We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful Place to stay!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Holiday Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
A Holiday Motel
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Maggie Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place to stay!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed here for one night on our way to Pigeon Forge, as others have said this is a clean nice place to stay rooms are large and very clean and the beds were very comfortable, The owners are very friendly and make you feel right at home, my grandkids enjoyed playing with Gabby and Robs two boys, The bonfire and roasting marsh mellows was a big hit with all of us!! We look forward to staying here again next year on our trip to Pigeon Forge .

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dov2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    47
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
68
71
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, OH
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, we selected A Holiday Motel as our resting place for our trip from Dayton, OH to Charleston, SC.

We booked over the phone with Gabby and gave her an estimated 10pm arrival time. Gabby indicated that there was a large motorcycle group also staying there so she would make sure our room would be a bit away from them in case they were noisy (our 14mth old was much much much louder than any motorcycle group could be).

As usual (for us) we got started late. We were about to call and let Gabby know we were delayed when she called us to check up and make sure we weren't having any problems on our trip. Gabby said that she was closing the office for the night but thatshe would "leave the light on" for us in our room (it was across the parking lot from their onsight house) with out key. I really liked that personal touch.

As we pulled in (2 hrs later than what we had hoped), a Toronto BMW motorcycle group that was also staying there was just finishing the night's bonfire. True to her word, the light was on in our room and the key was exactly where she said it would be.

We found the beds to be comfortable and the room to be incredibly large (Rm 20 - on the end). We got a room with two queens and there was plenty of room for our pack and play (not that the child used it for very long - the beds were much too fun to crawl on). The bathroom was large (only had a shower) with great water pressure and the water temperature was nice and hot. I thought that the massaging shower head was a great touch.

The room had a microwave, fridge, coffee maker, table/chair set, alarm clock, and luggage rack. While it didn't have a closet, it did have a place for clothing to hang.

The next morning, we chatted with the riders and met Gabby. There was no pressure from her to hurry up and check in/out. She said they have two sons who look forward to the summer when kids come to stay. The outdoor pool wasn't open yet but it looked like it would be a nice place to swim. Gabby also said that they hold bonfires every Saturday night.

When it was time to check out, we told Gabby that we would be getting breakfast at the nearby diner and she offered to let us keep the key until we were done in case we needed to freshen up.

If you are looking for chocolates on your pillow and the latest in luxury sleeping, this probably isn't the place for you. If you are looking for clean, comfortable, and friendly service, then this is definitely a winner.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ProfHannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

A group of us booked 6 rooms and stayed the week while touring the area. Gabby and Rob made us very welcome and offered lots of useful advice on roads to travel and places to see. Rooms are very clean and comfortable and the motel is close to the park,shops and restaurants. We left with a really excellent impression of Maggie Valley area and Rob and Gabby run a very excellent establishment in which they obviously take great pride.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aircooled5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pekin, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

We have stayed at A Holiday Motel many times with our Grandchildren.

Our stay is always great and lots of fun. Rob and Gabby are wonderful hosts and it feels like visiting family. My last stay was in December and oh boy did I sleep like a baby. They just got new pillow top mattresses and I was one of the first to sleep on it …lucky me! When we go to Maggie Valley in the summer we have so much fun in their pool with our grandchildren. Their campfire with marshmallows and smores is the highlight of our stay. I highly recommend this motel! The diner next door is great for breakfast too! Keep up the good work Rob and Gabby.

Room Tip: I would suggest if you are staying with young children that you look at their family units with a ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MeSuzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
locust grove, ga
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

I've stayed here several times and always have a great experience. Also, they have new mattresses in all of the rooms.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jduke1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boynton beach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We love this motel!!
Just got back from skiing and snowboarding and had a blast!
First of all the location of the motel is perfect..walking distance to shops and restaurants. A few minute drive to cataloochee ski mountain.. We bought a great package for stay and ski from holiday motel which saved a ton!!
Rooms are clean and comfy new mattresses. The owners live on site and are sooo friendly. They have bonfires and are always around ifyou need help or info about area. They gave us directions to see the elk roam... Which is a must do, the elk came right up to our car... Kids got a kick out of the wildlife we saw.
We have stayed here several times and are never disappointed!! The price is right too!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aprilpaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

On the way to Maggie Valley, these Floridians stayed at a La Quinta Inn. The bed was horrible. Got to A Holiday Hotel and the bed was Sleeptastic!!!! Great rate, clean large room, clean sheets and most excellent hosts. Thanks Rob & Gabbi. We'll be back!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iantutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maggie Valley hotels
0.7 mi away
Four Seasons Inn
Four Seasons Inn
#12 of 27 in Maggie Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ramada Maggie Valley
Ramada Maggie Valley
#8 of 27 in Maggie Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 479 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 27 in Maggie Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mountainbrook Inn
BEST WESTERN Mountainbrook Inn
#4 of 27 in Maggie Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 401 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Clarketon Motel
The Clarketon Motel
#10 of 27 in Maggie Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 95 reviews
0.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Maggie Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Holiday Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Holiday Motel

Property: A Holiday Motel
Address: 3289 Soco Rd, Maggie Valley, NC 28751-9504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Maggie Valley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Maggie Valley
#7 Family Hotel in Maggie Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — A Holiday Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Holiday Motel is located in heart of Maggie Valley, NC. Our motel has a fun Western Theme and it is run by our family. You can splash in our pool, play horseshoes or just relax in our rocking chairs. We are open all year and have a restaurant on-site serving breakfast and lunch. Our rooms are clean and comfortable and our service is friendly and always with a smile. Our motel is very motorcycle friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your A Holiday Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Holiday Hotel Maggie Valley
Hotel a Holiday

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing