We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Our first time - but NOT our last!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Holiday Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
A Holiday Motel
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Maggie Valley
Certificate of Excellence
warner robins, georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our first time - but NOT our last!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This was our first visit to the Maggie Valley area. We picked A Holiday Motel based on the reviews we found here, as well as, on other sites. We were NOT disappointed! The rooms were very clean .... beds very comfortable..... rates very good - but the best thing about A Holiday Motel is the people. Gabi and Rob (owners) have the unique ability to make you feel as though you are a long time friend the first time they meet you. They continually go out of their way to make sure their guest are happy.... and they know what their guest need to make them happy because everyday they are interacting with the people who stay in their motel. My very favorite part of the motel itself is the red rocking chairs outside each room..... the chairs just invite the guest to sit out side and chat. And they do.... We met people from all walks of life - from different parts of the country - riding an assortment of bikes..... but all sharing the love of riding. If you are looking for beautiful scenic rides - head to Maggie Valley....... if you want the BEST accommodations - Call A Holiday Motel. You're gonna love every day there! Can't wait until we can go back again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nitajdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    47
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
68
71
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

A wonderful couple runs this place and are totally focused on making things great for the guests. They plan good rides and parties. Never stayed in any place so accomidating. It is my favorite place to stay. Thank you Rob and Gabi, you are well loved

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Rob and Gabi are friendly, enthusiastic owners dedicated to providing a great experience. The hotel is a quaint, well maintained retro-style "motor lodge" in the Smokys. Beautiful location close to the best sports car or motorcycle roads in the country. Close to the Blue Ridge Parkway, Tail of the Dragon, the Cherohala Skyway and dozens of lesser known but equally exciting roads. Maps are available in the office but the owners know all the BEST roads for whatever excites you. They encourage bikers to park under the porch and provide towels to wipe off your ride after your tour.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AHolidayMotel, Owner at A Holiday Motel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our little place. We appreciate your business and looking forward to your next visit.
Welcome to our Holiday Motel family!
Gabi Edwards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

If you are looking for a clean and commfy place this is it. It is not a resort, but I will stay here again. The husband and wife are the team that runs this place and they are the best and had any information you could need. The best value for your money. The location is very convently located near many places to eat, see and do. There is a pool but it was closed when we visited in May and that is understandable.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rmcghin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AHolidayMotel, Owner at A Holiday Motel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. Our family really appreciate your business. We love what we do! Come to see us in the summer to splash in the pool, it will open Memorial Day weekend as we need little more warm temperatures ;-)

"There is only one boss. The customer"

Thank you
Rob & Gabi-owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slaughters, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

On a bike trip last year we came up on this place after noticing you can park your bike on your front porch. The owners are very a very friendly couple that bought this place a few years back. Great location for bike riders, a must stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AHolidayMotel, Owner at A Holiday Motel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your great review. We enjoy having motorcyclist as our guests and love sharing our motorcycle rides and tips in our area with everyone. Maggie Valley has become the one of the most popular motorcycle destinations in the country and we are here for you! Of course the amazing Wheels Through Time Museum is the "Perk" in the Valley so don't forget to go see it next time.
Thank you very much we hope to see you again in the future.

"There is only one boss. The customer"

Thank you
Rob & Gabi-owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We had another wonderful stay at this motel, even woke up to snow and the kids loved it!! Every year the kids want to see snow. This motel has got to be one of the friendliest we have ever stayed at, it is super clean, beds are comfortable, owners are super, and we will be back next year!! So glad we found The Holiday Motel last year!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dov2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AHolidayMotel, Manager at A Holiday Motel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. We are happy you found us and we are looking forward to see you again in the future. Have a great summer! Watch us on FB for special deals in the winter.

"There is only one boss. The customer"

Thank you
Rob & Gabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JousterWife
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I'm a Choice PM Member and love the traditional hotels, the points, the free breakfasts, etc... but I passed up on a Comfort Inn DIRECTLY ACROSS THE STREET in order to stay at this family-owned little motel. It's dated by it's architecture, but this motel was top standards when it comes to customer service!

We arrived into the area much earlier than expected, when I walked into the quaint little office, I pressed the button and within minutes, a friendly woman came jogging over from someplace on property with a happy smile and a warm welcome! Being so early, I never really expected to be able to check in and have the room ready, but alas, all was done. I felt like we were guests, not customers, and extended family visiting.

The room had 2 doubles and was just myself, my husband and small toddler. The bathroom was just a shower, no tub, but it had recently been replaced. The bathroom was big, very clean and very well-maintained. You could tell that though it was an older motel, they did a wonderful job keeping it up, maintained and functional. Big sink and and HOT HOT HOT shower! It was wonderful, I didn't want to get out (because it was REALLY cold outside for this Florida native). Towels, faceclothes, clean bathroom... and then all restocked and tidied the next day!

Had a fridge and microwave, small two seater table, older TV, small closet and comfy beds (even my husband said that his back never hurt, where sometimes in other hotels it always hurts). There was a GREAT heater on the wall, that Rob was so friendly to come in and show this Florida family how it worked and ended up sticking around and chatting for another 10 minutes.

We really felt so safe and welcome, no doubt we will be back. No doubt.

Those that are not "bike-enthusiasts", don't believe that this is a stereotypical "biker" motel if you're a family or couple traveling around. The bikers we encountered were the ones that are enjoying the ride, the scenary and the very afforadable accomodations. Not "gangs" :)

We have the luxury of visiting the area often from our home in Florida, even if its just for a few days and I would much rather stay here, at this privately owned place that was literally a family establishment, than pay a corporate chain. We loved it. It was charming. It's older, but the owners really go ABOVE AND BEYOND to make you feel like guests in their extra rooms, versus customers in their standard spaces.

Thank you... we will see you soon!

Room Tip: Go to Walmart and stock up on stacks, because there is a fridge and microwave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JousterWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AHolidayMotel, Owner at A Holiday Motel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you very much for the wonderful review. We appreciate your business and thank you for giving the "mom and pop" family owned hotels a chance. Our customers is and always will be the priority. We are looking forward to see you again in the near future.

"There is only one boss. The customer"
Thank you Rob & Gabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maggie Valley hotels
0.7 mi away
Four Seasons Inn
Four Seasons Inn
#12 of 27 in Maggie Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ramada Maggie Valley
Ramada Maggie Valley
#8 of 27 in Maggie Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 479 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 27 in Maggie Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mountainbrook Inn
BEST WESTERN Mountainbrook Inn
#4 of 27 in Maggie Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 401 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Clarketon Motel
The Clarketon Motel
#10 of 27 in Maggie Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 95 reviews
0.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Maggie Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Holiday Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Holiday Motel

Property: A Holiday Motel
Address: 3289 Soco Rd, Maggie Valley, NC 28751-9504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Maggie Valley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Maggie Valley
#7 Family Hotel in Maggie Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — A Holiday Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Holiday Motel is located in heart of Maggie Valley, NC. Our motel has a fun Western Theme and it is run by our family. You can splash in our pool, play horseshoes or just relax in our rocking chairs. We are open all year and have a restaurant on-site serving breakfast and lunch. Our rooms are clean and comfortable and our service is friendly and always with a smile. Our motel is very motorcycle friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your A Holiday Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Holiday Hotel Maggie Valley
Hotel a Holiday

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing