We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place great people.”
Review of Stony Creek Motel

Stony Creek Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Maggie Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stony Creek Motel
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Maggie Valley
Smoky Mountains
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful place great people.”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Great place wonderful people. All the rooms had themes which was sooo cool. Creek is great to listen to at night. Couldn't find anything wrong but there is a new plus! They have a great BBQ , Pool tables and bar next door that they own now. Brew Cue & BBQ. How convenient, you don't have to drive to have a good time. Will be back again. How long do you keep your rude review up. I think that is something that should be corrected. Be back again and again.

Room Tip: All room are on the creek ask about the themes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pinklady111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    9
    2
    1
    5
See reviews for
8
15
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sanford, North Carolina, United States
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I really loved staying at this motel. The owners are the most down to earth folks I have seen in a long time at any hotel. I will be staying here from now on. You will NOT find any motel that is more country than this. A+++++++

Room Tip: Cabin is cozy and like your own mountain home!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed here on our honeymoon and had a wonderful time. we go back often. friendly people clean room the brook out back very romantic. Can't to try the restaurent and bar. well worth the money.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Stony Creek is located along Jonathan Creek and, while it is an older motel, the rooms are clean and very comfortable. The couple that own and operate the motel are opening a bar and bar-b-que restaurant right next door and the motel is convenient to Joey's Pancake House and Hurley's restaurant. It's a great location and a great value.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Who ever wrote the bad review needs to start thier trip earlier if they get aggitated over this. (life is to short) We (which includes approx. 25-30) have been going there for years EVERY YEAR. Mandy and James are really great people. The do every thing they can to help in any situation that may come up. They keep the place very clean, and yes Mandy will keep order if we get out of hand. This is a mon and pop motel and I guess if you have an attitude they reserve the right to refuse service. Keep in mind at these mom and pop places it no different than staying at someones house. We will be back in May to see Mandy and James.
Oh by the way-joking about some of the guest 2 yrs ago I made a comment about 2 guest (man & Wife) being BRAIN SURGENS. To my surprise they both were. They were very nice people, from Houston, Texas.
So come and stay and leave the attitudes elsewhere and enjoy life.
Mandy this is for you from the Lower Alabama Boys rm18 Love ya'll

Room Tip: I always stay in the 2 story section. Never had a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DADDYBRET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We wanted a "mom & pop" motel for our Labor Day weekend trip to the Smokies and Asheville, and Stony Creek was perfect! The owner Mandy Hartline is a sweetheart - didn't get to meet Larry as he was up mowing the upper 40 in Illinois. Our room was very large and comfortable and included a sitting area for eating and whatnot. The bathroom was also very large. And oh the creek! We had a nice little private patio at our back door right on the creek. We kept our window open all weekend and the creek sounds were our "sleeping pill."
We had such a wonderful holiday weekend in NC and our stay at Stony Creek was definitely one of the highlights!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mzero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomasville NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

We had a great stay with Mandy and Larry as we all ways do. The room was great. We had our grandchildren with us this time and had a ball. They played with Mandy's granddaughter and had alot of fun. They liked the deck out back and they played in the stream. The room we had was the bear room and my granddaughter just loved all the bear dolls. You couldn't stay with anybody better. We all ways stay here and will as long as they are around. The swings, the rockers out front just great. Love you Mandy and thank you for a good time se you soon. Harold & Kathy Summey (Thomasville NC) 8/5-7/10

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nashvillegirl20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maggie Valley hotels
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons Inn
Four Seasons Inn
#13 of 25 in Maggie Valley
154 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Clarketon Motel
The Clarketon Motel
#11 of 25 in Maggie Valley
103 reviews
1.8 mi away
Smoky Falls Lodge
Smoky Falls Lodge
#14 of 25 in Maggie Valley
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 25 in Maggie Valley
272 reviews
0.4 mi away
River Point Lodge
River Point Lodge
#16 of 25 in Maggie Valley
29 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelowes Motel
Travelowes Motel
#20 of 25 in Maggie Valley
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stony Creek Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stony Creek Motel

Property: Stony Creek Motel
Address: 4494 Soco Rd, Maggie Valley, NC 28751-9512
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Maggie Valley
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Maggie Valley
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing