We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Elevator”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Maggie Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2011

This was a nice, clean Comfort Inn along a very busy and noisy road in beautiful Maggie Valley, NC. Our 2nd floor room was quite nice, especially the comfortable bed and the large whirlpool tub/shower combo in the bathroom. Unfortunately, there was no elevator - and our suitcases were heavy. If you stay there, may I suggest that you ask for a first floor room as far away from the road as possible. You'll have a quieter night's sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bearded_bard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnGM28751, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2011

Thank you for the review and also the beautiful photos of our property you posted here! I apologize for the lack of an elevator at our property. We make every effort to put anyone who would like to be downstairs on the lower level. This usually works out well since half our rooms are on the first floor, however there are busier times when this is not always possible. Good tips: Call the morning of your reservation and have us make a note to put you downstairs. Also, let us know at the time of reservation that you would like to be downstairs and have us assign your room then. While it is hard to 100% guarantee a floor during busy times due to unforeseen circumstances, please understand we will make EVERY effort to put you where you want to be. Please visit us again so we can give you a beautiful downstairs room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 298 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2011

Our family of 4 stayed at the Comfort Inn after Christmas in 2010 to go skiing in Cataloochee. We rented the efficiency. The "kitchen" was actually a long countertop with a microwave, very small fridge, coffee pot, sink a few dishes/silveware. There was not a stove which I had hoped for. They let us check in early and when we got to the room it had not been cleaned yet. They were apologetic and let us store our luggage and had it cleaned right away. The Reception staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The room was cleaned and we enjoyed our stay. My teenagers loved having the indoor pool and jacuzzi as did my husband and I. The continental breakfast was waffles, bagels, packets of grits, oatmeals and also pastries. There were young kids running around and only 2 waffle irons so a bit hectic. We skipped it after the first morning. For $89 a night for 4 people I felt this was a very reasonable hotel and it was clean. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephanieKowacz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnGM28751, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2011

Thank you for the review you have posted. It sounds like you had the pleasure of staying with us during a very busy time of the year....Ski Season! While this does explain the hectic breakfast, it certainly does not excuse it. I am happy to announce that in April of this year we remodled our breakfast room 100% making it larger and implementing the new Comfort Inn breakfast program which you should soon see commercials for. This will steamline the breakfast area and presentation of food items and -most importantly- give you a reason to stay here again without having to skip breakfast. Please check it out next time you are in the area. It will make you want to post a new review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2010

Stayed with family for relaxation and winter fun. In spite of the chaos due to the snow, the front desk person did her best to address guest concerns, provide solutions to their travel and recreation needs. I admire the job she did. The rooms are typical for choice hotels, the indoor pool and hot tub area was very clean and well maintained. This under utilized area was a great place to relax after being in the cold outside. The breakfast area is small and gets cramped when the hotel is full during peak breakfast times, but they do a good job keeping the food and drinks replinished. We have stayed here before and would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smokym1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnGM28751, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2011

Thank you for your stay and your great review! As explained in the previous response we have recently remodeled our entire breakfast area, making it larger and more modern. This will help greatly with breakfast congestion especially during our busy winter months. We hope you will come by and check it out, and also stay the night. We listen to our guest concerns on TripAdvisor!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2010

Stayed here on a family vacation to the NC mountains. It was a decent hotel for the area. Everything else in the area are small and off-the-beaten path type joints. I knew booking here there were some standards met at least. It is in a great location in the heart of Maggies Valley and close to alot of tourist attractions. Place has a really great indoor pool but we did not use. Slept great with no complaints. Even had free wifi ...surprising considering staying in the heart of the mountains! Would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank obx98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnGM28751, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2011

Sounds like you are one of our favorite kind of guests...the repeat kind! Thank you for the review of our property and the December stay. Did you know that a great time to stay with us is October? With our proximity to the Blue Ridge Parkway we could be your leaf changing command center as you venture off to enjoy the area's spectacular views. Just an idea for your next stay, we will be waiting for you in the heart of the Smokies. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2010

After reading previous reviews I was very concern about this hotel..
I do not understand what the grief was about.
We found this hotel clean, friendly staff
There was a mix up in rooms but other then that we were very satisfied and would stay here again

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naana7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnGM28751, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2011

Thank you for the review. When we have a review that is poor we always try to it as a tool to make sure any issues that may have occured never happen again. We hope that by doing this eventually we will be as close to perfect as we can get. That aside we are happy to hear your experience was a good one in every aspect, and hope to see you again and again here in Maggie Valley. Did you know we are located next to the festival grounds? Call us for events happening there!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

the floor in the rooms was gross ! wet, sticky, animal feces left on the floor (mind you that we do not have animals), the maids did not clean well at all and thats when they show up, you get in the shower and the minute your feet hit the water the tub becomes muddy, you step back on te carpet going to the bed and your feet turn black! the safty lock on the door was broken, we had to get new room keys often because they did not work, the owner of the hotel WALKED IN WITHOUT KNOCKING AND NEVER ANNOUNCED HIMSELF!
this stay was the worst ever and i would so never go back !

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank umpsbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnGM28751, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2011

Thank you for your review and details of your unfortunate stay with us. Please understand that every issue you brought to our attention has been addressed and all we can say is we apologize and thank you. We thank you for helping us identify issues that we otherwise would not have been aware of during our hectic summer season. We also thank you because this review and the actions we have taken because of it have undoubtably caused another guest's stay to be better then it would have been had you not raised these concerns. At Comfort Inn we value this feedback and try to use it in a way that prevents future problems. We hope you will take this into consideration next time you are in our area and pehaps you could stop in and give us another chance at being your favorite hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

My husband and I stayed at this hotel June 11-13, while attending the Annual Conference of the Western Conference of the United Methodist Church. We got the last room they had for these dates, which was their Suite or Apartment. The suite was clean. However, the floor lamp in the living room was missing the prongs on the plug. Thus it could not be plugged into the wall, giving much less light in the room. We did switch an end table around, so as to have enough light to read. They made no attempt to bring another light into the room. The light was out in the walk-in closet, which was actually a hallway connecting to a storage room. After telling them three times about this, they finally came and replaced the light so we could see to choose our clothing. The hotel also doesn't have an elevator, which is not good for two seniors who have trouble navigating stairs. All iln all, the hotel is fine if you are just passing through but would not recommend for a lengthy stay of several days. The front desk people and the breakfast people are very nice and folksy. It also does have free internet, which was nice. We did not do any cooking in the full kitchen, but the dishes, pans, etc were very limited.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachgofer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maggie Valley
0.5 mi away
Best Western Mountainbrook Inn
Best Western Mountainbrook Inn
#3 of 25 in Maggie Valley
520 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Maggie Valley - Cherokee Area
5.1 mi away
Best Western Smoky Mountain Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ramada Maggie Valley
Ramada Maggie Valley
#7 of 25 in Maggie Valley
627 reviews
5.7 mi away
Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center
0.8 mi away
Four Seasons Inn
Four Seasons Inn
#10 of 25 in Maggie Valley
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 3282 Soco Rd, Maggie Valley, NC 28751-9504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Maggie Valley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Maggie Valley
Price Range: $61 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Maggie Valley
Comfort Inn Maggie Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing