We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude Day shift front desk clerk”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Maggie Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Maggie Inn
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Maggie Valley
Shepherdsville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rude Day shift front desk clerk”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

Would not stay here again unless everything else was booked. Room was not clean, furniture in need of repairs and day shift front desk clerk was extremely rude. In addition, Hot tub and pool was not clean and there was never any towels by the pool/hot tub area for use as there was supposed to be. This was definitely not the award winning, sparkling clean hotel that I was told it was.
The day shift clerk on Sunday, 7/31/11 came into the breakfast area and embarrassed me in front of a room full of strangers because I had picked up 4 large bath towels for my room. She yelled and said I had too many towels for two people. This is so unprofessional. I did call corporate office but have not heard from them as I was told I would.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donnam40165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelGM28751, General Manager at Royal Maggie Inn, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Thank you for your review of our property here in beautiful Maggie Valley. After reading about your issues we took swift action to ensure that this experience would not effect any other guest and their vacation. Sometimes one incident is enough to ruin an entire stay. It can make you feel like the entire staff is uncaring. e would like you to know that is definitely not the case here at the Microtel. We value our guests and want each of them treated just the way we would like to be treated when we travel. We hire staff that we feel can do this on a daily basis and appreciate our guests providing feedback on whether or not this is actually occurring. Thank you for helping us correct this issue and for making future guests happier then ever here in the Smokies,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    209
    158
    78
    64
See reviews for
278
205
34
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Blythewood, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

The Good-We had a few rooms, they were clean enough. Housekeeping was friendly, enjoyed the pool. we WERE repeat customers.
The Bad- when we checked in, the lady was rude and was disappointed that we had children. When she handed us the keys she made a comment about not letting the children jump or run. The mattress was awful, the walls were paper thin, could hear the neighbors snore, the vending machine and EVERY door that slammed vibrated down the whole hall.
The Ugly- The first night she called our room at 10:30! and WOKE my kids up stating that the people below us were complaining of our noise level...we were in the bed. We found ourselves whispering in our room and tip toeing around. We stayed away the next day for 15 hours and came in to go straight to bed. When we walked in the door. she greeted us with SHHHH!! We travel frequently and have never been treated this way or have had someone ask us to quiet our children

Room Tip: avoid rooms near the vending machine. bring ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melb34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelGM28751, General Manager at Royal Maggie Inn, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our property here on TripAdvisor. Maybe one of the best aspects of having a venue for unbiased reviews is the chance to hear actual experiences of guests in their own words, explaining their frustrations. It also provides a valuable training opportunity since the employee you dealt with can now see how their actions effected your overall stay with us. On behalf of our staff please accept our apology for the issues you had. We pride ourselves on being family friendly, even participating in the Kids Ski Free program at Cataloochee Ski Area. We know our area offers many activities for children and always welcome them at our property. We hope that you will consider giving us the opportunity to prove this to you with another visit. Please call us so we can arrange your family friendly stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Maggie Valley hotels

Auburn, Alabama
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

We were seeking a one night stay in the Smokies/Blue Ridge area and chose the Microtel Inn in Maggie Valley because of location and price. Since our family often stays at Microtel properties, we are very familiar with the amenities of this motel chain. The Microtel in Maggie Valley is an average property
The Pros: Great location in Maggie Valley, and most rooms have a view of the mountains. The hot tub suites are spacious and a good way to relax after a long day traveling. The pool is clean. Discount rates are a good deal. Nice hotel exterior. Beds are average.
The Cons: Property needs renovation. Rust is visible in vents, and repairs to woodwork are often poorly done and readily noticeable. The hotel interior looks tired in comparison to the exterior. Furniture it worn. TV's are older and small. Non-smoking rooms smell like smoke.

Overall, for our purposes this hotel was an okay choice, but i would be not select this property to spend a extended vacation. We chose to stay at another Microtel property in the area for the balance of our time in the mountains.

Room Tip: Ask for the discount rate or try Microtel.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank athomeinthepines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelGM28751, General Manager at Royal Maggie Inn, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Thank you for your detailed review of our property here in the Smokies. We are happy to hear that you were pleased with our pool, suites, deals and amazing mountain views and It is always good for our team to hear the opinions of our most valuable asset....our guests! With your input and unbiased view of our property it will be easy to determine where improvements will need to be made in the near future. Our pool was once an outdoor pool, but after many reviews and comments made by our guests we enclosed it to provide year round fun for our guests. Therefore we hope you will consider stopping by our property again so you can see how your review has improved our hotel. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

We came to Maggie Valley to get away for a couple of days and stayed at the Microtel Inn, The room was very clean and comfortable and the staff was great.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdavid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelGM28751, General Manager at Royal Maggie Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us after your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you were satisfied with our accommodations as well as our staff. We know there are many options for lodging here in Maggie Valley and are happy to have you choose us. With the Blue Ridge Parkway nearby and surrounded by the Smokies we know that many people will be traveling to our area to get a taste of the mountains. This why we work so hard for our guests; we want each and every one of them to return to our property year after year. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2011

We generally stay at Marriott affiliated motels, or Best Westerns if Marriott isn't available. We chose this Microtel since several friends had already registered there. The photos looked good, but we were very disappointed with our room. It had a very unpleasant odor, was not as clean as it should have been, had only one wastebasket, non-working heat light in bathroom, and the smallest TV we have ever had in a motel room. This place is in bad need of renovation, the room photos must have been very old. We saw several other rooms our friends were in and they all appeared about the same. Animals are allowed and there were many there.
Breakfast room is too small, and there was just one waffle maker for too many people...there was a long line to use it. Not as many choices in foods as most places. The employees were friendly enough, but had lost the reservation of one of our other friends. No elevator in this place, which we hadn't known beforehand.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor near office/breakfast area..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PTM_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelGM28751, General Manager at Royal Maggie Inn, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am saddened that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We have taken note of your concerns and are happy to report that during busier times we have now added a second waffle maker. We are making additional improvements as well and want you to know that your concerns have become our concerns. If you are in the area again we would love to be given the opportunity to change your mind about our property. Also just a quick note, we have had an elevator since 2000 but your review has taught us that we may need to better educate our customers about its location. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charleston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011

Only 3 towels for 4 people. Ants in our room...offered another room...more ants...
finally another room where the light in the bathroom didn't work. No matter how much paint you put on the wall...it is still not a clean place.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank memeCharleston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelGM28751, General Manager at Royal Maggie Inn, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
Thank you for your recent review of our property. We are always working to improve the satisfaction of our guests and the best way to do this is to know exactly what has made your stay with us unpleasant. With this information we can make improvements to prevent future problems and turn every guest into a repeat customer. If you are in the area again consider giving us another chance so that we can show you how we have used YOUR review to make everyone's stay a better one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2011

This is a very clean hotel! They had our reservations messed up, but they took care of it without any issues! There is an inside pool and jaccuzzi, but unfortunately didn't get to use them. We had the suite and it was just as we expected it to be with Microtel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CynthiaB316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelGM28751, General Manager at Royal Maggie Inn, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
Thank you for the review of our property! We are pleased to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable. Please visit us again...how about when the leaves change? Or for snowboarding in the winter? We look forward to seeing you again in Maggie Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maggie Valley hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Maggie Valley
Ramada Maggie Valley
#8 of 25 in Maggie Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mountainbrook Inn
BEST WESTERN Mountainbrook Inn
#3 of 25 in Maggie Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Inn
Four Seasons Inn
#11 of 25 in Maggie Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 25 in Maggie Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Clarketon Motel
The Clarketon Motel
#13 of 25 in Maggie Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
1.2 mi away
Five Star Inn
Five Star Inn
#10 of 25 in Maggie Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Maggie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Maggie Inn

Property: Royal Maggie Inn
Address: 3777 Soco Rd, Rte. 19, Maggie Valley, NC 28751-6100 (Formerly Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Maggie Valley)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Maggie Valley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Maggie Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Maggie Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Maggie Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn & Suites Maggie Valley Hotel Maggie Valley
Microtel Inn And Suites Maggie Valley
Maggie Valley Microtel
Microtel Maggie Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing