We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 1st "Wild Hawgs II" Fall ride”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Maggie Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alamo Motel & Cottages
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Maggie Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Mike and Dawn treated us like we all were part of their family. There was 6 coupkes total and no had anything but praise for Dawn &Mike and The Alamo. So as you can guess we will be holding our 2nd annual "wild Hawgs II" spring ride with them.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kawelchsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
There are newer reviews for Alamo Motel & Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 165 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is a owner / operated motel. Pet friendly. This was the part that I thought about after making resavations. I am allergic to some cats & & dogs. The outdoor type really. When I went into my room I was supprised. This room smelled so good and was very clean. WiFi was excellent for uploading my photos to FB. Plenty of grills around (charcoal/gas). Very quiet place. The only dog I heard was in the next yard. If you decide to stay bring an adapter for more outlets & extenion cord for your laptop or rechargables.Most of the outlets are being used.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Cleaner then most newer hotels. Mike and Dawn are warm, funny, hospitable and so accommodating. Real towels!! Our family of 2 adults and 2 four-legged "kids" really enjoyed our stay. We originally chose this motel from reviews and they were correct.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeanneane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Jim and I have alot going on in our lives right now. Just got off the phone with Dawn who booked us in one of our favorite cottages. This will be our last visit until our husky, Shayla recouperates from her knee surgery.
if you want a lovely place to stay with your pets, this is the place. Dawn and Mike bend over backwards to help out in any way that they can. Shayla loves them to death and Gaston, their shepard as well. Anita Mason

Room Tip: ask for a cottage, you can do some of your own cooking to save a little money.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1bikermom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Dawn, Mike (and of course) Gaston made our trip to Maggie Valley complete. We needed a few days of R&R and their wonderful hospitality and pet friendliness was such a blessing. We so look forward to seeing you again next year!

Chester, Elaine and Guy beagle Cobb
Raleigh, N.C.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine03_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I will be telling everyone i know about the Alamo Motel, i loved Dawn from the moment i first spoke with her, she is friendly and easy to talk to. The motel is warm, cozy, it becons you to come inside, the quilts on the bed such a nice touch had it been raining i would not have left my room, the view of the mountains adds a nice touch as does the fire pit in the garden with a warm fire every night and very nice people to sit and chat with. I will be coming back and Dawn my manager may lock me in the cellar, but if you ever need any help i am your girl :)

Room Tip: I can not say enough good things about this motel, i just loved it, Dawn makes everyone feel special...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuanitaRidgway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We waited until just days before going to Maggie Valley July 4th week to try and book a reservation where pets were allowed. We just needed a place that accepted pets and we got way more than we bargained for. Dawn would come and take our dog for walks while we were out sight seeing. Dawn and Mike did our laundry and set us up with a fire pit to roast marshmallows one night. It was a truly wonderful, down home experience that is distinctively different than staying in a motel/hotel. And it was a great value too!

Room Tip: If you are traveling with pets, this is the place to be.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gordon_Plano_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maggie Valley hotels
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 25 in Maggie Valley
287 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Mountainbrook Inn
Best Western Mountainbrook Inn
#3 of 25 in Maggie Valley
496 reviews
2.4 mi away
Four Seasons Inn
Four Seasons Inn
#13 of 25 in Maggie Valley
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ramada Maggie Valley
Ramada Maggie Valley
#7 of 25 in Maggie Valley
601 reviews
1.0 mi away
Five Star Inn
Five Star Inn
#9 of 25 in Maggie Valley
89 reviews
2.7 mi away
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
#1 of 25 in Maggie Valley
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alamo Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamo Motel & Cottages

Address: 1485 Soco Rd, Maggie Valley, NC 28751-7877
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Maggie Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Maggie Valley
#2 Best Value Hotel in Maggie Valley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Maggie Valley
Price Range: $49 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in beautiful Maggie Valley, North Carolina, in the heart of the Great Smoky Mountains. Open year round and accessible, we have 1, 2 & 3 bedroom Cottages, on & off the creek with a wonderful view of the mountains, pet friendly and free pet sitting, full kitchens, covered porches, motel rooms with 1 or 2 beds & equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker. We have an enclosed gazebo, gas grills, fire pit, picnic tables, wifi. Motorcycle Accessible "We are your home away from home, quaint, cozy & homey!" $45-$139 nt $323-$853 wk. Group discounts & military discount & ski packages available. Close to Cataloochee for winter skiing & tubing vacations, minutes from Harrah's Casino.Next door to the great Smoky Mountains National Park, 3 minutes from the Maggie Valley Festival Grounds. Take a scenic drive on the Blue Ridge Parkway & the "Tail of The Dragon" Ride the Great Smoky Mountains Railroad. We are a true "Mom & Pop" business. We will show you genuine mountain hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alamo Hotel Maggie Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing