We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I now know and so should you.”
Review of A Holiday Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
A Holiday Motel
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Maggie Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I now know and so should you.”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I stayed at the "A Holiday Motel" in Maggie Vallie, NC last May and was pleasantly surprised, so when I was back in the area this October, I stayed there again. Well the owners, remembered me, and treated, not better than any other guest, but just as good if not better than last time I stayed with them. I didn't know what I was in for last May, but thing sent well, then in October another home run, now I know and I am letting you know. Stay there, and if you ride a motorcycle even better.

Rob G.
Boston

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    54
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
73
80
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We were only in Maggie Valley for one night but had a great stay at A Holiday Motel. As always, our room was ready upon arrival and was clean and spacious.

We have stayed at a lot of places while visiting Maggie but only choose A Holiday Motel since we found them a couple of years ago!

Thanks for the hospitality Rob and Gabi!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleming Island, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This place is amazing!! We started our semi-annual motorcycle vacation back in 2007 and except for the first time up we have been coming back to A Holiday Motel every six months since. Rob and Gabi are the perfect owners/operators! Their passion for ensuring you feel welcome is unsurpassed. I definitely recommend this cozy place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvania, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We just returned from a one week motorcycle trip to Maggie Valley. We stayed at this motel and I can't say enough about the owner's, Rob and Gabi. They made us feel like royalty. They take care of everything you need and their hospitality was something you don't find at the chain hotels. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The pillows and beds were very nice! Thank you both for your kindness. We look forward to returning next year!
~Judy and Renay

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

A great place to stay ,The staff is excellent, Could not find a better Motel to stay.A Great location and close to The wheels Through Time Museum ,also a must see. The service from the staff was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Very friendly people, great location for bike riders, great prices very clean. Rooms are cleaned on daily basis. If you get a chance it is a must stay. Owners are wonderful people. Stayed here twice will be back again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tweetyhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My wife and I, along with two others, had booked a two bedroom suite for four nights. The suite was terrible! When you walked in the front door the floor was sagging and unleveled. They had a 3/4" piece of wood under one edge of the dresser so that it would be level. There was mold on the trim around both AC units. The rooms had a VERY musty smell. The sheets and blankets were damp. It was obvious that this room hadn't been used or opened in quite a while. We had to stay the first night since it was too late to find another motel. The next morning the owner refunded or money for the next three nights (but not the first night) and we moved to another motel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tommy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AHolidayMotel, Owner at A Holiday Motel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
It’s too bad that this repeat customer didn’t bring their complaint to us right away. If it is something that we cannot fix we would have bent over backwards to make right. We could have helped him to find comfortable lodging right away. This particular room is nestled under the forest canopy with a creek running right behind the room. For 3 days prior to arrival the windows had been left open and with the heavy amount of rain we had received it did have a dampness to the room. Any customers of ours should bring to our attention immediately anything that they are not pleased with concerning their stay. It troubles us when someone isn’t 100% satisfied with their stay as that is our focus!
Thank you
Rob & Gabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maggie Valley hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 25 in Maggie Valley
266 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Mountainbrook Inn
Best Western Mountainbrook Inn
#3 of 25 in Maggie Valley
463 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ramada Maggie Valley
Ramada Maggie Valley
#7 of 25 in Maggie Valley
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Clarketon Motel
The Clarketon Motel
#13 of 25 in Maggie Valley
101 reviews
0.7 mi away
Four Seasons Inn
Four Seasons Inn
#10 of 25 in Maggie Valley
153 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Maggie Valley - Cherokee Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Holiday Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Holiday Motel

Property: A Holiday Motel
Address: 3289 Soco Rd, Maggie Valley, NC 28751-9504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Maggie Valley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Maggie Valley
#7 Family Hotel in Maggie Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — A Holiday Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Holiday Motel is located in heart of Maggie Valley, NC. Our motel has a fun Western Theme and it is run by our family. You can splash in our pool, play horseshoes or just relax in our rocking chairs. We are open all year and have a restaurant on-site serving breakfast and lunch. Our rooms are clean and comfortable and our service is friendly and always with a smile. Our motel is very motorcycle friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your A Holiday Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Holiday Hotel Maggie Valley
Hotel a Holiday

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing