We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DON'T STAY!!!!”
Review of Travelowes Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Travelowes Motel
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Maggie Valley
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We Stayed there for 3 days the 1st day we had warm water for showers low water.Day 2 we advised them there was no hot water nothing was done, now its day 3 still no hot water cold showers are not great.,There was no one around to let them know about. After day 1 we should of we ask for our money back for 2 days, but we decided to stay.When we first got there our room was blocked with rocking chairs to them 1 1/2 to move them, they were not in a big hurry.(that should of been mine hint to run) If I had to rate this Travelowes Motel that will be 2.2. We will come back to Maggie Valley NC ..

Room Tip: They don't have hot water
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for Travelowes Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 56 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed one night, the walls are VERY thin, we were up all night with a group of people partying all night long in the next room. The rooms are outdated but the location was great! The front desk people were very nice and it was inexpensive.

Room Tip: Only stay in the one story building.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crackers11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night on my way to the smoky mountains and I've to say that this motel served the purpose. For the rate I paid I wasn't expecting anything fancy and that what you get at this motel. It feels as an old motel, the room looks old with old furniture but very clean and with no funny smells. It was a large room with a desk & chairs, drawers, TV & large bed. The TV was good with a good collection of channels. The bathroom was also clean, but the shower did not work well and was a bit tricky to use.
In short, although the room looks old, but for the rate paid and the overall room quality this is a good motel and I recommend it for other travellers unless you are prepared to pay more.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mobz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My wife and I took a last minute bike ride to enjoy the fall foilage, rooms in the area were hard to find but we found a room available at the Travelowes. It served the purpose, it was reasonably clean and quite, the rooms are a bit dated, no hair dryer, no in room coffee but for a one night stay it was okay for the price.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I was very disappointed with our room for our two day stay. Truly, the only good thing I could say about our room is that our sheets appeared clean. The room was very outdated and I don't mean in a quaint, charming kind of way. The heat was a radiator on one wall and the air conditioner was a window unit that had the main knob broken off. A good cleaning and some remodeling could help tremendously.

Room Tip: Choose another motel.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Deedra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We have 6 years 7 in Aug. I have stayed here 5 of the 6 yrs. It is always clean and the owners are always friendly. We did not book a room last year and when we got to the motel that had went out of town for the night. So we had to get another motel. We did not like the other motel at all. We will be going back the first of Aug and we will only stay at this motel. We will call ahead to make sure they will be there... We plan on taking our 4 yr old grandson with us this year...Can't Wait. Love Maggie Valley

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cheryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

Was overall ok clean rooms lots of hwy noise but was ok

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iwillrateyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maggie Valley
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 25 in Maggie Valley
287 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ramada Maggie Valley
Ramada Maggie Valley
#7 of 25 in Maggie Valley
600 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Mountainbrook Inn
Best Western Mountainbrook Inn
#3 of 25 in Maggie Valley
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Four Seasons Inn
Four Seasons Inn
#13 of 25 in Maggie Valley
154 reviews
5.7 mi away
Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Maggie Valley - Cherokee Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelowes Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelowes Motel

Address: 3194 Soco Rd, P.O. Box 1836, Maggie Valley, NC 28751-9503
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Maggie Valley
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Maggie Valley
Price Range: $60 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelowes Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Travelowes Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing