enjoyed our stay. The owners and staff are very accommodating and helpful. Most of Maggie Valley is within a walking distance of about one mile and there are sidewalks to get there. Very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maggie Valley
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 25 in Maggie Valley
298 reviews
4.1 mi away
Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Maggie Valley - Cherokee Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western Mountainbrook Inn
Best Western Mountainbrook Inn
#3 of 25 in Maggie Valley
520 reviews
2.4 mi away
Four Seasons Inn
Four Seasons Inn
#10 of 25 in Maggie Valley
159 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ramada Maggie Valley
Ramada Maggie Valley
#7 of 25 in Maggie Valley
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarketon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarketon Motel

Address: 1527 Soco Rd, Maggie Valley, NC 28751-7876
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Maggie Valley
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Maggie Valley
#8 Romantic Hotel in Maggie Valley
Price Range: $67 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Clarketon Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Clarketon Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarketon Hotel Maggie Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing