We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Week in the Mountains”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Maggie Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alamo Motel & Cottages
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Maggie Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We spent four nights and five days over Christmas at the Alamo Motel and Cottages and skiing at Cataloochee. I had talked to Dawn at length before our stay and it was exactly what I expected. Very friendly people, cozy and comfortable cottage, reasonable rates and the most pet friendly place we have ever been!

Dawn and Mike were there to make sue we had everything we needed. Each day while we skied Dawn would come and walk our dogs as just part of her normal routine! That is just way beyond what is normal these days!

The Alamo is close to Cataloochee and there are plenty of places to eat (except Christmas day), though we at most meals in the cottage as we brought a crock pot to fix dinner while we were on the slopes.

No doubt we will stay there again!

Room Tip: IF it were summer I would get a cottage on the bold creek and open my windows at night. It was winte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggieMaySc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 168 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2013

This was the second time that my family and I stayed here. Dawn and Mike are very friendly and do everything they can to make you feel at home. Very cozy cottages with a lovely view. We will continue to come here as long as Dawn and Mike own the place. It's hard to find business owners that make you feel like you are special and they are proud that you chose their place to make your memories. The cottages have everything you need, including extra blankets and cable in each room, which comes in handy with children. Dawn & Mike are spectacular and caring people and even made sure to drop by our cottage to say goodbye before we left. Very sweet of them. We can't wait for our next vacation.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Dawn & Mike are the best hosts you could imagine. This is a place that we will stop at on our way to Florida. We have a medium - large Portuguese - Pedengo & she gets special treatment at the PET FRIENDLY Alamo Motel & Cottages. Pet friendly can be hard to find, esp. one that provides the level of care that is evident here. See you on the way to - & - on the way home from Florida. A great place to stop in & recharge.

Room Tip: All the rooms are sparkling clean - which is very important when travelling today. You're in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillySevernBridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Rated a 4 ONLY because its super clean. With mom and pop places like this who have to compete with the Hiltons and Wyndam's of the world you know that the furnishings will be sub-par but you dont have to worry about it being dirty too. This little place was original, just like the quirky owners who go above and beyond to make you feel at home. Its right in the middle of Maggie Valley which is filled with tons of mom and pop shops and restaurants. We prefer this over the commercial side of Gatlinburg. They had a few motel rooms and then little cottages. We stayed in motel room 2 which was really nice. Why pay upward of $100 when you wont be staying indoors much? They also had a nice fire pit and what looked like gazeebo and people were sitting around roasting marshmellows. Owners lived onsite and pets were welcome.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Efpd35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We went to Maggie Valley for our 46 anniversary . We have 2 dogs and wanted to take then with us. We found the Alamo online and talked to Dawn . You won't forget her! You can tell she loves dogs want's to make your stay as hassle free as possible. We stayed in cabin 12 and it was up in years but very clean and a well stocked kitchen. We were there three days and enjoyed every min. of it. If you travel with your dogs please check out the Alamo.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Tripadvisor forums had advised us to stay in Bryson City or Maggie Valley (as opposed to other more commercial towns) so we chose Maggie Valley--and the Alamo Motel & Cottages. First of all, the forum writers were right on. Maggie Valley is a pretty location and owners Dawn and Mike do a super job of making travelers feel welcome. Mike even built a campfire two of the evenings which several of us enjoyed. Our cottage was complete with everything you could possibly need. My wife and I both enjoyed it so much we turned our 3-night stay into a 4-night stay. The best part of traveling is the people you meet--and Mike and Dawn are like old friends more than hosts. We had several good chats.

Room Tip: we only stayed in the one-bedroom cottage. great for 2 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scott s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Danny and I (Sharon) stayed with Dawn and Mike mid Oct. 2013. I was so impressed by their genuine care for their guests. These two know how to manage a lodging facility. The room was so very clean, cute, and comfortable. My word; Dawn even offered to help us bring our luggage in, now that is service! We enjoyed beautiful Maggie Valley; it brought back so many memories of my childhood there. We met friends at the fire pit and laughed and laughed. Loved the flowers!!! We will see Alamo again on our next trip up next fall or before. You don't need to book another motel or hotel every again, go to Alamo!!!!

Room Tip: Get one of the little cabins; they are delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunflower1971312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maggie Valley hotels
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Maggie Valley - Cherokee Area
2.2 mi away
Best Western Mountainbrook Inn
Best Western Mountainbrook Inn
#3 of 25 in Maggie Valley
526 reviews
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 25 in Maggie Valley
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Meadowlark Motel
Meadowlark Motel
#23 of 25 in Maggie Valley
5 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ramada Maggie Valley
Ramada Maggie Valley
#7 of 25 in Maggie Valley
643 reviews
2.4 mi away
Four Seasons Inn
Four Seasons Inn
#13 of 25 in Maggie Valley
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alamo Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamo Motel & Cottages

Address: 1485 Soco Rd, Maggie Valley, NC 28751-7877
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Maggie Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Maggie Valley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Maggie Valley
Price Range: $49 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in beautiful Maggie Valley, North Carolina, in the heart of the Great Smoky Mountains. Open year round and accessible, we have 1, 2 & 3 bedroom Cottages, on & off the creek with a wonderful view of the mountains, pet friendly and free pet sitting, full kitchens, covered porches, motel rooms with 1 or 2 beds & equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker. We have an enclosed gazebo, gas grills, fire pit, picnic tables, wifi. Motorcycle Accessible "We are your home away from home, quaint, cozy & homey!" $45-$139 nt $323-$853 wk. Group discounts & military discount & ski packages available. Close to Cataloochee for winter skiing & tubing vacations, minutes from Harrah's Casino.Next door to the great Smoky Mountains National Park, 3 minutes from the Maggie Valley Festival Grounds. Take a scenic drive on the Blue Ridge Parkway & the "Tail of The Dragon" Ride the Great Smoky Mountains Railroad. We are a true "Mom & Pop" business. We will show you genuine mountain hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alamo Hotel Maggie Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing