We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent bargain and gracious hosts”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Maggie Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alamo Motel & Cottages
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Maggie Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Plano, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent bargain and gracious hosts”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We waited until just days before going to Maggie Valley July 4th week to try and book a reservation where pets were allowed. We just needed a place that accepted pets and we got way more than we bargained for. Dawn would come and take our dog for walks while we were out sight seeing. Dawn and Mike did our laundry and set us up with a fire pit to roast marshmallows one night. It was a truly wonderful, down home experience that is distinctively different than staying in a motel/hotel. And it was a great value too!

Room Tip: If you are traveling with pets, this is the place to be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gordon_Plano_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    18
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
48
72
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

A friend and I stayed at Alamo Motel in May and really enjoyed it. We had the motor home next to the creek (if you are a light sleeper, bring ear plugs!) and it was very relaxing. Dawn gave us lots of good advice on places to eat (the bakery is outstanding) and directions for places to see in the Smoky Mountains (Chattahoochee Valley was superb, and we had it almost all to ourselves). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We spend a couple of nights last week with Mike and Dawn. They are the on site owners, and chief caretakers of the property. Hard working people who want you to enjoy yourself and do all they can to make your stay with them more enjoyable.
This is a quaint 1950's style motel with cottages on a fast running creek. Nothing fancy but very clean and comfortable. Our little cottage had all the amenties we wanted. We especially enjoyed sitting on the front porch at the end of the day with a drink in our hands. Made friends with the couple next door and sat around and cut up both evenings. The atmosphere at the Alamo is very laid back and casual, a far cry from the big chain places. Prices are very reasonable. I will reccomend them to any of our friends that are going their way. Thank you, Mike and Dawn!

Room Tip: Stayed on the creek with our little dog, very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cherylkrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

What a wonderful place to stay! We were in the area for 4 days on a motorcycle ride with some friends. The best part of this motel was that it was not over crowded with people and the set up on the grounds made it easy to socialize with our friends after we got back from a day of riding. It felt like we were in our back yard not the grounds of a motel. We cooked out on the grills, used the fire pit, played cards in the gazebo after dark and even washed the bike one evening. I know the motel is pet friendly and I was worried about a pet smell but there wasn’t at all! It was clean and fresh with no bed bugs (I always check). The owners, Dawn and Mike (although I kept calling him Jerry??) will do anything they can to make sure your stay is a pleasurable one. To give you your privacy they don’t enter your room during your stay so if you need anything you’ll need to swap it out with them. I would stay here again in a heart beat. Oh, and there is a bakery right down the street, not sure what the name was but I highly recommend them for breakfast. Prices were great and the food was wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mommajd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We were doing a motorcycle riding vacation in the South. I always use TripAdvisor as a reference and I must say that the 'Alamo Motel' did not disappoint. Mike and Dawn are the greatest people and made our stay memorable. They really know how to make you feel at home. We only stayed one night but will definitely be back for our next motorcycle riding adventure since we have so many more awesome roads to ride. Dawn had lots of literature for us regarding the surrounding areas for day rides. We love it.
The room we had was very, very clean.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wolfiewo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Rae and I carried a small group with us this time. We had 5 rooms booked total and Dawn & Mike treated the ours as if they had been there as many times as we had! We ran into some rain on Monday the 21st and Dawn knew this so she took it on herself to make sure heat was on for all of us then offered to dry any wet clothes any of us might have. This made our fifth time staying and each time we are surprised by how we are greeted and we recieve hugs from Dawn, this time Dawn even called to make sure we got home ok, find that in a big chain motel-won't happen! Our group is already talking about next years trip, our personal mini rally. These two people are more than business people-they are people people. Rae and I love them to death and there was no talk about the group staying any where else.

Room Tip: no pool or restaurant but don't need them, pleanty of delivery for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kawelchsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, FL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed with Dawn and Mike for just one night and already feel like family. We will be back in July for a week with them. The rooms are the cleanest we have stayed in. The whole place gives you a homey welcoming feel. I cannot beging to tell you how great the beds are. We have stayed in several hotel/motels in our traveles and these are by far the best. Dawn and Mike go out of their way to make you feel welcome and they are also dog friendly, which means a lot!

Room Tip: there are no bad rooms. They have big and small rooms and one, and two bedroom cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maggie Valley hotels
2.2 mi away
Best Western Mountainbrook Inn
Best Western Mountainbrook Inn
#3 of 25 in Maggie Valley
474 reviews
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 25 in Maggie Valley
270 reviews
2.4 mi away
Four Seasons Inn
Four Seasons Inn
#12 of 25 in Maggie Valley
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ramada Maggie Valley
Ramada Maggie Valley
#7 of 25 in Maggie Valley
567 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Clarketon Motel
The Clarketon Motel
#13 of 25 in Maggie Valley
103 reviews
1.0 mi away
Five Star Inn
Five Star Inn
#9 of 25 in Maggie Valley
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alamo Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamo Motel & Cottages

Property: Alamo Motel & Cottages
Address: 1485 Soco Rd, Maggie Valley, NC 28751-7877
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Maggie Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Maggie Valley
#2 Best Value Hotel in Maggie Valley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Maggie Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in beautiful Maggie Valley, North Carolina, in the heart of the Great Smoky Mountains. Open year round and accessible, we have 1, 2 & 3 bedroom Cottages, on & off the creek with a wonderful view of the mountains, pet friendly and free pet sitting, full kitchens, covered porches, motel rooms with 1 or 2 beds & equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker. We have an enclosed gazebo, gas grills, fire pit, picnic tables, wifi. Motorcycle Accessible "We are your home away from home, quaint, cozy & homey!" $45-$139 nt $323-$853 wk. Group discounts & military discount & ski packages available. Close to Cataloochee for winter skiing & tubing vacations, minutes from Harrah's Casino.Next door to the great Smoky Mountains National Park, 3 minutes from the Maggie Valley Festival Grounds. Take a scenic drive on the Blue Ridge Parkway & the "Tail of The Dragon" Ride the Great Smoky Mountains Railroad. We are a true "Mom & Pop" business. We will show you genuine mountain hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alamo Hotel Maggie Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing