We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Owner is great, but, avoid the cabins” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Misty Mountain Ranch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Misty Mountain Ranch to your Saves list
Misty Mountain Ranch
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   561 Caldwell Drive, Maggie Valley, NC 28751   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Owner is great, but, avoid the cabins”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Beautiful area, lovely owner, we stayed in one of the cabins and cabin is mis leading. It is really a mobile home with wood on it. Ours was T-I-N-Y and had a musty smell. Bed was beyond uncomfortable. We cut our stay short due to this, owner did try to accommodate us. Didn't try main building.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jay60athens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    14
    3
    6
    3
See reviews for
21
44
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed here for my wedding that we had in the front yard. Well kept place. Owner is a lovely lady that will make your stay very comfortable. Room was very nice. Breath taking I should say. Will be staying here again!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Karen, the owner/host was very accomodating and helpful. We stayed in the Popcorn Sutton suite. It was very clean, comfortable and spacious. The Bed and Breakfast is very quite. It is set outside of the main strip in Maggie Valley, which was very nice to be in a peaceful environment in the mountains. It was so quite, you could hear the stream/river rushing from accross the street. The setting is beautiful. Breakfast was great - actually to much food, and very fresh. I would recommend staying here. The location was also great - close to Ashville and rafting, gambling (if you like - we don't, but it's close) and close to shopping. Thanks for the great stories Karen!! God Bless, Jill and Dan

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Very nice and quiet. Friendly people and nice views. We'll be back! We want to stay in Popcorn Suit next time! :-)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smokeymartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evans, GA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed at Misty Mountain Ranch for two nights in the Dreamcatcher Suite in mid-February and had a wonderful visit. We felt at home from the minute we arrived until the minute we left. I had mentioned in passing that we were celebrating my husband's birthday and Karen was so sweet to leave cupcakes in the room the night we arrived. We left early one morning (long before the normal 9am breakfast) to head out skiing and Karen worked with us to make sure we had something to eat in our room. On the day we had breakfast in the dining room she made sure to encorporate something kid-friendly that our 4 year old really enjoyed eating (Pancakes, Bacon, Pineapple, Cinnamon Buns, etc.). My husband and I really enjoyed the breakfast too. The room size was perfect for our family of three. We will be back!

Room Tip: We loved the Dream Catcher Suite on the first floor. It had a great porch, a beautiful view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KAustin_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

My family and I stayed at Misty Mountain Ranch for 3 nights after Christmas. I have stayed at better B&B's. The bed in our room was extremely squeaky. You could not sneeze at night without the bed making this loud creeking noise. Additionally, the breakfasts in the morning were average and nothing special. The host Karen was a nice lady. The best part of the trip was Bucky the elk that visited the yard in the mornings and evenings.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank APicard0207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Our first stay in a bed and breakfast in Maggie Valley was an exceptional experience. We weren't sure what to expect, but were pleasantly surpised. From making the reservation to the check-out, we couldn't have asked for better treatment. Karen, the owner/hostess/cook/ was very concerned about our comfort. We both had special dietary needs and Karen made sure that our needs were met--and the breakfast was great every morning. We stayed in the Prospecter's Suite--a king size bed, a jacuzzi tub, and a kitchenette--and best of all, a fireplace for those cold mountain mornings/evenings. Misty Mountain Ranch is convenient to the ski area, Cherokee, and the Smoky Mountains National Park--but not on Maggie Valley's busy highway--so the only sounds you hear are the ducks and the birds. We highly recommend this B & B for a worry-free and relaxing trip to Maggie Valley and the Smokey Mountains. We really were treated more likke guests rather than customers. We've never given all 5s before, but after spending 5 nights here, we couldn't give Misty Mountain Ranch and the owner (Karen) any less. Not one negative thing to report--so this won't be our last stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KDB2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maggie Valley
1.0 mi away
Four Seasons Inn
Four Seasons Inn
#9 of 27 in Maggie Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 125 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ramada Maggie Valley
Ramada Maggie Valley
#7 of 27 in Maggie Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 452 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mountainbrook Inn
BEST WESTERN Mountainbrook Inn
#3 of 27 in Maggie Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Clarketon Motel
The Clarketon Motel
#10 of 27 in Maggie Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 93 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
#1 of 27 in Maggie Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 470 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#1 of 7 in Maggie Valley
5.0 of 5 stars 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misty Mountain Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Mountain Ranch

Property: Misty Mountain Ranch
Address: 561 Caldwell Drive, Maggie Valley, NC 28751
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Maggie Valley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Maggie Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Misty Mountain Ranch 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Misty Mountain Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing