We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful lodging site.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maggie Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Timberwolf Creek Bed & Breakfast
Reviewed April 11, 2008

Gorgeous creekside property a short distance from town but in its own world. Congenial proprietors who go out of their way to ensure you have a great stay. Have stayed in both the Black Bear Cottage and the larger B & B property. Both are private and secluded. Charming Black Bear Cottage is small and romantic; the B & B would be an excellent choice for a family or friends' getaway; as comfortable as staying in your own house. Both have a variety of outdoor seating options to enjoy beautiful surroundings. Very convenient to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park and the Blue Ridge Parkway.

Stayed: April 2008
1  Thank rehack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 113 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2008

We were looking for peace and quiet and we found it. Sandy made things very homelike, but she didn't make us do the dishes. Sandy and Sarah (a neighbor) cooked breakfast southern style and discussed the finer points of grits from scratch or instant. We live in California at a break neck pace, and this was just the ticket to slow down and enjoy. Timberwolf Creek is truly a treasure that will refresh your soul.
Andy & Kim

Stayed: October 2007
1  Thank Andy-N-Kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2007

We were married at Timberwolf Creek, and spent a beautiful relaxing week there for our honeymoon. We were so surprised to find such a romantic, comfortable, and inviting B&B. The rooms are filled with character, comfort, and space...the proprietors are so down to earth and friendly; they touched our lives as much as the beautiful accomodations and surroundings did. The wedding was elegant, stress free (really!) and romantic. Many people have commented on the beauty of the pictures, taken by the owners..they did such a fantastic job.

We have already recommended this place to many in our family, and we will make special trips back just to enjoy the beauty of Timberwolf creek and the personalities of the owners.

Stayed: October 2007
3  Thank sunflowerleta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2007

We knew we wanted a private wedding but didn't know where. We searched the internet for destination weddings: far (vegas) and near (in town), high (mountains) and low (beaches), foreign (islands) and fast (drive-throughs), but kept coming back to the Timber Wolf Creek B&B's website in North Carolina's mountain region.

We decided on TWCB&B because of the mountain setting and the wedding photos: first, for the quality of the photos we saw on the site - the couples looked happy, connected to each other, and at ease in the very beautiful hillside setting; and second, because we would be given a CD with several dozens of digital photos that we could do with as we pleased. [The price of wedding photos by many professional wedding photographers started at TWCB&B's price of both the wedding AND two nights at the B&B, and that was before reprints!]

Having Sandee and Larry take care of everything the day of the wedding - except lunch - made getting married easy, relaxing, and delightful. People always tell you to have fun on your wedding day, but with large events, it's often overwhelming. At TWCB&B we were able to driven in with our wedding clothes and marriage license, and have the rest all taken care of. We even received versions of vows by email to choose from or add our own vows for the ceremony. It was SO easy.

The morning of our wedding day, we walked the land and chose where to actually get married and where we wanted to take pictures. We had plenty of time to relax that morning, get an early local lunch, and then plenty of time to get dressed.

Sandee prepared a beautiful table with elegant sumptuous cake, graceful bouquet and boutonniere, toasting glasses and sparkling drink, and an elegant marriage certificate. Larry began pictures then and there.

Sandee's presence at the wedding ceremony was genuine. I couldn't have chosen someone better myself had I interviewed prospective officiants. She put us right at ease. With a beautiful voice she had a presence that called us right into the sacredness of the ceremony. We were free to concentrate on our vows to each other. Larry discreetly took photos and photos and photos!

After the ceremony Sandee choreographed the photos, made us laugh and Larry clicked away. There was plenty of time - no guests to worry about. We were happy and the October leaves fell around us lightly as if we were in a Disney movie.

After some of the pictures we all returned to the cabin for toasts and cake and more photos, then continued the outdoor photo session on the bridge by the upper cabins.

After the wedding the bride changed to a white suit and we went to dinner - "on the house" at J Arthurs. The food was excellent!

Oh, and we didn't mention the exquisite gourmet breakfasts brought over in a basket! Sandee took time to find out about our special dietary considerations and we were delighted with our food and service.

Two weeks later we received dozens and dozens of photos by CD/DVD. We own the photos and can make as many copies as we like for no extra fees. We were THRILLED with the pictures. Several of the photos were studio portrait quality - the perfect beautiful smiles on our faces. And we had plenty to choose from for a wedding album to share with others, and plenty more that would make up our own private album - with laughter and silly moments.

We would readily renew our vows with Sandee presiding and Larry photographing!

We included a few photos below, but no close-ups.The photos here on this review have been greatly compressed for the web, so the quality doesn't represent the quality you'll get. Check the B&B website for close-ups.

Call Sandee and Larry; ask any and all questions you might have. That way you can assure yourself that you'll have the experience you're looking for. We did!

PS For activities to do in the area, there's plenty. The day before we went to the Biltmore in Asheville and the day after we drove up the Blue Ridge Parkway seeing crafts shops, scenic views and Linville Falls.

Stayed: October 2007
4  Thank Wildfern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2007

We stayed at Timberwolf Creek for a short and sweet honeymoon and it was just delightful, we should have stayed longer! We are hoping to go back for our anniversary. Sandee prepared a wonderful breakfast for us and the other guests and made us feel right at home. I left behind my glasses and Sandee shipped them out to me right away.

Definitely a spot to revisit and we would recommend this Bed and Breakfast to anyone.

Stayed: October 2007
5  Thank volcanomango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2007

We only got to stay at the TImberwolf Creek for one night on our way to Knoxville. Boy, did we regret that we didn't have longer! It was a quaint, mountainside getaway that was a very pleasant stay. We stayed in the Timberwolf Retreat. It had plenty of room and the bathroom was just a dream with a jacuzzi with skylight and separate shower. We got to sleep with the windows open and the creek lullabyed us right to sleep. It was so relaxing and peaceful there. Breakfast was good and definitely filling (perfect before our day of hiking in the area). The owners were kind and very willing to meet our every need. We even took our one year old son and he enjoyed his stay as much as we did! We would recommend this B&B to others and we hope to get back for a little longer stay next time!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joshandjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2007

My husband and I spent a week at this wonderful property this summer and wanted to share our experience. We arrived much later than anticipated and having never been there before, were a bit concerned about finding the Black Bear Cottage in the darkness. Lo and behold, Sandee and Larrys direction were spot on and not only did we find it without problem, we were greeted by our smiling and welcoming innkeeper, Sandee. She showed us around and got us acquainted with the workings of the delightful Cottage. That night we went to bed in a comfy bed and were lulled to sleep by the stream running past our room appropriately named "Streamsong".

In the morning we were spoiled with preset coffee which we enjoyed sitting outback relaxing on the fabulous deck right smack dab in the middle of mother nature. The stream, the beautiful trees all made for a gorgeous setting and helped to ease away our preholiday stresses.

We were met by Sandee a bit later who gave us loads of information on the area and places to see and great spots to dine. We spent three
glorious nights in Black Bear Cottage which would be a great long stay getaway, it has all the amenities of home including two bedrooms
separated by a hall and each room has its own private bathroom with jetted tub. The kitchen is small but fully equipped so if you wanted to prepare a meal, no problem. Because we hadn't booked early enough
to stay in one room for the full week, we moved to the Creek House and into Timberwolf Retreat. This is a massive bedroom with King Bed,
the adjoining private bathroom has a huge double person jetted tub and shower. We really enjoyed this room as well. The King bed was really comfy and the sheets were like silk. While we were staying in the Creek House we decided to partake in breakfast, neither of us are
breakfast eaters and just wanted a getaway, but after hearing other guests rave about breakfast we decided to see what we were missing.
We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves sitting at the table with folks from other parts of the US, sharing great stories and the breakfast was no
disappointment, it was the most wonderful creation of stuffed French toast either of us had ever had and all homemade to boot.

Leaving after 7 days was tough but we highly recommend this gem to others. The Innkeepers are extremely friendly but not in your face folks, always willing to point you in the right direction and the location is fabulous and as Sandee describes "the quiet side of the smokies"

Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
4  Thank VicChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maggie Valley hotels
0.4 mi away
Misty Mountain Ranch
Misty Mountain Ranch
#2 of 8 in Maggie Valley
96 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
#1 of 25 in Maggie Valley
639 reviews
3.9 mi away
Laurel Park Inn
Laurel Park Inn
#6 of 8 in Maggie Valley
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#1 of 8 in Maggie Valley
110 reviews
1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 25 in Maggie Valley
298 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Maggie Valley - Cherokee Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timberwolf Creek Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timberwolf Creek Bed & Breakfast

Address: 391 Johnson Branch Rd, Maggie Valley, NC 28751-8694
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Maggie Valley
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Maggie Valley
Price Range: $195 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep to the soothing sounds of the tumbling stream, then wake to a lavish candlelit breakfast. All rooms feature double jacuzzi bathtubs and private deck or balcony. Awarded "Best Breakfast 2003" by Arrington's B&B Journal. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing