We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Mountainbrook Inn
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Maggie Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My husband and I found this location to be very convenient to the Smokey mountains, tail of the Dragon and the wonderful roads to expore the beautiful area. Everyone was very helpful and hotel was very clean.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lee_leeNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternmaggie, Front Office Manager at Best Western Mountainbrook Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Lee_Leeny,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are very proud to be centrally located in the Great Smokey Mountains! And I will be sure to pass on the great compliments to our great staff!

We can't wait to see you again! Thank you for the valuable feedback!

Twinkle P.
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (505)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

420 - 426 of 505 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013

As we checked out today we encountered two problems. One, we were not charged the rate we were given over the phone which included a AAA discount. We were with a group and we were the only ones who did not get the promised rate. The second problem, we had a hand written voucher from the manager from a mistake that happen last year during our stay. The desk clerk when we checked in the night before was supposed to handle it but had failed to do so. After trying to work with the desk clerk as we checked out this morning on this issue, we gave up on the voucher and were just trying to get the rate quoted to us for the room and were unable to do that. This will be our last stay with this hotel. We usually stay twice a year and I know this will not hurt their business but they have also lost the business of those who travel with us each time.
As for the room, everything was clean and well kept. No complaints there.
A complaint up will be made with AAA.
Customer, Mt. Carmel TN

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank BeckieMtCarmel_TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternmaggie, Front Office Manager at Best Western Mountainbrook Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear BeckieMTCarmet_TN,

Thank you for staying with us this past weekend. We love to hear about guests' comments, whether they are good or bad. This helps us improve for future guests!

I would first like to apologize for the inconvenience. Our rates do fluctuant on a daily basis due to supply and demand. When your reservation was booked, it was at the AAA rate at that time. I was the receptionist that checked in your reservation and your groups' reservations as well. I had applied your additional discount to the reservation at check-in. When this review came to my attention, I researched and found that these reservations were booked on separate days, which resulted in a higher rate for your reservation. We do realize this does not make up for the inconvenience, but we sincerely apologize. Many of our front desk personelle do not have the authority to override rates, and I believe this is what happened at check-out. To make the long story short, we did adjust your charges to reflect the groups discount and the voucher you had. We hope you do reconsider and give us another try on your next trip to Maggie Valley. We have a long list of loyal guests and we would like to keep it that way! :)

Twinkle P.
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed here over Memorial Day Weekend, 2013. The hotel was VERY accommodating for our needs. We stayed in room #229. It was a corner room in the back and very quiet. It overlooked the back "yard" and pool, and also had a lovely view of the mountains to the NE. --- What we loved about this hotel: The beds were VERY comfortable! The shower was AMAZING! The room that we stayed in was a quiet room and very clean. The hotel attendants were more than helpful. The pool and hot tub were VERY nice and clean! The room had FREE WI-FI! --- What we didn't like so much about this hotel (which isn't much!): The hotel lobby was very small and crowded, and was included with the breakfast area. There was no area for "lounging". The hotel room did not have a comfortable chair to sit in.

Room Tip: We loved room #229. It is upstairs, on the back side. It has two very comfortable queen size beds. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashmirmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternmaggie, Front Office Manager at Best Western Mountainbrook Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Ashmirmom,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in Maggie Valley. We strive to accommodate every guest and situation. Room 229 is one of my personal favorites because it does overlook the backyard and pool. And it is very quiet and has the best view!

We are sorry the lobby area did not live up to your standards. We do realize the lobby area is small and are working to improve this. However, we do have the rocking chairs that EVERYONE loves to lounge around!

Thank you again from the staff at the Best Western for staying with us! We can't wait to see you again! :)

Twinkle P.
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

I was very disappointed with this stay. My family have stayed here many times and had a good experience. We were called up to Maggie Valley because my mother was admitted to the hospice hospital. When we checked in we were given a price for the 3 days we reserved. We called prior to our original checkout and told Courtney that we were extending our stay due to my mother's health was deterioriating. Courtney told us they would switch our rate to the weekly rate. She quoted us $377 and change thru our checkout date. This conversation took place on Thursday May 2. On May 5 we were getting ready to check out and review our bill. The bill was $577. We commented to Keith that the bill was wrong and that was not what we were quoted. He said that was our bill. We asked to speak to a manager. Keith texted the male manager and then he told Sabrina "It's 7 so Im outta here". Sabrina tried to help straighten this mess out. She called the female manager and said the manager would be calling around 10:00 to adjust the rate. The manager called and was not helpful. When we asked how our bill went from $377 to $577 in two days. She explained that the rate changed to $129 due to the motorcycle rally Thunder in the Mountain. We stated we were supposed to be given a weekly rate and we checked in prior to the rally. When we pressed the issue of being given the quote from Courtney, the manager stated that Courtney was mistaken. We told the manager that it was not our responsibility that Courtney gave us the wrong information. We told the manager that we will dispute anything over our quote on our credit card. We also told her that we intended to notify the corporate office, place a review on Trip Advisor and contact the Better Business Bureau. We are Reward members with Best Western and this is not the way anyone should be treated. I feel the hotel knew they could get more for the rooms because of the motorcycle rally and decided to renig on their agreement with us.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AprilB1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cougar00, Front Office Manager at Best Western Mountainbrook Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear AprilB1216,

I'm concerned about the problem you experienced at our hotel during your recent visit. I'm writing to thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to my attention.

We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their stay a satisfying one. The principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service to all of our guests at reasonable prices. Consequently, it's disappointing to learn that you're unhappy.

Please accept my sincere apology.

I want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are taken seriously. They tell us what we're doing right, what we're doing wrong and how we can improve. Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated.

Regarding your reservation, we did adjust the additional charges that were valid. I am not sure where the misunderstanding came in, but we do not have weekly rates. As we discussed on Sunday and Today, the 6th of May, you were not charged the $129 rate on the weekend because you did check in well before that and you stayed a total of 8 nights. However, we do apologize for the misunderstanding. We strive to make every guests' experience a pleasant one and we deeply apologize for this. In the end, we will take serious steps to prevent this in the future.

Again, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We are going to this place since 2009 and we always stays at the room 225, we call that room our apartment in the mountains, we are from florida and we like to go there to cool down. That place is fantastic, the view is exceptionel, it is very clean all the time, David that was working there make us feeling at home. THE ONLY THING THAT I AM ASKING IT IS A FREE NIGHT AT THAT PLACE FOR OUR 23TH ANNIVERSARY THAT WILL BE MAY 18TH 2013. Thank you!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Pierre P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cougar00, Front Office Manager at Best Western Mountainbrook Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you very much! We are happy to hear about your stays at our Best Western. I will be sure to tell David about your kind comments. Looking forward to serving you again in the future. I will be calling you shortly about your reservation next month.

Take care,
Twinkle P. - Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I read that this hotel having newly renovated rooms. I'm not sure what that means. The hotel is obviously older -- not a bad thing at all! Having a real double sash window to open is nice, but I'm not sure that ours was one of the newly renovated rooms.

However, while the hotel is touted as being completely non-smoking, the room we were given definitely had the aroma of cigarette smoke and the comforter on one of the beds has cigarette burns in it. We even found cigarette ashes in the sink. We hoped that the circulation of air would help the smell and it did for the most part.

The beds were hard. No. Not like not soft, but HARD.

The staff were kind and helpful. The breakfast was reasonably good.

Room Tip: Our room was 108. I would ask for a different one. Maybe ask for one of the renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rfbryant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cougar00, Front Office Manager at Best Western Mountainbrook Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you very much for completing a review on our hotel. I am upset to hear that your stay with us was not as expected. We take great pride in our guest service and the cleanliness of our hotel and we take all feedback very seriously. We want to do everything we can to make sure any issues you have with us are corrected so you will come back and see us in the future. I hate to hear that you had trouble with your room. Please know that we have a maintanence staff on hand to correct these issues while you are here. We never want you to have a problem during your stay and if you do, we want to correct it immediately. We appreciate your business and we would love for you to give us another opportunity. Sorry again for the troubles you encountered during your stay with us.

Twinkle P.
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 208HarryW
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
cougar00, Front Office Manager at Best Western Mountainbrook Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maggie Valley
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 25 in Maggie Valley
293 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Maggie Valley
Ramada Maggie Valley
#7 of 25 in Maggie Valley
606 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Maggie Valley - Cherokee Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Best Western Smoky Mountain Inn
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Inn
Four Seasons Inn
#12 of 25 in Maggie Valley
156 reviews
3.5 mi away
Maggie Valley Inn and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Mountainbrook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Mountainbrook Inn

Address: 3811 Soco Rd, Maggie Valley, NC 28751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Maggie Valley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Maggie Valley
#6 Family Hotel in Maggie Valley
Price Range: $65 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Mountainbrook Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Mountainbrook Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mountainbrook Hotel Maggie Valley
Best Western Maggie Valley
Maggie Valley Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing