We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleased”
Review of Meadowbrook Resort

Meadowbrook Resort
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Maggie Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Meadowbrook Resort
Ranked #23 of 25 Hotels in Maggie Valley
Hodges, South Carolina
1 review
“Very Pleased”
Reviewed July 28, 2010

Me and my family has stayed at this location in the cottage the motel and the trailers and have been pleased with all of them they have excellentaccomondation including laundry and handicapped accesible places and beautiful scenery and all rooms are stocked well and CLEAN!!! you can check in even in the middle of the night and they dont seem to mind that you woke them they are always friends and willing to work with you to make your stay pleseant i am looking forward to getting to go back very soon!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingTeacher1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    3
    1
    3
    3
See reviews for
5
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Biloxi, MS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 19, 2008

Took my wife to see the Smokies and happened on this quaint place. We were initially enamored by the location as it was just on the outskirts of a bustling Maggie Valley. As it is isolated from town yet close to it, you have the advantage of a great deal of solitude and peace with the exception of a small river that runs through the park offering a peaceful and relaxing babbling brook sound. We chose to stay in one of the cabins located at the front of the park. We were greeted by one of the owners' young sons and then pleasantly assisted by the owner, Bob Williams and his wife Amy. If you're up for staying at a Residence Inn or the Hampton, then this place is not for you. There is something to be said for nostalgia and this place is chocked full of it with older-style cabins and apartments. But the cabin, for us, was clean and offered a romantic setting that my wife and I enjoyed immensely. I've seen others that have reviewed this facility and they had nothing good to say about it. But they are not considering that nostalgia too has a draw all its' own and 1st class doesn't always mean; entering a room to the smell of new carpet and paint, and plopping into the velour-lined oversized recliner, grabbing the remote and turning on the big-screen while the little wifey grabs and opens you a Heiniken out of the open-bar fridge. Now again, the smell of mold and odor is NOT acceptable by me, nor is dirt or cobwebs. But we did not have that experience when we visited. If we had, we would have kindly mentioned that to the owners who I'm sure would have gratiously placed us in another room. But I will agree the cabin was minimalistic in its' features but that was part of the charm for us. We will go back.......repeatedly and have told many of our friends about the experience we had there. They all envied our stories and I'm sure would jump at the chance to stay there as well. Also, the prices are very reasonable. All in all for this review I would advise: If you're looking for peace, and quiet. If you're looking for a good bang for your buck knowing that a nostalgic setting is what you desire. If you want that incomparable getaway to an area where you can hike, just hang out on the porch, listen to or explore the river, and have some peace and quiet then Meadowbrook Resort is for you! We're making another trip there right after Christmas. I regret I have no pictures to share. Darrell Castleberry - cazrnbsn@yahoo.com

  • Liked — Nostalgic, Picturesque Setting. River runs through the center of the park.
  • Disliked — That others want to make negative comments about a great value for what it offers.
  • Stayed February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Cazrnbsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffin
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2007

We stayed at the resort in August. it was our national rally. The "Motel rooms" were bad. Not clean, and had a terrible smell. The "Cabins" looked like no one had stayed in them for years. It looked like the place had been closed and reopened the day before we got there. Never again!!

  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Mainardg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Maggie Valley hotels

savannah ga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2006

I've always stayed in the cabins - the price is right. Great site - a "babbling brook" runs through it, you can hear it as you go to sleep, or sit on the porch of the cabin and look at it as well. Also, it's a mile past the end of town. Has a small playground and a swimming pool.

It's not the most modern place, the cabins are a kind of 50's time capsule - they have a fridge, stove, and a few dishes. We get the 2 br. ones as I snore loudly.

The folks that run it are nice. If you're looking for ultra modern, there are a bunch of those all crowded together right in Maggie Valley.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 21, 2004

Absolutely awful! We have stayed here several times over the years as it was chosen for our family reunion (not by my choice). But no more. I would NEVER even consider staying here again without a complete overhaul. The carpet in the "apartments" is disgusting. The floors in the cabins have holes in them - as do the walls. There are spider webs everywhere. The linens are threadbare; the towels are skimpy. The bathtubs and toilets are stained. Truthfully, I feared for our health staying there. I was never so glad to get out of a place as when we checked out!

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 2, 2004

We have been coming to Meadowbrook for 10+ years - there are areas that need improving - however - this is a family owned and operated property and once you get to know the family you want to come back each year. The cabins are older - but they are kept clean and with decent furniture. If you need something - you need only ask. We like the convenience to local area, solitude, privacy, and low rates. We go back knowing - you get what you pay for. Overall the grounds are well kept and the owners are always available for discuss your needs.

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 11, 2003

They do not keep the place up. Beds are soft rooms smell musty and price is way too expensive for what you get. It is in a very nice setting but it sure needs a lot of work. I don't think the owners have spent a dime on the place in 20 years.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maggie Valley hotels
2.5 mi away
Best Western Mountainbrook Inn
Best Western Mountainbrook Inn
#3 of 25 in Maggie Valley
474 reviews
3.4 mi away
Meadowlark Motel
Meadowlark Motel
#25 of 25 in Maggie Valley
63 reviews
3.4 mi away
Twinbrook Resort
Twinbrook Resort
#17 of 25 in Maggie Valley
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Maggie Valley - Cherokee Area
3.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 25 in Maggie Valley
273 reviews
3.7 mi away
Smoky Falls Lodge
Smoky Falls Lodge
#14 of 25 in Maggie Valley
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadowbrook Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowbrook Resort

Property: Meadowbrook Resort
Address: 102 Meadowbrook Loop, Maggie Valley, NC 28751-8576
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Maggie Valley
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 25 Hotels in Maggie Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Meadowbrook Hotel Maggie Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing