We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, good price, good location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Mountainbrook Inn
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Maggie Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2011

Pros: Recently renovated, separate non-smoking building, free wi-fi, easy access
Cons: None

We were apprehensive about this hotel because of several Tripadvisor reviews but we chose it anyway because it provides breakfast and the promise of a non-smoking building. As suggested by a Tripadvisor reviewer, we requested the non-smoking building and expected the worst. What a pleasant surprise! There was absolutely no hint of cigarette smoke in our room. In fact, a prominent sign warns of a $150 charge if the hotel needs to sanitize the room. The queen beds were excellent, the air-conditioning system was whisper quiet. We experienced no noise from adjoining rooms although in the morning we could hear people talking outside and motorcycles starting. The room was well appointed with a mini-fridge, microwave, and the usual amenities.

Check in and out was efficient and friendly. The cold breakfast offered the usual continental items and also hard boiled eggs and waffles. Breakfast was sufficient but hardly deluxe. The lobby provided a PC for guest use. We used the wi-fi connection, which worked just fine.

The hotel is located on the main highway (NC19) but traffic noise was not an issue in our building because it is set back and behind the main building. Access in and out to the hotel and to the Blue Ridge Parkway was easy.

We recommend this hotel as good value for money in Maggey Valley.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank exaramco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (495)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Mountainbrook Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

466 - 472 of 495 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2011

Rooms open to the outside. Beds are large. Bathroom is very small. Walls are thin, you can hear other guests. Close to the ski resort. Breakfast was average with make your own waffles. You can use hot tub at the hotel next door since they are owned by brothers. Town closes down early so make sure you don't wait for late night dinner. We learned that the hard way.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cuteyellowbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2010

The room was clean. The bed was okay, but not great. The wireless internet was decent. The hot water didn't last long, and the tank took too long to reheat. If you stay here, check the hotel's website. The internet price is usually cheapest. Also, ask for a second floor room if you want to have a mountain view. There are a couple of decent restaurants nearby, but many close at the end of October. Waynesville is nearby and has several restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mathstud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2010

The grounds of the hotel are nicely maintained - very picturesque. The rocking chair was perfect for relaxing in the cool mountain air after a long day of traveling. My room was immaculatey clean, and very quiet (no paper thin walls and ceiling here!). My mattress felt like a very high quality one, and not all old and overused. The sheets were clean and crisp. Slept like a baby.
The breakfast was not huge or way fancy, but I was delighted there were many fresh, healthier choices available - not just sugary, starchy foods. The coffee was also fresh and good.

Check-in and out were quick and efficient, staff were friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again! This place just had an all-around great feel to it, not to mention some very nice mountain views. Maggie Valley is like a hidden treasure in that area.

Close to the Cataloochee entrance to the National Park - got up at dawn and saw hundreds of elk. An amazing experience, right close by.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RamblinRedhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Our room was what we expected from a Best Western. It was roomy, clean and comfortable. My husband really enjoyed the balcony with the rocking chairs so he could "people watch". The pool and hot tub were great...just what we needed after traveling all day. Restaurants close by along with many attractions. I loved Maggie Valley.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyme4relaxing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cougar00, Manager at Best Western Mountainbrook Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2010

Hi Tyme4relaxing!

We, from the staff at the Best Western would like to thank you for your recent stay at our hotel. We are very delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you in the near future! For your next trip to Maggie Valley, please feel free to give us a call at 828-926-3962 anytime!

Best Western Mountainbrook Inn Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

This property is clean and quiet. It's a little older with exterior corridors but seems to be well taken care of. The highlight is the outdoor heated pool (there is no indoor pool as advertised) - clean and respectably warm. The small hot tub is acceptable. Breakfast is a broad term, but there are food-resembling items available from 6 to 9 am. Which makes little sense as this is a vacation destination not a business hotel. The curt staff, however leave friendliness to be desired. I was sorry to bother them in check in and check out.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhillyTraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cougar00, Manager at Best Western Mountainbrook Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2010

Hi screennamePhila!

Let us start by thanking you for completing this TripAdvisor survey regarding your recent stay at our property. We apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We strive to ensure each and every guest experience is satisfying. Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving. We are very sorry that you did not get to utilize the indoor pool, we do share the pool with the motel next door to accommodate all guests in all the different seasons. We are also very sorry that our front desk was not accommodating. It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit. If we can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact us directly at 828-926-3962.

Staff at Best Western Mountainbrook Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

Putting a sign in a former smoking room does not make it smell less like a dirty ashtray. Rocking chairs with a foot wide ashtray outside this supposed non-smoking room and all the other rooms or the obstacle course around smokers on the narrow upper walkway was disgusting. This room was not worth the $100. This place is permanently off my list.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Rooms
1  Thank Dave726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cougar00, Manager at Best Western Mountainbrook Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2010

HI Dave726!

We are very sorry for the inconveniences you encountered at our hotel. We hope you give us another opportunity to serve you in the future. We do have a separate building, which has all non-smoking rooms. If you put a request for this type of room, we would be happy to accommodate this.

Staff at Best Western Mountainbrook Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maggie Valley
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 25 in Maggie Valley
287 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Maggie Valley
Ramada Maggie Valley
#7 of 25 in Maggie Valley
600 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Maggie Valley - Cherokee Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Best Western Smoky Mountain Inn
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Inn
Four Seasons Inn
#13 of 25 in Maggie Valley
154 reviews
3.5 mi away
Maggie Valley Inn and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Mountainbrook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Mountainbrook Inn

Address: 3811 Soco Rd, Maggie Valley, NC 28751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Maggie Valley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Maggie Valley
#6 Family Hotel in Maggie Valley
Price Range: $75 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Mountainbrook Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Mountainbrook Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mountainbrook Hotel Maggie Valley
Best Western Maggie Valley
Maggie Valley Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing